SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1019 (Montgomery duffle coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1446 times 
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 6:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pwellock said...
Definitely worth the pain! It looks great.
8/6/09 12:44 PM
Mahler said...
Simply superb!
12/30/08 1:50 AM
parisf said...
you should be very proud of yourself. The coat is lovely. I have wanted to try a Marfy pattern but hesitate due to all the things you mentioned.
2/29/08 7:59 PM
AnneM said...
It is always nice to see the marfy pieces in "real life", so to speak. Great coat; it's good you survived the process.
3/6/07 6:04 PM
Jan B. said...
This is so beautiful. Maybe your memories of the difficulties will fade in time. Thank you for the review.
3/5/07 3:28 PM
utz said...
Beautiful work, beautiful coat. You have done the equivalent of climbing a mountain, be proud! Also, I got a real chuckle/ laugh reading your remark 'had a fit when my BF asked why the lining was shiny.' :) :)
3/5/07 8:00 AM
Nancywin said...
Gorgeous - you will love this coat for years. It looks quite couture
3/4/07 11:59 PM
PhyllisC said...
Thank you thank you THANK YOU for this review! I love this style and it's on my short list. You coat is wonderful.
3/4/07 9:05 PM
lilhoney57 said...
it is beautiful!
3/4/07 6:58 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The good thing about combining a classic style like this pattern with a good quality fabric like you did is that you shouldn't have to make this again for a long time! A wonderful garment indeed! Wear it with pride!
3/4/07 11:21 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat and you have done an amazing job even though you had some bad moments. Wear it with pride!!
3/4/07 9:46 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you for the flattering comments! After playing it safe for several years, doing the same stuff over and over again, I decided to go outside my comfort zone. Even though the process was grueling, I am really happy to have pulled this off. Still, I do wish that Marfy would come with instructions. Their designs are soo beautiful, and I'm already eyeing a dress to try out.
3/4/07 9:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice coat. Excellent job.
3/4/07 7:46 AM
blue mooney said...
Lovely coat, and good for you for sticking with a complicated project!
3/4/07 7:33 AM
PegL said...
Your coat is absolutely beautiful!
3/4/07 5:39 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh. Well, from the point of view of one who didn't suffer :-), it looks gorgeous. I'm sure in a winter or two you'll just feel the glow of accomplishment..
3/4/07 4:54 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous coat on you, one I'm sure you will enjoy and remember fondly .... while sewing other garments! Well done.
3/4/07 3:02 AM
mrs quickly said...
Love it! I'm amazed by those of you who can sew without instructions! Wow!
3/4/07 1:57 AM
fionah said...
Congratulations, it looks great well worth your sweat and blood.
3/4/07 1:02 AM
kathi s said...
Johanna, your coat is very elegant! I truely admire anyone who tackles Marfy patterns and finishes the job! They are wonderful designs, but not for anyone but the most expert sewer which you have proven you are!
3/3/07 11:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
this is truly a gorgeous coat!
3/3/07 9:48 PM
MissCelie said...
It looks fabulous! Look how your hard work paid off!
3/3/07 9:44 PM
Christina Sonja said...
That is a beautiful coat, I think it is worth all the misery you went through!
3/3/07 9:17 PM
Liana said...
Very nice work! This design didn't particularly appeal to me, but I love your version. It looks great on you, too!
3/3/07 8:50 PM
Elona said...
What a spectacular coat! Really. I understand how a difficult pattern can sort of poison you mentally against using it again, but trust me on this: If you get rid of this pattern, in ten years, you will hate yourself for it.
3/3/07 7:41 PM
Marji said...
Fabulous! You did an awesome job.
3/3/07 7:23 PM
Darla in PA said...
A beautiful coat!
3/3/07 6:46 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful coat. I love the idea that you can change its style and formality by buttoning or not.
3/3/07 6:45 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I really love the collar on the coat. THanks for the review. Marfy patterns are gorgeous but I'll think twice about taking one on.
3/3/07 6:38 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this coat! I think you look amazing in it. It is indeed very distnctive. You certainly got quite a challenge in making this coat. You should be very proud of yourself.
3/3/07 6:26 PM
Janice C. said...
..... maybe not for the faint of heart but you certainly ended up with a fantastic coat - it looks great on you !
3/3/07 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-115

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info