SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8021 (Shirtdress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2170 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/07 10:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatSari said...
Love it! You made what looks like a complicated stripe pattern look WONDERFUL. *awe*
4/15/10 12:00 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Fantastic dress!! Great idea for corduroy!
9/7/07 2:04 PM
Tonya Richard said...
I was trying to find a shirtdress pattern, so went and found this one on the Vogue site. Didn't want to buy it without seeing what everyone on patternreview had to say. When I saw that you had reviewed it, I was so excited!!! I LOVE your style and respect your opinion : ) You said you made a 12, do you wear a 12 in Simplicity as well? I just started sewing for myself and have only made tops from simplicity patterns, was wondering if the sizing was the same? I am a 12 in Simplicity. Also, I have the perfect fabric, a chocolate pinstriped shirting, didn't know what I was going to do with this fabric, now I do!!!!
8/13/07 10:46 AM
craftyshark said...
Wow, this is a great dress! It looks much better than the pattern picture. The stripes really add some visual pop. It definitely looks like a pattern worth trying out. Thanks for the review!
8/5/07 8:42 PM
shelley piser said...
thanks. I am looking for a shirtdress pattern for a silk. I was wondering about the waistline, but your review helped me choose...
6/18/07 1:32 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful on you.
5/15/07 9:08 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I can't tell you how much I like this dress - and you have such a presence in photos...
4/3/07 11:38 AM
iamsewhappy said...
I thought I was the only one left who still prefers the old-time buttonholes. I use an old Singer buttonholer attachment, the one in a green plastic case, with my "antique" Elna SU and it works great. Love your dress!!
3/9/07 10:52 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great dress! The pattern drawing is pretty 'meh', but your version is spectacular!
3/5/07 8:03 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm blushing!! Seriously. I don't know if I can live up to this dress again. Thank you all so much. It's such a honor to hear this kind of praise from my sewing peers.
3/4/07 9:27 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love it ! And thse colors are amazing on you.
3/4/07 8:55 PM
nimble said...
Sheesh!! That dress is unbelievable on you!! It is in an entirely different league than the pattern drawings. You are tiny and this makes you look like you are about 5 inches wide! :)
3/4/07 8:51 PM
LiZ said...
Great dress.
3/4/07 3:12 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is the hotness! Love the fabric!
3/3/07 11:53 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! You look like a million bucks in this dress. They should use you for the model on the pattern, as I don't think I would have bought it based on their drawing, but having seen yours, I might have to change my mind. Very nice!
3/3/07 11:26 PM
SewTwin said...
I love your colors! It does indeed look slimming, and I think the belt co-ordinates better, also. You have great style in picking fabric and patterns to match. Good Luck on future endeavors, but I don't think you will need it, as great as you are doing so far!
3/3/07 7:22 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress.
3/3/07 3:32 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great looking dress: I love this style, and it looks absolutely smashing on you.
3/3/07 12:42 PM
SarahWeb said...
This pattern worked up great for you. The dress looks fantastic on you! I may have to get this pattern.
3/3/07 11:02 AM
Chimene said...
Nice dress. Thumbing through the vogue catalog I passed this up. I may have to rethink it. It looks great! Great review
3/3/07 8:22 AM
Liana said...
Just darling on you!
3/3/07 4:17 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cidell, that's sizzling hot on you and very chic! Wowee! Definitely much more beautiful than what's on the pattern envelope! You wear it very well!
3/3/07 3:00 AM
SusiM said...
Thank you for the very informative review. I love the fabric choice. looks great on you.
3/3/07 0:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
Looks ho-hum on the envelope, but great on you! I think the stripes and the sturdier fabric make the dress. You go, girl!
3/2/07 11:42 PM
sewbehind said...
Gosh that looks great on you! Beautiful dress on a most beautiful woman.
3/2/07 10:26 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Looks very classy on you..great job!
