Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9650 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1272 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 4:11 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Regardless of the persnickety fabric, the jacket turned out just lovely and lovely on you. Great closure.
3/3/07 7:05 AM
PhyllisC said...
Gorgeous jacket Liana, and the closure is wonderful!
3/3/07 7:45 AM
blue mooney said...
I remember liking that fabric. Sorry to hear it was challenging, but you were up to the task! Elegant jacket.
3/3/07 7:50 AM
Nancy K said...
Considering that you couldn't have had this pattern for long I am amazed that you completed this so quickly! It looks wonderful and the sleeve heads look perfect, a tribute to your excellent skill. It is a really lovely jacket and I love how it looks with the plain pants. I thought that the drawing with a matching skirt was a look only usable for evening, but this is infinitely more versatile. Great review
3/3/07 7:52 AM
Marji said...
Liana, the results are wonderful, even if the process was not. On first look at the Pic my reaction was "she always chooses the perfect marriage of fabric and design" ... guess the results put the lie to the struggle you had with it. Enjoy your fabulous jacket and the complements that are sure to come with wearing it.
3/3/07 8:24 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Liana, it turned out so beautiful, despite the fabric's orneriness! I have to try more Marfy designs. I have a couple in my stash, but I haven't taken the time to make them yet. You're an inspiration! -Ann
3/3/07 8:26 AM
suzanrossi said...
It is simply elegant! Closure is perfect, too.
3/3/07 8:47 AM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket!! Your work is always inspirational!!
3/3/07 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
A beauty as usual - you never fail to inspire!!
3/3/07 9:40 AM
2muchfabric said...
Stunning and sophisticated ensemble! Love your artistic closure. Thanks for the helpful review and sharing the difficulties of working with challenging fabric. I was wondering if you made your pants as well?
3/3/07 9:52 AM
SarahWeb said...
Your jacket looks lovely on you. I am so interested to read your detailed reviews, particularly of Marfy patterns. I am working up to trying my first.
3/3/07 10:42 AM
Cecile Owens said...
Always a pleasure to see your selections and read your reviews. Thank you.
3/3/07 10:51 AM
AngieC said...
I would love to shop in your closet Liana! Another elegant and creative project that looks wonderful on you. Great review.
3/3/07 11:14 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Love your jacket and your creative closure. Very pretty.
3/3/07 12:54 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Another really Lovely Liana creation.
3/3/07 2:00 PM
Diane E said...
Wow, talk about taking a difficult fabric and making something awesome with it! Beautiful jacket and beautiful closure.
3/3/07 2:06 PM
Liana said...
Thank you all for the very nice comments! Great to have them from those who understand recalcitrant fabric! 2muchfabric, I did make the pants as well. Click Here for my review, although I have changed the leg shape, but it's my TNT pant pattern.
3/3/07 3:12 PM
Maychi said...
Regardless of your fabric issues, the jacket looks wonderful! I love the closure!
3/3/07 3:34 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent results despite the problems you had. Lovely looking fabric and great fit!
3/3/07 3:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Liana, well done! Gorgeous as always. The button closure is a nice touch.
3/3/07 4:53 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful jacket, and again, your fabric (if misbehaved) is a beautiful choice. I love the blend of conservative and boho in this jacket-- it can have an eccentric closure and still look very tailored. I think maybe the stiff hand of the fabric adds to that look. Painful, but oh-so-rewarding in the end!
3/3/07 6:55 PM
PVA said...
Oh, Liana -- another truly elegant creation! Every now & then I kind of wonder what you would expect from yourself to change your skills rating from advanced to expert/couture? I took advantage of the opportunity to browse thru your Marfy photo gallery & Holy Hanrahan, it's awesome! Thanks again for a very informative & inspirational review.
3/3/07 7:46 PM
kathi s said...
Liana, you are the PR queen of Marfy patterns! I love your jacket especially the fabric (despite it's uncooperativeness) and your inspired closure!
3/4/07 0:16 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Liana, lovely jacket! It looks smashing on you. I'm really liking longer tops/jackets on you.
3/4/07 1:15 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Gorgeous.
3/4/07 2:49 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful jacket, it's perfect on you. I love the closure detail.
3/4/07 4:57 AM
apple annie said...
Liana, I so love the closure and how it reflects the design elements of the print. Great job and one would never guess you struggled with the fabric. Looks fabulous on you!!!
3/4/07 9:59 AM
nicegirl said...
It came out beautiful! I especially love your closure.
3/4/07 11:19 AM
OP Gal said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully despite the fabric problems. I especially like the closure you fashioned. Tres chic!
3/4/07 7:11 PM
Ody said...
The closures make the whole outfit and make it look so unique and individual. Wonderful!!
3/4/07 9:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful everything Liana :))
3/4/07 10:51 PM
LorelleD said...
Lovely jacket. I enjoyed your review.
3/5/07 2:41 AM
Kathi R said...
It is a tribute to your skills that you made such a beautiful garment from that fabric.....I saw it on Fabric Mart's site and loved it, but knew I couldn't tame it. You have a one of a kind work of art. Thanks for the review.
3/11/07 7:49 PM
LiZ said...
Gorgeous jacket , theclosure looks realy good.
3/12/07 3:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 509-1016
photo
Review by Miss Fairc... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 03-2011-106 Pants
photo
Review by treefrog on 2/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us