SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5314 (Misses' Wrap Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 4105 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/07 12:19 PM
Last Updated:5/5/08 1:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 30 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Really cool dress. Great tips on alterations...I need do those too re small bust. Great results !!
3/4/07 12:48 PM
Lisette said...
Great looking dress.
3/4/07 1:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Really nice dress! Looks great on you too which is always a good thing!
3/4/07 1:30 PM
madhatter said...
Very beautiful!
3/4/07 2:10 PM
Kay Romo said...
Really just too cute!
3/4/07 4:48 PM
Tiner W said...
It's so beautiful!
3/4/07 5:21 PM
Gsd said...
I was very happy to see another review for this dress I'm hoping to make this next. I love the dress and it looks great on you.
3/4/07 6:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress and top.
3/4/07 7:02 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Nicegirl !!!
3/4/07 7:05 PM
cindy-lou said...
I have the Simplicity version of this pattern and hope mine can look as nice in yellow eyelet as yours does in suiting fabric!
3/4/07 9:29 PM
LorelleD said...
You have style. You always make nice clothes. Thanks for the informative review.
3/5/07 2:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Super! Email your pics to the pattern company so they can use one of your photos on the pattern envelope :) ! I love how you dealt with the make-one-for-me comments.
3/5/07 7:00 AM
Marhamner said...
Beautiful dress! Good job!
3/5/07 9:59 AM
jnamcd said...
Great job!! I'm behind in checking out what has been going on here! Anyways--you really worked hard on this--so many alterations--but really worth it! I think the muslin is cute too--I like the colors! And I loved the story about everyone wanting you to make one for them--great comebacks! Great review!
3/5/07 5:33 PM
AnneM said...
I've decided you are going to need a new closet with all the clothing you have been sewing. Fun dress, and it will span a number of seasons, I think.
3/5/07 9:12 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! Of course now it's too cold to wear this, but hopefully by next week I can wear it to work. AnneM--it's not a matter of going to need a new closet, I already need a new one! And I have a big walk in one. Not to mention the good sized closet in my sewing room, which is devoted exclusively to costumes and dress up clothes. I can't imagine what I would do if I had to share a closet with someone.
3/5/07 10:09 PM
cathy45 said...
Great review! I really appreciated seeing the photos of your pattern adjustments.
3/7/07 9:17 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Fab!
3/14/07 4:24 PM
Soliel said...
Thanks for showing me this...I almost bought this pattern but didn't because it seemed too shirtdress, like. But I can see, from your review, how feminine it is. Thanks!
4/4/07 10:14 AM
LiZ said...
Ffabulous dress.
4/4/07 12:39 PM
janella said...
looks wonderful! How tall are you? I'm 5ft3 and am trying to work out if this pattern will be ok even though it is not a petite. I can shorten the length but was wondering about where the waist ends up/length of bodice.
4/28/07 1:57 AM
nicegirl said...
Hi Janella-I'm 5' 1.5" so you look like a giraffe compared to me. `-) I didn't shorten the bodice per se, though my SBA took a little length out of it. A pic of the altered front pattern piece is linked above, which might help you.
4/28/07 10:10 AM
carolynw said...
Nopt sure how I missed this review - love the top - looks good and thanks for all the tips on the problems and useful solutions
4/28/07 6:46 PM
janella said...
thanks!!! :)
4/29/07 6:24 AM
Marji said...
great dress, and you Really made this pattern work for you.
4/29/07 7:21 AM
morzel said...
Well, happy birthday to you then! Lucky you, getting such wonderful fabric. And worth it, as you turn it into a wonderful dress!
8/31/07 3:34 AM
Huldra said...
Wonderful dress! I think you matched the print really well. Happy birthday, btw. :)
8/31/07 6:24 AM
AnitaJ said...
Great birthday dress! Definitely worthy of your special fabric and worth the effort you put into this project. Happy Birthday and enjoy Greece! :)
8/31/07 6:33 AM
Sharon M said...
Happy Birthday! What a wonderful birthday gift! And a great use of fabric. All I can say is "WOW"!
8/31/07 8:33 AM
MissCelie said...
Oh. Ok. So, um, having some giver's remorse in only the best sense. I totally pictured this fabric as this dress. Gah. It's fantastic.
