SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2585 (Geoffrey Beene Jacket)

Viewed 1143 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 0:16 AM
Last Updated:3/3/07 0:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
absolutely fabulous!
3/3/07 0:42 AM
LiZ said...
Fabulous jacket and the fabric is beautiful.
3/3/07 1:32 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Lovely jackets. That's a good idea about leaving the side of the pockets open.
3/3/07 1:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Two lovely jackets. Your facing and pocket changes worked well.
3/3/07 7:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice jackets!
3/3/07 7:54 AM
Nancy K said...
Nice jacket! I always loved Beenes patterns, too bad we can't get the number of real designer patterns that we used to.
3/3/07 7:54 AM
Marji said...
Both look wonderful. Nice work!
3/3/07 8:29 AM
suzanrossi said...
Both jackets are lovely. What a beautiful job you've done.
3/3/07 8:52 AM
Riordan said...
Both jackets are beautiful--lovely work!! (I had admired the chenille at Fabric Mart, and now I wish I had bought some--darn it!) Great idea about the pocket. Thanks for helpful information!
3/3/07 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I have the same fabric bought from Fabric Mart but haven't got around to using it yet - partytly because it's beautiful on both sides and I can't decide which to use. I love the way the "darker" side looks in your jacket.
3/3/07 9:47 AM
2muchfabric said...
Beautiful interpretation of this pattern-- your jackets are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your results.
3/3/07 10:02 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a great jacket! Beautiful button choice, too.
3/3/07 10:45 AM
Cecile Owens said...
I have coveted this pattern in my stash for a long time and was afraid to tackle it. I am encouraged by your super outcome(s) and will make the attempt one of these days. Thanks so much.
3/3/07 11:10 AM
cecelia said...
Both jackets are lovely. I'm sure you'll get a lot of compliments when you wear them!
3/3/07 12:29 PM
FloraNature said...
Those are a lovely pair of jackets!
3/3/07 1:02 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful work on both jackets. I think I've got this in my stash somewhere. I actually saw the original on a woman in Toronto several years ago, lol. GB's jackets are always interesting. Thanks for the review. Sue
3/3/07 2:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You did justice to old Geoffrey with both jackets. But I don't quite get the poly lining comment and washability :-). Rayon lining is just as washable, you should just pre-wash, just like you should pre-wash your wool fabric and interfacing if you want to wash the jacket. And rayon doesn't get static and cling to you for dear life :-).
3/3/07 4:19 PM
Annette1 said...
I did think about using Ambiance lining instead of the poly, as I'm not a fan of poly lining in general, but I just liked the way this coordinated with the jacket. It's heavy enough, thus far I haven't had any problem with static cling. :o)
3/3/07 5:23 PM
SewTwin said...
WOWee! Cool Designer Jacket. Bet people on the street are envious.
3/4/07 0:23 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, doesn't the fabric make a difference? The first one looks bomber-jacket cool, the red one quite demure. Well done on two fabulous projects.
3/4/07 2:37 AM
Margie T said...
Great review. Love both the jackets - much better than the ones on the pattern envelope.
3/4/07 3:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job with both jackets. Great detailing
3/4/07 7:36 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful! You have a great talent matching fabric with pattern!
3/4/07 7:48 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Absolutely beautiful!
3/4/07 11:48 AM
OP Gal said...
Both jackets are just beautiful. They look beautifully executed, too.
3/4/07 7:15 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your jackets: the fabric, workmanship and style are terrific. Thanks for detailed review.
3/5/07 10:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: NottaWadde...

Review