Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2585 (Geoffrey Beene Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1142 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 0:16 AM
Last Updated:3/3/07 0:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
absolutely fabulous!
3/3/07 0:42 AM
LiZ said...
Fabulous jacket and the fabric is beautiful.
3/3/07 1:32 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Lovely jackets. That's a good idea about leaving the side of the pockets open.
3/3/07 1:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Two lovely jackets. Your facing and pocket changes worked well.
3/3/07 7:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice jackets!
3/3/07 7:54 AM
Nancy K said...
Nice jacket! I always loved Beenes patterns, too bad we can't get the number of real designer patterns that we used to.
3/3/07 7:54 AM
Marji said...
Both look wonderful. Nice work!
3/3/07 8:29 AM
suzanrossi said...
Both jackets are lovely. What a beautiful job you've done.
3/3/07 8:52 AM
Riordan said...
Both jackets are beautiful--lovely work!! (I had admired the chenille at Fabric Mart, and now I wish I had bought some--darn it!) Great idea about the pocket. Thanks for helpful information!
3/3/07 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I have the same fabric bought from Fabric Mart but haven't got around to using it yet - partytly because it's beautiful on both sides and I can't decide which to use. I love the way the "darker" side looks in your jacket.
3/3/07 9:47 AM
2muchfabric said...
Beautiful interpretation of this pattern-- your jackets are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your results.
3/3/07 10:02 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a great jacket! Beautiful button choice, too.
3/3/07 10:45 AM
Cecile Owens said...
I have coveted this pattern in my stash for a long time and was afraid to tackle it. I am encouraged by your super outcome(s) and will make the attempt one of these days. Thanks so much.
3/3/07 11:10 AM
cecelia said...
Both jackets are lovely. I'm sure you'll get a lot of compliments when you wear them!
3/3/07 12:29 PM
FloraNature said...
Those are a lovely pair of jackets!
3/3/07 1:02 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful work on both jackets. I think I've got this in my stash somewhere. I actually saw the original on a woman in Toronto several years ago, lol. GB's jackets are always interesting. Thanks for the review. Sue
3/3/07 2:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You did justice to old Geoffrey with both jackets. But I don't quite get the poly lining comment and washability :-). Rayon lining is just as washable, you should just pre-wash, just like you should pre-wash your wool fabric and interfacing if you want to wash the jacket. And rayon doesn't get static and cling to you for dear life :-).
3/3/07 4:19 PM
Annette1 said...
I did think about using Ambiance lining instead of the poly, as I'm not a fan of poly lining in general, but I just liked the way this coordinated with the jacket. It's heavy enough, thus far I haven't had any problem with static cling. :o)
3/3/07 5:23 PM
SewTwin said...
WOWee! Cool Designer Jacket. Bet people on the street are envious.
3/4/07 0:23 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, doesn't the fabric make a difference? The first one looks bomber-jacket cool, the red one quite demure. Well done on two fabulous projects.
3/4/07 2:37 AM
Margie T said...
Great review. Love both the jackets - much better than the ones on the pattern envelope.
3/4/07 3:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job with both jackets. Great detailing
3/4/07 7:36 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful! You have a great talent matching fabric with pattern!
3/4/07 7:48 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Absolutely beautiful!
3/4/07 11:48 AM
OP Gal said...
Both jackets are just beautiful. They look beautifully executed, too.
3/4/07 7:15 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your jackets: the fabric, workmanship and style are terrific. Thanks for detailed review.
3/5/07 10:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us