Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8229 (Very Easy Vogue - dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2027 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/07 8:53 PM
Last Updated:3/24/07 8:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
Wow, they look great! I like that pattern.
3/24/07 9:01 PM
coconut said...
wow, I love all of them! What pattern did you use for the flutter sleeves?
3/24/07 9:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look stunning in all of them. My favorite is the mod girl one! Fantastic work! Always gorgeous Christine Sonja with Antonio Banderas!
3/24/07 9:12 PM
Lori V said...
I love all three, they look great on you. I can see why you want one of every color.
3/24/07 9:20 PM
trinicity said...
wow, very nice, I need them all, lol
3/24/07 9:23 PM
poplin said...
I've noticed that Vogue's version of this dress is more fitted than Simplicity's or McCall's. You and Zaneta look fabulous in it! Thanks for the review.
3/24/07 9:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great dresses! Amazing how different fabrics can change the look. Love your versions.
3/24/07 9:41 PM
SJB said...
I love what you have done with this pattern. You capture the flavor of 1960s & 1970s, which I loved, and still do, but your interpretation is so absolutely au courant that I have only praise for what you have done with a pattern and fabrics!
3/24/07 9:46 PM
ribbit2jen said...
All 3 are too cute!!! Great work! My fav is view 1. They all look great on you and I could totally see them in lots of other fun prints.
3/24/07 10:16 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Those are absolutely so cute! Oh, if only I could wear something like that, again. Thanks for the pic of the stabilizing interfacing.
3/24/07 10:22 PM
Zaneta said...
I looooove what you have done with each and everyone!! I also would love to make this dress again..you are right it is so comfortable to wear..your choice of silk is a wonderful!! Thanks so much for your tips..
3/24/07 10:43 PM
cmarie12 said...
Christina - I like all of your versions too! They fit well and each one looks different from all the others. What a great use of a pattern.
3/24/07 11:31 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a very helpful review! I live all the three dresses, congratulations!
3/25/07 6:01 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern is a real gem! I love the changes you made -- widening the neckband and the flutter sleeves. Excellent work!
3/25/07 6:59 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for including pics of you wearing all of them! They are all great dresses!!
3/25/07 7:23 AM
candyo said...
These are cool! I might have to consider this pattern!
3/25/07 8:10 AM
Linda G said...
Very nice and I would have worn them in the 60's when I was your age. The old saying always goes if you wore it once your too old to wear it again...that' me I guess...but enjoy they are beautiful
3/25/07 8:18 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful work! You have talent and I look forward to reading more of your reviews.
3/25/07 8:58 AM
Janice C. said...
TOTALLY FABULOUS.
3/25/07 10:04 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What beautiful outfits. They look great on you and will, I'm sure, be your summer wardrobe.
3/25/07 10:05 AM
Janice C. said...
... I just want to add that I've just checked your new blog - its got a good feel about it , and I'm going to get my 2 teenage daughters to check it out too .
3/25/07 10:10 AM
Mini said...
Wow! You have a great sense of personal style, and this dress is perfect for you. The sleeveless one looks just like a dress I made for summer in 1966- a style that was totally cool then, totally cool now :).
3/25/07 10:20 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fabulous dresses! Very youthful and fun. They all look great on you.
3/25/07 10:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I love them all! But the mod version is so utterly fabulous...
3/25/07 10:29 AM
xela said...
You look smashing in all three! This dress has never appealed to me until I saw your creativity. I'll have to make it! You have inspired me. Thanks for the great review and all the pictures. Bravo
3/25/07 11:03 AM
Marji said...
That is super-cute on you. You wear it well. I love the different looks you've achieved with this pattern.
3/25/07 1:20 PM
patsijean said...
What a lovely trio of dresses, and they look wonderful on you. You have a keeper pattern.
3/25/07 1:38 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I can definitely see why you would make this dress your uniform! Love it!
3/25/07 2:11 PM
Gemma K. said...
Fantastic dresses! I made a dress similar to the sleeveless version in 1967 and it is - to this day - my favorite dress of all times. Why does the pattern say,"unsuitable for obvious plaids, diagonals, or stripes?" Your b&w graphic looks like an obvious diagonal - and your dress is perfection. I have a horizonal stripe I'd like to use for a flutter sleeve version. Do you think it would work?
3/25/07 4:36 PM
Margie T said...
All 3 dresses look great. Congratulations!
3/25/07 6:37 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Gemma - I think a horizontal stripe fabric would be okay, you may want to redraft the sleeves to be less rounded with the horizontal stripe, though. Or maybe cut them on the bias so they are diagonal on the finished dress?
3/25/07 7:56 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
I love them want them all!!! Looks MUCH better than the pattern envelope, they should hire you!
3/26/07 6:26 AM
Gemma K. said...
Christina, I think bias sleeves are a great idea. My striped fabric is a rayon, so I'll make the sleeves short enough to allow for some stretching. I got this fabric in Amsterdam a few years ago and I love it, but just couldn't bring myself to take any chances with the stripes. You've given me the inspiration. I like your "just do it" attitude.
3/26/07 8:11 AM
Maychi said...
I love love love all three versions!
3/26/07 4:33 PM
Dr. Alice said...
What a great assortment of dresses - you look terrific!
3/26/07 7:04 PM
Erica B. said...
I love what you did with these dresses. My personal favorite is version 1. I had envisioned doing something very similar. I'm bookmarking your review!
3/27/07 1:05 PM
MissCelie said...
Just fantastic. They are trendy without looking silly. Thanks for reviewing these!
4/4/07 7:32 AM
AnneM said...
Great job. I really like the neckline of your version one, although your version 2 is great. (Version 3 certainly looks comfortable, and very retro - folks who like 'mod' outfits will love that one.)
4/4/07 12:45 PM
janella said...
I made this pattern as well but I love your silk version. Looks gorgeous! It must just feel lovely. I made mine from cotton but it is a little stiff. Totally agree with leaving off the ruffle on version one. I left mine on and feel ever so slightly silly - looks much classier without it! I too thought about making a contrast band for the collar, but when I sewed it, looked too heavy. The dress is so small there isn't any visual space for a contrast collar (in my opinion) so re-did the dress with a matching collar.
4/27/07 3:15 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
You are just too cute - I really admire your style. I love that you made 3 very different looks using one pattern, and all 3 of them are great! Well done!
10/2/07 2:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Self Drafted Pattern 140122
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/15/14
Read Review

Vogue 2401 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2401 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

By Hand London Victoria Blazer
By Hand London Victoria Blazer

Details
Price: $23.39
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5397
photo
Review by Reiko on 3/23/10
Read Review

Winnie Wide Legged Trousers Digital Pattern
Winnie Wide Legged Trousers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us