SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2004-138 (Pants)

Viewed 1046 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo

 
 
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 4:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
Your wrinkles look a lot like the ones Debbie Cook describes in one of her alteration tutorials - http://www.cedesign.com/familyphotos/sewing/info/pantswedge/index.html - which might give you some ideas on further alterations. They look really good to me, though. :)
3/3/07 5:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Without being there to tug on your pants and do a lot of staring at your backside (you know how people talk....), my initial guess is that you need more length in the sideseam. If you pull the sideseams down (yes, I know the waist will feel uncomfortable), do the wrinkles disappear?
3/3/07 5:06 PM
Mlle Laura said...
I have the same problem, and I have yet to find a fitting book that treats this problem. It seems though that we are not alone, even the skinny model on the Burdastyle site has the same wrinkles! (see the 2nd picture): http://www.burdastyle.com/pattern/show/18.
3/3/07 5:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with Karla. If that test does make the wrinkles go away, then what you need to do is to add an extra inch or two the waist seam, tie elastic around your waist to fit them and tug up/down all around until the wrinkles are gone. Then mark *that* as your waist seam.
3/3/07 6:15 PM
Nancy K said...
I thought at first that you needed length in the outside seam. This may be the case, but it seems very tight in the back crotch and I would adddress that first. Try sewing a deeper seam in the rear end which will give you more body space to accomadate you tush. Sew 1/4" deeper at a time and try on. I would probably make a muslin to do this on. If this doesn't work, you may need extra length in side seam. But I don't think so.
3/3/07 6:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
I can't comment on the wrinkles... I can tell you that these are great looking pants!
3/3/07 9:59 PM
Kay Romo said...
Looks like crotch curve is too short and needs to be lengthened.
3/3/07 10:31 PM
JuliaS said...
So in case anyone is interested, I did pull the pants down as Karla suggested to see what happens. The back wrinkles go away, but then the front crotch hangs REALLY low. I think this may be telling me that I am lower in the back crotch than the front crotch and need to give myself more body space & crotch length in the back by scooping out the back crotch curve and maybe lengthening the back crotch hook still more. I'm going to give this a try.
3/3/07 11:03 PM
sewitfitsyou said...
I had the same problem in every pair of pants I've ever made. The solution is more side seam length as someone else said. Split the pattern horizontally around the low hip area and spread the side seam edge about 1", tapering to nothing at CF and CB. I finally found this adjustment in The Minott Method pants book. See page 29, problem #20 - "Wide hips can pull the pants legs to the outside. Solution: Reposition pants leg towrds center of body." SE
3/8/07 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5510

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now