SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5429 OOP (1970s Juniors/Teens Smock Top)

Viewed 742 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/07 10:42 PM
Last Updated:3/2/07 10:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Cute top!
3/2/07 11:34 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
This style really suits you.
3/3/07 1:46 AM
hejest said...
Would you believe that in 1972 I made this pattern! In fact I made 2 of these smock tops. They were totally IN, and I didn't care about those questions. Mind you they were usually worn with a turtleneck or shirt underneath. It brings back many happy memories.
3/3/07 1:55 AM
hejest said...
I'm so sorry! I forgot to mention how cute yours is! It's fantastic!
3/3/07 2:00 AM
Tany said...
Love it! Well done!
3/3/07 4:45 AM
meli88a said...
hejest, what a funny coincidence!
3/3/07 7:25 AM
LauraM62 said...
I see someone else said they actually made this back in 1972 . My thoughts were I made similar tops, back in home ec, learning to sew! They made us do all that hand sewing back then. And the fabrics listed, well your fabric wouldn't have been listed probably because our fabrics were more limited as to what was available to purchase . It has definately gotten better!
3/3/07 8:20 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet! I think the fabric choice helps this to NOT look like a maternity top.
3/3/07 9:02 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet! I think the fabric choice helps this to NOT look like a maternity top.
3/3/07 9:03 AM
Kay Y said...
Cute top! Like hejest, I remember this pattern from the 1st time around. I also remember that size range (young jr. teen). By 1972 the pattern companies had switched to the "new" sizing for misses sizes, which is the same set of measurements as today, but the young junior teen 9/10 was not the same as misses 10. Some of the patterns from that era came in both size ranges.
3/3/07 10:18 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a cute top! I am in the camp that says this does NOT look like a maternity top. Way too light and swingy and hip to be taken as such. Wear it with confidence!
3/3/07 10:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is really cute and definitely doesn't look like a maternity top!
3/3/07 3:03 PM
AnneM said...
Modern pattern sizing is as bad as modern RTW sizing. Really cute sleeves on this. There is a lot of ease, but you could have handled a FBA to get the front hem lower. The tunic tops are definitely in style, so you don't have to fret about if you look pregnant, since so many people are wearing (more boring versions of ) tunic tops.
3/3/07 3:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Burda 7364

photo
by: Lisette

Review
Simplicity 3752

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now