SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1291 times 
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo

 
 
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 11:55 PM
Last Updated:2/28/07 0:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
The coat came out looking very nice. I really appreciate your detailed review. This looks like it might be a good "first" coat for me to try. I'd really like to make the hooded version. Thanks!
2/28/07 1:41 AM
FloraNature said...
I like the coat very much, and would like to thank you for your review.
2/28/07 6:00 AM
cindy-lou said...
I really like how your coat turned out! I have a car coat in a similar color leather and wear it a lot. Yours, though, looks much more unique and nicer than mine from Kohl's sale rack of 4 years ago!
2/28/07 8:33 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
The coat looks wonderful on you! I like the styl eof it too and great job using your "white elephant" fabric! :-)
2/28/07 10:12 AM
Seaspur said...
Nice jacket, glad I'm not the only one who had a problem with the pockets.
2/28/07 10:28 AM
pterion said...
Lovely coat - this looks like a wonderful coat pattern. The fabric suits it very well and you got a really nice fit.
2/28/07 10:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Good looking coat. Thanks for all the details in the review.
2/28/07 2:17 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job on you coat, it looks nice on you. I think your adjusted sleeve length looks pretty near perfect. Thank you for a very helpful review.
2/28/07 2:48 PM
emilieatjalie said...
(It's Emilie from Jalie writing)
I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble with the pockets. I have posted a picture of the inside of a stretch denim jacket I am making (with the pockets tacked to the facing).
Here is the URL: http://www.jalie.com/images/patterns/2680pocket.jpg

The last two steps in the instructions have been inverted. Sorry about that. The buttons and buttonholes should be the very last step (they are sewn through the pockets). I will modify the pdf and add the link to the picture to help other customers with that step. I hope this information solves your pocket problem :)
2/28/07 5:23 PM
slanden99 said...
Emilie--thank you for posting that photo for us and clarifying the last steps. I suppose having the buttonhole go through the pocket lining would help keep the pocket lining in place.
2/28/07 5:49 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket!!
2/28/07 10:14 PM
blue mooney said...
Sharp coat!
3/1/07 8:28 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It turned out so nicely. You are really tackling some involved projects lately!
3/1/07 8:00 PM
LiZ said...
Great coat.
3/2/07 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
Nice coat. You made good use of that 'unwanted' fabric.
3/9/07 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1052

photo
by: Marge99

Review