8/31/07 10:24 AM
OP Gal said...
Magnificent dress. Wonderful placement of the motif. Congratulations on an excellent job. Oh, and happy birthday!
8/31/07 11:00 AM
Tini said...
gorgeous!
8/31/07 11:32 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
You are so talented and creative, I tip my hat. Thank you for the detailed review. Oh and $25/hr for 6 hours plus materials, still puts the dress at around $200. A steal for custom couture! : )
8/31/07 1:07 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow. I'm speechless. Cutting it in a single layer really paid off.
8/31/07 1:13 PM
moss said...
25/hour is cheap cheap cheap... You would need to charge much more to really give them a sense of the sacrifice :)
8/31/07 1:54 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, what a dress! Fantastic design placement.
8/31/07 2:04 PM
frame said...
Absolutely lovely. Happy Birthday!
8/31/07 2:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Happy birthday! Love the birthday dress. Love the pink and grey dress even more! Great job!
8/31/07 5:53 PM
DorothyK said...
What a great job. The dress is fantastic. Your meticulous attention to detail pays off. Happy birthday, and have a great trip.
8/31/07 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Feliz compleanos, muchacha bonita! Tu vestida es muy linda! I am at a loss for words! What a breathtaking creation from such a stunning fabric (Thanks Cidell!). The girls at the party can only wish they have your adorable outfits! Enjoy your vacation!
8/31/07 8:12 PM
carolynw said...
Have a wonderful birthday and hope you enjoy your holiday as the news from Greece isn't all that good - however, my hairdresser is Greek and he says all is well. Looking forward to hearing from you when you get back - as said "enjoy' - DH and I loved it there.
8/31/07 9:48 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
oh my that is soooo cute! Love the boots too!
8/31/07 10:03 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You are just so talented! Hope you had a nice birthday & are having a wonderful vacation. Your dress is beautiful, btw.
9/1/07 10:28 AM
cindy-lou said...
Gorgeous, trena! You and cidell need to go out for great drinks at a hip restaurant. Have a wonderful birthday-- you're aging like fine wine! :)
9/1/07 11:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fabulous dress.
9/2/07 11:01 AM
Soliel said...
I really enjoyed looking at all your pics. I especially like the hot pink ribbon dress and the top you made with this pattern. Thank you for showing me, someone who has a very similar figure as you, how we can wear fitted white pants with a top like this and make it work. Sexy!
9/2/07 3:27 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Excellent job. I luv yr styling details. Cidell is far better friend that I would ever be :-). Great review as well. We can't wait to see what goodies u bring back frm Greece.!
9/12/07 5:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
Once again, I love what you did, and I WANT the fabric. Why didn't I see that at Paron's at PR Weekend? I would have bought a few yards of it myself. Looks great.
5/5/08 3:19 PM
pinkli said...
What a lovely job you made of this gorgeous top. Good for you! i love how it matches your dress form too. You make origami look so easy too!
5/5/08 3:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Nicegirl, I'm positively wild about your latest version blouse. Fabric, perfect. Collar and puff sleeves, charming and completely suited to your trim frame; but the origami trim is making me crazy! Trying desperately to figure out where on my body I could add it, without adding too many more lumps to the overall silhouette. There must be a way, and your tutorial will take me there. Thanks very much for that. You look gorgeous. -Lily
5/5/08 3:38 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
All of those are ADORABLE!!!! You are an excellent seamstress. I love seeing all of your work!!!!
5/5/08 8:04 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning blouse: enticing color, chic style and wonderfully constructed! I'll borrow your idea of making a blouse instead of a dress!
5/5/08 8:12 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, your new top looks great. Seeing all the different looks you got out of just this one pattern is really inspirational. Just lovely - all of them!
5/5/08 8:45 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
what a versatile pattern. very nice top!!
5/5/08 9:46 PM
vespabelle said...
luv it! I was totally inspired to make my muslin of htis pattern into a top. The green version is just gorgeous!
5/5/08 11:15 PM
EveS said...
Oh, this version is just KILLER! What an incredible fabric!!!
5/6/08 0:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-140

photo
by: Renren

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now