SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2947 (Anna Sui blouse)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1646 times 
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/07 0:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina Sonja said...
Roxie - Hi! I think the cotton shirting would work if it is fairly drapey, you just wouldn't want to use a stiff fabric. I'm not sure what you mean by elastic on the sleeves - do you mean the sleeve hem? I say, give it a try! It would help to rein in the sleeves.
8/3/08 10:08 AM
roxierocks said...
Hi. Your shirt looks great. Love the fabric. I'm planning on making same shirt with a very light weight cotton shirting. Do you think it will work ok? I'm just not a slick/shiny/satiny/silky person. Also, I'd like to do thin elastic on the sleeves (actually looks like that on the front of the envelope). Do you think this will work, as well? Thanks for taking time to read. Have a great weekend and happy sewing.
8/2/08 4:22 AM
Katerina said...
This is my next project.Thanks for the tips!Looks great!
11/6/07 3:51 PM
AnneM said...
You can certainly wear this, but I think it would be a difficult style for someone not as slim as you are. And I agree - I love the neckline finish.
4/2/07 7:30 PM
shelley piser said...
I meant Yoke not bodice...
3/8/07 0:54 AM
shelley piser said...
Thankyou and I am not having a good time with this The view C looks completely wrong. I am looking for the shear bodice and cannot see anything. I liked it as a simple peasant blouse so I think I need to work it out to fit without that added piece. Too expensive of a fabric which I choose for this. First sewing project in years.. Yikes!
3/8/07 0:52 AM
Christina Sonja said...
shelley - For View C, you are supposed to have a 'contrast' fabric for the yoke, the blouse on the model has a yoke that is sheer.
3/2/07 9:25 AM
shelley piser said...
i just bought this for a silk chiffon to make C... but the directions don't have it for the front cover picture with no yoke at top
3/2/07 1:02 AM
Erica B. said...
cute top... this pattern is on my to-sew list for spring.
2/28/07 10:19 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bummer you're not into the top, I think it looks really cute on you!
2/27/07 4:12 PM
Christina Sonja said...
hongkongshoppter - The hook & eye closure is a good idea

Dr LJN - I like your idea of omitting the bottom ruffle and just lengthening that middle section. Hmm...!

Physics Girl - Making a smaller size sounds like a good idea but I don't think it would make much of a difference - I made a size 10 and the lower edge width is 46.5", so removing 2" from that by making 2 sizes smaller will not make much of a difference. You just want to make sure it fits you at the shoulders, I like the way mine fits on top.
2/27/07 12:59 PM
Physics Girl said...
Your top is cute... if you don't like the volume, could you go with a smaller size? I picked this up to make, but I plan on making it a size or two smaller than my norm.
2/27/07 10:44 AM
LornaJay said...
I think you might be happier with it with either the lace at the top, or the lace and frill at the bottom - not both. My preference would be to omit the lace and frill at the bottom as I think that would show off your petite figure to advantage.
2/27/07 9:38 AM
ryan's mom said...
May not be your fave, but it sure looks pretty in the photo!
2/27/07 7:30 AM
MichelleE said...
I had this pattern in my 'maybe' file. I think you did a great job, but the sleeves would bother me too. Too bad, it looks like really nice fabric!
2/27/07 0:10 AM
hongkongshopper said...
On someone so young and cute, it looks great on you. You did a great job on the piping. With the back closure, you could put a hook and eye closure on the inside to stop the corners flapping out.
2/26/07 5:35 PM
poplin said...
You live in Seattle? Hope we bump into each other. I frequent Stitches and PacFab but mostly the internet. From the back, I can see why you are not "in love" with this pattern. But your choices for fabric and trim are lovely. And I think the front looks pretty on you.
2/26/07 12:57 PM
HenriettenDK said...
Well, I love it...can understand your concerns about the volume, but honey, it's fashion! Give it a couple of weeks and you'll love it - as I did with a very voluminous shirt I bought....
2/26/07 12:46 PM
kim*brown said...
That is too cute!!
2/26/07 12:18 PM
Annika said...
Great rendition of a so-so pattern. I love your piping! Thanks for this review - your assessment of it is spot on.
2/26/07 11:34 AM
candyo said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I was thinking about making it, and now I think I'll try a different view. I agree completely with your assessment.
2/26/07 10:39 AM
j222b said...
Thanks for pointing out the piping finish. I like this, too.
2/26/07 10:35 AM
SarahWeb said...
WAY cute. I love your fabric choice, too. I think I need to make this pattern up for my DD.
2/26/07 10:04 AM
mastdenman said...
This top is so cute. I love it. Just give it the closet treatment for a couple of weeks. Or look at the price of Anna Sui tops at Neiman Marcus.
2/26/07 9:24 AM
nicegirl said...
See, when I first looked at the picture the first thing I thought was "I love those sleeves!" Takes all kinds. I think this looks great on you.
2/26/07 9:23 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love reading your reviews. Love the piping on this!
2/26/07 9:16 AM
Sharon M said...
I think the top looks is adorable on you. I too like the piping detail at the neckline.
2/26/07 8:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
I think it's adorable. I just bought this pattern yesterday thinking I would likely want to change the sleeves on this view. You certainly confirmed that idea!
2/26/07 8:14 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top on you. Nice job on the details.
2/26/07 7:14 AM
LiZ said...
This is a beautiful top.
2/26/07 5:47 AM
Zaneta said...
This is so stylish and very now!! It has come up gorgeous..
2/26/07 5:21 AM
Nancywin said...
this blouse looks very sweet on you. I love the fabric and the style works for you. Sorry it didn''t turn out exactly like you wanted - but it still looks really cute
2/26/07 1:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now