SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9650 (Jacket)

Viewed 1275 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 4:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said...
Gorgeous jacket , theclosure looks realy good.
3/12/07 3:07 PM
Kathi R said...
It is a tribute to your skills that you made such a beautiful garment from that fabric.....I saw it on Fabric Mart's site and loved it, but knew I couldn't tame it. You have a one of a kind work of art. Thanks for the review.
3/11/07 7:49 PM
LorelleD said...
Lovely jacket. I enjoyed your review.
3/5/07 2:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful everything Liana :))
3/4/07 10:51 PM
Ody said...
The closures make the whole outfit and make it look so unique and individual. Wonderful!!
3/4/07 9:07 PM
OP Gal said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully despite the fabric problems. I especially like the closure you fashioned. Tres chic!
3/4/07 7:11 PM
nicegirl said...
It came out beautiful! I especially love your closure.
3/4/07 11:19 AM
apple annie said...
Liana, I so love the closure and how it reflects the design elements of the print. Great job and one would never guess you struggled with the fabric. Looks fabulous on you!!!
3/4/07 9:59 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful jacket, it's perfect on you. I love the closure detail.
3/4/07 4:57 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Gorgeous.
3/4/07 2:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Liana, lovely jacket! It looks smashing on you. I'm really liking longer tops/jackets on you.
3/4/07 1:15 AM
kathi s said...
Liana, you are the PR queen of Marfy patterns! I love your jacket especially the fabric (despite it's uncooperativeness) and your inspired closure!
3/4/07 0:16 AM
PVA said...
Oh, Liana -- another truly elegant creation! Every now & then I kind of wonder what you would expect from yourself to change your skills rating from advanced to expert/couture? I took advantage of the opportunity to browse thru your Marfy photo gallery & Holy Hanrahan, it's awesome! Thanks again for a very informative & inspirational review.
3/3/07 7:46 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful jacket, and again, your fabric (if misbehaved) is a beautiful choice. I love the blend of conservative and boho in this jacket-- it can have an eccentric closure and still look very tailored. I think maybe the stiff hand of the fabric adds to that look. Painful, but oh-so-rewarding in the end!
3/3/07 6:55 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Liana, well done! Gorgeous as always. The button closure is a nice touch.
3/3/07 4:53 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent results despite the problems you had. Lovely looking fabric and great fit!
3/3/07 3:36 PM
Maychi said...
Regardless of your fabric issues, the jacket looks wonderful! I love the closure!
3/3/07 3:34 PM
Liana said...
Thank you all for the very nice comments! Great to have them from those who understand recalcitrant fabric! 2muchfabric, I did make the pants as well. Click Here for my review, although I have changed the leg shape, but it's my TNT pant pattern.
3/3/07 3:12 PM
Diane E said...
Wow, talk about taking a difficult fabric and making something awesome with it! Beautiful jacket and beautiful closure.
3/3/07 2:06 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Another really Lovely Liana creation.
3/3/07 2:00 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Love your jacket and your creative closure. Very pretty.
3/3/07 12:54 PM
AngieC said...
I would love to shop in your closet Liana! Another elegant and creative project that looks wonderful on you. Great review.
3/3/07 11:14 AM
Cecile Owens said...
Always a pleasure to see your selections and read your reviews. Thank you.
3/3/07 10:51 AM
SarahWeb said...
Your jacket looks lovely on you. I am so interested to read your detailed reviews, particularly of Marfy patterns. I am working up to trying my first.
3/3/07 10:42 AM
2muchfabric said...
Stunning and sophisticated ensemble! Love your artistic closure. Thanks for the helpful review and sharing the difficulties of working with challenging fabric. I was wondering if you made your pants as well?
3/3/07 9:52 AM
carolynw said...
A beauty as usual - you never fail to inspire!!
3/3/07 9:40 AM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket!! Your work is always inspirational!!
3/3/07 9:04 AM
suzanrossi said...
It is simply elegant! Closure is perfect, too.
3/3/07 8:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Liana, it turned out so beautiful, despite the fabric's orneriness! I have to try more Marfy designs. I have a couple in my stash, but I haven't taken the time to make them yet. You're an inspiration! -Ann
3/3/07 8:26 AM
Marji said...
Liana, the results are wonderful, even if the process was not. On first look at the Pic my reaction was "she always chooses the perfect marriage of fabric and design" ... guess the results put the lie to the struggle you had with it. Enjoy your fabulous jacket and the complements that are sure to come with wearing it.
3/3/07 8:24 AM
Nancy K said...
Considering that you couldn't have had this pattern for long I am amazed that you completed this so quickly! It looks wonderful and the sleeve heads look perfect, a tribute to your excellent skill. It is a really lovely jacket and I love how it looks with the plain pants. I thought that the drawing with a matching skirt was a look only usable for evening, but this is infinitely more versatile. Great review
3/3/07 7:52 AM
blue mooney said...
I remember liking that fabric. Sorry to hear it was challenging, but you were up to the task! Elegant jacket.
3/3/07 7:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Gorgeous jacket Liana, and the closure is wonderful!
3/3/07 7:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
Regardless of the persnickety fabric, the jacket turned out just lovely and lovely on you. Great closure.
3/3/07 7:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 5198

photo
by: gautrann

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now