SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7946 (Burda 7946 Skirt)

Viewed 798 times 
Reviewed by:tentmaker
photo

 
 
About tentmakerstar
TX USA
Member since: 8/3/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 9:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Your skirt looks very nice! I just bought this pattern, and I agree that this skirt doesn't have an age limit. Mind you, the view without the fluffy bias tape would probably be easier for someone middle-aged (like me) to wear. :)
11/26/09 9:24 PM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt, and I agree that it really is a style that can be worn at any age; just pick the right top for it. A neat, finished sweater would contrast nicely with the frayed seams.
3/9/07 10:45 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
The skirt is fabulous: unless it doesn't fit, if I were you. I'd wear it in a minute. No age limit on something this unusual and classic. With a black top, this would be elegant. Based on your picture, I'm buying the pattern and will use our elasitc waist recommendation.
2/28/07 10:37 PM
Annika said...
Well now just how old are you, anyway? 105? It's such a great skirt you probably look gorgeous in it - especially with the right top. And, for some reason, do you believe you don't have the right to take up as much space in this world as the rest of us larger than life ladies? :) Well, you do have that right - the world's a big place! It is a great looking skirt!
2/28/07 4:09 PM
FrancesR said...
Lovely skirt, I hope that you decide to wear it.
2/28/07 2:50 PM
Karin Mantefors said...
This is a very nice skirt! I bet it looks good on you too, you have to style it to suit you ( Im not sure age has anything to do with this skirt ) Bring it to a store and show it to the sales ladies and explain your dilemma. Im not gonna buy the pattern but Im gonna steal the idea with the bias strips
2/28/07 11:57 AM
BillieJean said...
I'm 68 and I'd wear it. In fact, I'm thinking of a gored skirt pattern I have that I could put bias strips in the seams. Please wear this!!! Billie
2/28/07 11:03 AM
Irene Q said...
Well, I'm 50 and I'd wear it in a minute! It came out perfect and it's really not over-the-top frilly at all. Great job!
2/28/07 10:46 AM
cindy-lou said...
I have never seen you, but please consider wearing this! If paired with a conservative top and conservative shoes, it will NOT look too young-- will just look classy. You did such a beautiful job!
2/28/07 10:19 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I think this skirt is so pretty...thanks for the review!
2/28/07 6:06 AM
sewinglinda said...
very sad to make such a lovely skirt then not wear it, have you tried it on with a plain black top? I think that would give it an all ages look.
2/28/07 5:19 AM
JenSews2 said...
Very nice skirt! Thanks for the review! Welcome to PR!
2/27/07 11:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your skirt is lovely! Nice idea putting in the elastic for the waist.
2/27/07 10:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Dawn Anderson Designs 201

photo
by: julieb

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 9499

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review