Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2004-138 (Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1046 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 4:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
Your wrinkles look a lot like the ones Debbie Cook describes in one of her alteration tutorials - http://www.cedesign.com/familyphotos/sewing/info/pantswedge/index.html - which might give you some ideas on further alterations. They look really good to me, though. :)
3/3/07 5:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Without being there to tug on your pants and do a lot of staring at your backside (you know how people talk....), my initial guess is that you need more length in the sideseam. If you pull the sideseams down (yes, I know the waist will feel uncomfortable), do the wrinkles disappear?
3/3/07 5:06 PM
Mlle Laura said...
I have the same problem, and I have yet to find a fitting book that treats this problem. It seems though that we are not alone, even the skinny model on the Burdastyle site has the same wrinkles! (see the 2nd picture): http://www.burdastyle.com/pattern/show/18.
3/3/07 5:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with Karla. If that test does make the wrinkles go away, then what you need to do is to add an extra inch or two the waist seam, tie elastic around your waist to fit them and tug up/down all around until the wrinkles are gone. Then mark *that* as your waist seam.
3/3/07 6:15 PM
Nancy K said...
I thought at first that you needed length in the outside seam. This may be the case, but it seems very tight in the back crotch and I would adddress that first. Try sewing a deeper seam in the rear end which will give you more body space to accomadate you tush. Sew 1/4" deeper at a time and try on. I would probably make a muslin to do this on. If this doesn't work, you may need extra length in side seam. But I don't think so.
3/3/07 6:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
I can't comment on the wrinkles... I can tell you that these are great looking pants!
3/3/07 9:59 PM
Kay Romo said...
Looks like crotch curve is too short and needs to be lengthened.
3/3/07 10:31 PM
JuliaS said...
So in case anyone is interested, I did pull the pants down as Karla suggested to see what happens. The back wrinkles go away, but then the front crotch hangs REALLY low. I think this may be telling me that I am lower in the back crotch than the front crotch and need to give myself more body space & crotch length in the back by scooping out the back crotch curve and maybe lengthening the back crotch hook still more. I'm going to give this a try.
3/3/07 11:03 PM
sewitfitsyou said...
I had the same problem in every pair of pants I've ever made. The solution is more side seam length as someone else said. Split the pattern horizontally around the low hip area and spread the side seam edge about 1", tapering to nothing at CF and CB. I finally found this adjustment in The Minott Method pants book. See page 29, problem #20 - "Wide hips can pull the pants legs to the outside. Solution: Reposition pants leg towrds center of body." SE
3/8/07 11:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Other Le Cadran de la Mode
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 10/24/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-9 Perugia Blouse
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 4/21/11
Read Review

Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us