SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1290 times 
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo

 
 
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 11:55 PM
Last Updated:2/28/07 0:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
The coat came out looking very nice. I really appreciate your detailed review. This looks like it might be a good "first" coat for me to try. I'd really like to make the hooded version. Thanks!
2/28/07 1:41 AM
FloraNature said...
I like the coat very much, and would like to thank you for your review.
2/28/07 6:00 AM
cindy-lou said...
I really like how your coat turned out! I have a car coat in a similar color leather and wear it a lot. Yours, though, looks much more unique and nicer than mine from Kohl's sale rack of 4 years ago!
2/28/07 8:33 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
The coat looks wonderful on you! I like the styl eof it too and great job using your "white elephant" fabric! :-)
2/28/07 10:12 AM
Seaspur said...
Nice jacket, glad I'm not the only one who had a problem with the pockets.
2/28/07 10:28 AM
pterion said...
Lovely coat - this looks like a wonderful coat pattern. The fabric suits it very well and you got a really nice fit.
2/28/07 10:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Good looking coat. Thanks for all the details in the review.
2/28/07 2:17 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job on you coat, it looks nice on you. I think your adjusted sleeve length looks pretty near perfect. Thank you for a very helpful review.
2/28/07 2:48 PM
emilieatjalie said...
(It's Emilie from Jalie writing)
I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble with the pockets. I have posted a picture of the inside of a stretch denim jacket I am making (with the pockets tacked to the facing).
Here is the URL: http://www.jalie.com/images/patterns/2680pocket.jpg

The last two steps in the instructions have been inverted. Sorry about that. The buttons and buttonholes should be the very last step (they are sewn through the pockets). I will modify the pdf and add the link to the picture to help other customers with that step. I hope this information solves your pocket problem :)
2/28/07 5:23 PM
slanden99 said...
Emilie--thank you for posting that photo for us and clarifying the last steps. I suppose having the buttonhole go through the pocket lining would help keep the pocket lining in place.
2/28/07 5:49 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket!!
2/28/07 10:14 PM
blue mooney said...
Sharp coat!
3/1/07 8:28 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It turned out so nicely. You are really tackling some involved projects lately!
3/1/07 8:00 PM
LiZ said...
Great coat.
3/2/07 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
Nice coat. You made good use of that 'unwanted' fabric.
3/9/07 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 9520

photo
by: DOGLOVER38...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now