3/2/07 10:02 PM
Gold said...
Looks very nice on you and love it with boots and belt.
3/2/07 7:24 PM
marjenann said...
Stunner!!! Great dress, great figure in dress!!!!
3/2/07 6:46 PM
Merry G said...
very nice! looks great on you
3/2/07 6:33 PM
carolynw said...
Thisis lovely and looks so much better than the pattern. The stripes add a lot of flair to the dress!! The boots and belt make you look like a real fashion plate!!
3/2/07 6:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great loooking dress, great job. Never heard of vintage buttonholers, though.
3/2/07 5:30 PM
Diane E said...
What a terrific dress! I want I want! Thanks for the great review.
3/2/07 5:01 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great dress. I just love those stripes. I knew there was another pattern I needed to add to my wish list and your dress convinced me that this is the one. Enjoy the compliments!
3/2/07 4:31 PM
Lori V said...
Love this dress, you look fantastic.
3/2/07 3:40 PM
Huldra said...
The dress looks great on you, and the belt is perfect!
3/2/07 3:24 PM
Tiner W said...
Great dress!
3/2/07 3:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very classy look.
3/2/07 2:57 PM
Markie1 said...
This is ADORABLE on you! I would not have looked at that pattern, but I will get it today..The stripes really work and you look like a model in it. Great review!
3/2/07 2:48 PM
Pinkytoo said...
SO cute - love it! Putting this one on my list and we'll see if it's still slimming for a size 18! ;-)
3/2/07 2:37 PM
Levone said...
This dress looks great on you! I love your belt also.
3/2/07 2:36 PM
Tany said...
Gorgeous!!
3/2/07 1:57 PM
Laurie Lou said...
That is a very cool dress and it looks great on you also. Nice use of stripes.
3/2/07 1:42 PM
moss said...
OMG HOT i love the STRIPES!!
3/2/07 1:38 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG, I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this. Beautiful job--perfect style and color on you!
3/2/07 1:18 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Another "Cute Cute Cute", looks great!
3/2/07 1:07 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I love this dress on you. Funny black hole comment, know just what you mean. I will have to see this buttonholer. Post the other dresses you made from this, please.
3/2/07 12:57 PM
SexiSadi said...
Great dress. Your fabric choice looks great on you!
3/2/07 12:57 PM
melgosews said...
Real cute! Love the striped cord, love the pattern, love the accessories! Wondering what problems you had with the collar. Thanks for the review!
3/2/07 12:50 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Great dress, and I think it looks better with the purchased belt than it would with the self tie belt.
3/2/07 12:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great dress !!! Love it. I have this pattern too and plan to make some shirt dresses. I am reg size 12 and you say its fitted? Guess the darts help as I want it fitted. thanks so much for review. Enjoy your fab dress !
3/2/07 12:25 PM
poplin said...
Griest Buttonholer? I'll look it up. Thanks for the review. Wonderful dress, and those boots and belt kick it up a notch! Great accessories!
3/2/07 12:23 PM
kiddo said...
Beautiful dress!!! You've really made the most of those stripes. It elongates you, especially when even lightweight cord can make a person look heavier.
3/2/07 12:08 PM
jjwalker said...
I LOVE your style - (saw your newsboy cap review yesterday...!) The stripes turned out fab in your shirt dress and I'm currently obsessed with shirtdresses, and very easy patterns...too bad I HATE buttonholes...
3/2/07 11:56 AM
2muchfabric said...
Darling dress! Thanks for the helpful review.
3/2/07 11:07 AM
Sharon M said...
This dress is so much better on you than the pattern drawing! You look fantastic! The belt and boots really pull it together. Thanks for pointing out this pattern
3/2/07 10:52 AM
CSY said...
That dress is too cute on you! Thanks for the review. I have a collection of those vintage buttonholer makers- they are awesome.
3/2/07 10:25 AM
Physics Girl said...
Cute dress! (Back in the late 90's I think half my wardrobe was corduroy!) I'm most surprised to find you are able to use a vintage buttonholer with a modern machine. I loved the Griest bottonholer I used with my mother's old singer and think the automatic programmed ones today can't compare! I wonder if anyone else is using these...
3/2/07 10:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8587

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Butterick 5054

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

More Info
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info