Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2947 (Anna Sui blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1644 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/07 0:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
this blouse looks very sweet on you. I love the fabric and the style works for you. Sorry it didn''t turn out exactly like you wanted - but it still looks really cute
2/26/07 1:21 AM
Zaneta said...
This is so stylish and very now!! It has come up gorgeous..
2/26/07 5:21 AM
LiZ said...
This is a beautiful top.
2/26/07 5:47 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top on you. Nice job on the details.
2/26/07 7:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
I think it's adorable. I just bought this pattern yesterday thinking I would likely want to change the sleeves on this view. You certainly confirmed that idea!
2/26/07 8:14 AM
Sharon M said...
I think the top looks is adorable on you. I too like the piping detail at the neckline.
2/26/07 8:46 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love reading your reviews. Love the piping on this!
2/26/07 9:16 AM
nicegirl said...
See, when I first looked at the picture the first thing I thought was "I love those sleeves!" Takes all kinds. I think this looks great on you.
2/26/07 9:23 AM
mastdenman said...
This top is so cute. I love it. Just give it the closet treatment for a couple of weeks. Or look at the price of Anna Sui tops at Neiman Marcus.
2/26/07 9:24 AM
SarahWeb said...
WAY cute. I love your fabric choice, too. I think I need to make this pattern up for my DD.
2/26/07 10:04 AM
j222b said...
Thanks for pointing out the piping finish. I like this, too.
2/26/07 10:35 AM
candyo said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I was thinking about making it, and now I think I'll try a different view. I agree completely with your assessment.
2/26/07 10:39 AM
Annika said...
Great rendition of a so-so pattern. I love your piping! Thanks for this review - your assessment of it is spot on.
2/26/07 11:34 AM
kim*brown said...
That is too cute!!
2/26/07 12:18 PM
HenriettenDK said...
Well, I love it...can understand your concerns about the volume, but honey, it's fashion! Give it a couple of weeks and you'll love it - as I did with a very voluminous shirt I bought....
2/26/07 12:46 PM
poplin said...
You live in Seattle? Hope we bump into each other. I frequent Stitches and PacFab but mostly the internet. From the back, I can see why you are not "in love" with this pattern. But your choices for fabric and trim are lovely. And I think the front looks pretty on you.
2/26/07 12:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
On someone so young and cute, it looks great on you. You did a great job on the piping. With the back closure, you could put a hook and eye closure on the inside to stop the corners flapping out.
2/26/07 5:35 PM
MichelleE said...
I had this pattern in my 'maybe' file. I think you did a great job, but the sleeves would bother me too. Too bad, it looks like really nice fabric!
2/27/07 0:10 AM
ryan's mom said...
May not be your fave, but it sure looks pretty in the photo!
2/27/07 7:30 AM
LornaJay said...
I think you might be happier with it with either the lace at the top, or the lace and frill at the bottom - not both. My preference would be to omit the lace and frill at the bottom as I think that would show off your petite figure to advantage.
2/27/07 9:38 AM
Physics Girl said...
Your top is cute... if you don't like the volume, could you go with a smaller size? I picked this up to make, but I plan on making it a size or two smaller than my norm.
2/27/07 10:44 AM
Christina Sonja said...
hongkongshoppter - The hook & eye closure is a good idea

Dr LJN - I like your idea of omitting the bottom ruffle and just lengthening that middle section. Hmm...!

Physics Girl - Making a smaller size sounds like a good idea but I don't think it would make much of a difference - I made a size 10 and the lower edge width is 46.5", so removing 2" from that by making 2 sizes smaller will not make much of a difference. You just want to make sure it fits you at the shoulders, I like the way mine fits on top.
2/27/07 12:59 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bummer you're not into the top, I think it looks really cute on you!
2/27/07 4:12 PM
Erica B. said...
cute top... this pattern is on my to-sew list for spring.
2/28/07 10:19 PM
shelley piser said...
i just bought this for a silk chiffon to make C... but the directions don't have it for the front cover picture with no yoke at top
3/2/07 1:02 AM
Christina Sonja said...
shelley - For View C, you are supposed to have a 'contrast' fabric for the yoke, the blouse on the model has a yoke that is sheer.
3/2/07 9:25 AM
shelley piser said...
Thankyou and I am not having a good time with this The view C looks completely wrong. I am looking for the shear bodice and cannot see anything. I liked it as a simple peasant blouse so I think I need to work it out to fit without that added piece. Too expensive of a fabric which I choose for this. First sewing project in years.. Yikes!
3/8/07 0:52 AM
shelley piser said...
I meant Yoke not bodice...
3/8/07 0:54 AM
AnneM said...
You can certainly wear this, but I think it would be a difficult style for someone not as slim as you are. And I agree - I love the neckline finish.
4/2/07 7:30 PM
Katerina said...
This is my next project.Thanks for the tips!Looks great!
11/6/07 3:51 PM
roxierocks said...
Hi. Your shirt looks great. Love the fabric. I'm planning on making same shirt with a very light weight cotton shirting. Do you think it will work ok? I'm just not a slick/shiny/satiny/silky person. Also, I'd like to do thin elastic on the sleeves (actually looks like that on the front of the envelope). Do you think this will work, as well? Thanks for taking time to read. Have a great weekend and happy sewing.
8/2/08 4:22 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Roxie - Hi! I think the cotton shirting would work if it is fairly drapey, you just wouldn't want to use a stiff fabric. I'm not sure what you mean by elastic on the sleeves - do you mean the sleeve hem? I say, give it a try! It would help to rein in the sleeves.
8/3/08 10:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6569
photo
Review by snowflake0... on 7/5/10
Read Review

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1101
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 9/1/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us