Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1019 (Montgomery duffle coat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1433 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 6:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Janice C. said...
..... maybe not for the faint of heart but you certainly ended up with a fantastic coat - it looks great on you !
3/3/07 6:23 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this coat! I think you look amazing in it. It is indeed very distnctive. You certainly got quite a challenge in making this coat. You should be very proud of yourself.
3/3/07 6:26 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I really love the collar on the coat. THanks for the review. Marfy patterns are gorgeous but I'll think twice about taking one on.
3/3/07 6:38 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful coat. I love the idea that you can change its style and formality by buttoning or not.
3/3/07 6:45 PM
Darla in PA said...
A beautiful coat!
3/3/07 6:46 PM
Marji said...
Fabulous! You did an awesome job.
3/3/07 7:23 PM
Elona said...
What a spectacular coat! Really. I understand how a difficult pattern can sort of poison you mentally against using it again, but trust me on this: If you get rid of this pattern, in ten years, you will hate yourself for it.
3/3/07 7:41 PM
Liana said...
Very nice work! This design didn't particularly appeal to me, but I love your version. It looks great on you, too!
3/3/07 8:50 PM
Christina Sonja said...
That is a beautiful coat, I think it is worth all the misery you went through!
3/3/07 9:17 PM
MissCelie said...
It looks fabulous! Look how your hard work paid off!
3/3/07 9:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
this is truly a gorgeous coat!
3/3/07 9:48 PM
kathi s said...
Johanna, your coat is very elegant! I truely admire anyone who tackles Marfy patterns and finishes the job! They are wonderful designs, but not for anyone but the most expert sewer which you have proven you are!
3/3/07 11:59 PM
fionah said...
Congratulations, it looks great well worth your sweat and blood.
3/4/07 1:02 AM
mrs quickly said...
Love it! I'm amazed by those of you who can sew without instructions! Wow!
3/4/07 1:57 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous coat on you, one I'm sure you will enjoy and remember fondly .... while sewing other garments! Well done.
3/4/07 3:02 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh. Well, from the point of view of one who didn't suffer :-), it looks gorgeous. I'm sure in a winter or two you'll just feel the glow of accomplishment..
3/4/07 4:54 AM
PegL said...
Your coat is absolutely beautiful!
3/4/07 5:39 AM
blue mooney said...
Lovely coat, and good for you for sticking with a complicated project!
3/4/07 7:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice coat. Excellent job.
3/4/07 7:46 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you for the flattering comments! After playing it safe for several years, doing the same stuff over and over again, I decided to go outside my comfort zone. Even though the process was grueling, I am really happy to have pulled this off. Still, I do wish that Marfy would come with instructions. Their designs are soo beautiful, and I'm already eyeing a dress to try out.
3/4/07 9:00 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat and you have done an amazing job even though you had some bad moments. Wear it with pride!!
3/4/07 9:46 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The good thing about combining a classic style like this pattern with a good quality fabric like you did is that you shouldn't have to make this again for a long time! A wonderful garment indeed! Wear it with pride!
3/4/07 11:21 AM
lilhoney57 said...
it is beautiful!
3/4/07 6:58 PM
PhyllisC said...
Thank you thank you THANK YOU for this review! I love this style and it's on my short list. You coat is wonderful.
3/4/07 9:05 PM
Nancywin said...
Gorgeous - you will love this coat for years. It looks quite couture
3/4/07 11:59 PM
utz said...
Beautiful work, beautiful coat. You have done the equivalent of climbing a mountain, be proud! Also, I got a real chuckle/ laugh reading your remark 'had a fit when my BF asked why the lining was shiny.' :) :)
3/5/07 8:00 AM
Jan B. said...
This is so beautiful. Maybe your memories of the difficulties will fade in time. Thank you for the review.
3/5/07 3:28 PM
AnneM said...
It is always nice to see the marfy pieces in "real life", so to speak. Great coat; it's good you survived the process.
3/6/07 6:04 PM
parisf said...
you should be very proud of yourself. The coat is lovely. I have wanted to try a Marfy pattern but hesitate due to all the things you mentioned.
2/29/08 7:59 PM
Mahler said...
Simply superb!
12/30/08 1:50 AM
pwellock said...
Definitely worth the pain! It looks great.
8/6/09 12:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

No Pattern Used apron Apron
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 12/17/07
Read Review

Butterick 5954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2724
photo
Review by TheHomeEco... on 8/26/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us