Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4044 (1940's Retro Suit) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2034 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/07 7:16 PM
Last Updated:3/21/07 1:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
I'm so glad to see these made up - I have this one in the pattern stash. They look very nice, and comfy too. I use a tripod for my camera which saves me a ton of twisting and irritation, and it's less shaky than holding it.
3/4/07 7:24 PM
Annette1 said...
I HAVE a tripod somewhere, but do you think I can find it? :o) I sure hope it turns up. I just KNOW it's in the black hole (sewing room).
3/4/07 7:41 PM
mastdenman said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this pattern. It's been resting gently in my stash. I have a feeling it will be used. I do like wide legged pants. They look nice and dressy and are comfy at the same time.
3/4/07 7:42 PM
Elona said...
Great review, and the pants look really pretty. The dip is CUTE, my dear. Keep the dip.
3/4/07 8:48 PM
sewbehind said...
Annette, these look very slimming and flattering on you. Thank you for the review.
3/4/07 10:54 PM
Frosty772 said...
I have this pattern too and im waiting to make up the skirt (waiting for the right fabric lol) I agree the dip is really cute on the pants and is a great detail even if you are the only one to see it!! It adds so much femininty to the pants. Great job!!
3/4/07 11:22 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking pants. I have this pattern and need to give it a try.
3/5/07 5:34 AM
Nancy K said...
These pants look awesome on you. Wonderful fit. As to taking pictures. I use a tripod and the selftimer. I tilt it down a bit and it is trial and error and mangage to get some decent pictures. Sometimes better than DH takes
3/5/07 8:49 AM
sarahb said...
i love the dip in the waistband! great pants!
3/5/07 4:08 PM
Queendom said...
Annette, I think I'm becoming a big fan of your reviews! I was hoping someone would review this pattern, because I've already cut it out. My, what good taste we have!
3/5/07 7:36 PM
AnneM said...
I just bought this pattern. I also like that little dip (and the jacket style). Good info - I'll be careful on sizing, & shorten the front rise, I think, when I tackle this. (Time to get yourself a tripod! )
3/5/07 9:00 PM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, when I was cutting out the pattern pieces, I was noticing the jacket too. I really like the cut of it. I might try that sometime too. I'm going to make another pair of these pants though, while they're still fresh in my mind. I'll have to line these, though, because the fabric is rayon georgette (I think). I washed/dried it, whatever it is. It felt pretty stiff coming out of the washer, so I'm pretty sure it's rayon. You can whip up the jacket in the meantime -- ha!
3/5/07 9:08 PM
KiwiWendy said...
great pants .. and so good that you got some empty bobbins after sewing it :D I must go back for the pattern and try it myself.
3/5/07 9:48 PM
cathy45 said...
I love this pattern but was wondering about the fit of the pants. Thank you for such a thorough review.
3/7/07 9:42 AM
Elona said...
I understand the falling-down thing on high-waisted pants without a waistband. Two things I remember reading somewhere about this (I think it may have been in an old Threads mag, maybe an article about Shermane Fouché?): 1. High-waisted pants do better with just a touch of boning. 2. You may need a ribbon waistline "stay," such as is used in formal gowns, to keep the waist where it belongs. Does anyone else remember reading something like this?
3/21/07 2:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Elona: Now that's a new one on me, about the boning, but now that you mention it, that's EXACTLY what it feels like it needs. Especially in the front, I feel like I'm constantly pulling them up (and I'm even long waisted). Thanks!
3/21/07 3:55 AM
carolynw said...
Hi Anette - I do think going down a full size (not a 1/2 size as you suggest) would work well. The pants look really nice but a size smaller may solve the problems. Can you put belt loops on so you can wear with a belt - the falling down thing is a real pain inthe butt!! PARDON THE PUN!!
3/21/07 10:19 AM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, why didn't I think of belt loops? :o)) I'll try going down a size, not adjusting the crotch length, and see what happens. Thanks!
3/21/07 12:10 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I made these pants and I too found them to be too big. And I can understand the crotch problem. Usually I need to lengthen mine but this one I didn't so at least they don't grab me in the crotch. I happen to have them on today as a matter of fact. I think it's just another Vanity Vogue. ..larger than the stated size on the envelope. But yours look nice!
3/21/07 2:00 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Tons of good information here! I bought the pattern last month - when JoAnne's was having a TO DIE FOR $1.00 per pattern sale! I am contemplating making the 40's style trouser, too!
6/5/08 5:51 AM
chunter said...
thanks for including the differences between what you thought *might* happen and what did -- allows the rest of us to learn from your assumptions, then make different mistakes ourselves.
10/19/09 1:49 PM
Futuralon said...
Have been thinking about making these so thanks for a clear review. I would like to pass on a tip. When using a loose weave such as linen or a fabric cut on the bias, reinforce the crotch curve with twill tape. I tried this with the other 40s retro pants and it was easy and I've had no drooping. I do think these patterns have deep crotches as a design element. I don't see ladies trousers fitted at the crotch in old movies. 40s underwear was also different - shorts in a woven, rather than the fitted knit panties or today - making the deep crotch more necessary.
9/24/12 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Dos de Tejas 5023
photo
Review by petra on 8/9/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00015
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us