Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5429 OOP (1970s Juniors/Teens Smock Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 741 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/07 10:42 PM
Last Updated:3/2/07 10:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Cute top!
3/2/07 11:34 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
This style really suits you.
3/3/07 1:46 AM
hejest said...
Would you believe that in 1972 I made this pattern! In fact I made 2 of these smock tops. They were totally IN, and I didn't care about those questions. Mind you they were usually worn with a turtleneck or shirt underneath. It brings back many happy memories.
3/3/07 1:55 AM
hejest said...
I'm so sorry! I forgot to mention how cute yours is! It's fantastic!
3/3/07 2:00 AM
Tany said...
Love it! Well done!
3/3/07 4:45 AM
meli88a said...
hejest, what a funny coincidence!
3/3/07 7:25 AM
LauraM62 said...
I see someone else said they actually made this back in 1972 . My thoughts were I made similar tops, back in home ec, learning to sew! They made us do all that hand sewing back then. And the fabrics listed, well your fabric wouldn't have been listed probably because our fabrics were more limited as to what was available to purchase . It has definately gotten better!
3/3/07 8:20 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet! I think the fabric choice helps this to NOT look like a maternity top.
3/3/07 9:02 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet! I think the fabric choice helps this to NOT look like a maternity top.
3/3/07 9:03 AM
Kay Y said...
Cute top! Like hejest, I remember this pattern from the 1st time around. I also remember that size range (young jr. teen). By 1972 the pattern companies had switched to the "new" sizing for misses sizes, which is the same set of measurements as today, but the young junior teen 9/10 was not the same as misses 10. Some of the patterns from that era came in both size ranges.
3/3/07 10:18 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a cute top! I am in the camp that says this does NOT look like a maternity top. Way too light and swingy and hip to be taken as such. Wear it with confidence!
3/3/07 10:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is really cute and definitely doesn't look like a maternity top!
3/3/07 3:03 PM
AnneM said...
Modern pattern sizing is as bad as modern RTW sizing. Really cute sleeves on this. There is a lot of ease, but you could have handled a FBA to get the front hem lower. The tunic tops are definitely in style, so you don't have to fret about if you look pregnant, since so many people are wearing (more boring versions of ) tunic tops.
3/3/07 3:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us