Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8199 (Bathing-Suit & Hip-hugger pant) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 610 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:aggiebear
photo
About aggiebear
KS USA
Member since: 4/19/06
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/07 7:47 PM
Last Updated:3/3/07 7:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Beautiful fabric and great suit! Love it!
3/3/07 8:54 PM
zella said...
oh my gosh! I HAD that suit in the 1960's. Mine was purchased - I think the brand was Villager. Floral print cotton, and the skirt attached with a Velcro band under the bra. It's a darling suit, you look great in it, and honey, you're not old.
3/3/07 9:14 PM
jessika said...
Very cute. you did a great job.
3/3/07 9:32 PM
sewfan said...
Love the suit and the fabric! I think you look great in it!! Pam
3/3/07 9:41 PM
Linda G said...
I am 55 and was a senior in 1969 and I had that swim suit too!!!!! I am trying to think of what fabric I used. Thanks for bringing back memories. No you do NOT look dorky!...you look great..
3/4/07 0:07 AM
SewTwin said...
BRAVO Amigo! I have been wanting to do a swimsuit, and pattern review. I have only seen twenty, thirty somethings. Zella is right, you don't look 55. I will be 55 my next birthday, so I don't think that is so-o old, either. I use the Moisturizing tanners before I get out in public in the summer. I love your suit, hope I can even come close!
3/4/07 2:45 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wowee, what a fascinating review. Makes me want to give it a go because as you said there's really not a lot out there and I just about live at the beach in summer. I'd love to live there in something a little more interesting.....
3/4/07 3:56 AM
brrmm said...
aggiebear, I make lots of swimwear for myself and my daughters and I love to see interesting patterns like this one. Your togs(as we call them here) look very retro and groovy - I really love them. I have 2 questions though - if made from cotton, how long does it take to dry out...and...are the pants kinda "pouchy"? I'm not your age yet, but I do envy your figure there - all is good girl!
3/4/07 6:52 AM
aggiebear said...
brrmm, the cotton does take a while to dry out, that is true. The pants fit like a glove and are not pouchy at all. They have a zipper in the back which allows them to fit quite nicely. Thanks for the nice compliment...actually a bit of a shock to remake a pattern that you wore when you were 18 and to have it look so different! Ah, the wonders of starting to get older!
3/4/07 7:38 AM
aggiebear said...
Linda G...what a hoot that you made the same pattern. I made two versions of the pattern in 1969. The one I remade and the one that has a semi-sheer apron which is the one that I liked the best for that summer so long ago. I was SO excited to have found the pattern.
3/4/07 7:40 AM
cindy-lou said...
This suit is *far* from dorky! You'll get a lot of "where'd you get your suit?" comments this summer. You are right-- swimsuits are a racket-- the price is inversely proportional to the amount of fabric used. Most of them are probably $300 a yard (100 bucks, 1/3 yard of fabric). And the fit you acheived beats them all hands down!
3/4/07 7:42 AM
Robbie Jo said...
No worries, you look great (from one 55 yo to another) Love the suit and the story. I spend a LOT of time at the beach in the summer and trust me, you look great.
3/4/07 7:54 AM
MissCelie said...
This would be fabulous for my mom who also haates the newer swimsuits. You did an outstanding job.
3/4/07 8:51 AM
aggiebear said...
Thanks so much for all the nice comments. It is a 'for sure' that I will sew another version of this swimsuit in a very different fabric for this summer. I must say I feel SO much better in it that in the stick-to-your-ribs spandex.
3/4/07 10:14 AM
Soliel said...
I did a lot of looking at swimsuit patterns of late and there are some modern patterns, that use spandex, that are conservative. One that comes to mind is a skirted one, with a fairly big skirt for a swim suit. Having said that, I think retro suits are the cutest ever! You don't get as much sun (I think the sun can be healing) BUT you get so much STYLE and design. I purchased a 40's "play suit" kind of pattern that can be a shorts set or swim suit. Love love love it. Your suit is very cute. Don't call yourself old!
3/4/07 11:11 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! You look classy and sizzling hot in that one! What fun to read your review You are joking, right? 55? You really look much younger than that! Watch out Pam Anderson! We have here a hot beach babe who certainly looked good at 17 and still good, but better at 55!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/4/07 2:46 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You are NOT old! Your suit looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing your story - I think you should make another one.
3/5/07 1:51 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the review, it looks great! I actually have a copy of the same pattern and was considering sewing it up. You have inspired me to try, although I am not looking forward to trying to a full bust adj on this one - I don't want to fall out of the top. Thanks!!!
5/10/07 12:10 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the review, it looks great! I actually have a copy of the same pattern and was considering sewing it up but wondered if it would look silly on me. Yours looks great! My sister had a similar style in white eyelet when she was 13 and it was beautiful. You have inspired me to try, although I am not looking forward to trying to a full bust adj on this one - I don't want to fall out of the top. Thanks!!!
5/10/07 12:13 PM
sewsewsew said...
Congratulations! It looks lovely!
8/6/07 9:59 PM
Melody T. said...
That is so cute! I might track it down and make it in my size.
5/25/09 2:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 2958
photo
Review by mysticotal... on 3/22/14
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3374 Shirts & Pants
photo
Review by Erin D on 6/28/10
Read Review

Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us