SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8229 (Very Easy Vogue - dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2029 times 
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/07 8:53 PM
Last Updated:3/24/07 8:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
You are just too cute - I really admire your style. I love that you made 3 very different looks using one pattern, and all 3 of them are great! Well done!
10/2/07 2:53 PM
janella said...
I made this pattern as well but I love your silk version. Looks gorgeous! It must just feel lovely. I made mine from cotton but it is a little stiff. Totally agree with leaving off the ruffle on version one. I left mine on and feel ever so slightly silly - looks much classier without it! I too thought about making a contrast band for the collar, but when I sewed it, looked too heavy. The dress is so small there isn't any visual space for a contrast collar (in my opinion) so re-did the dress with a matching collar.
4/27/07 3:15 PM
AnneM said...
Great job. I really like the neckline of your version one, although your version 2 is great. (Version 3 certainly looks comfortable, and very retro - folks who like 'mod' outfits will love that one.)
4/4/07 12:45 PM
MissCelie said...
Just fantastic. They are trendy without looking silly. Thanks for reviewing these!
4/4/07 7:32 AM
Erica B. said...
I love what you did with these dresses. My personal favorite is version 1. I had envisioned doing something very similar. I'm bookmarking your review!
3/27/07 1:05 PM
Dr. Alice said...
What a great assortment of dresses - you look terrific!
3/26/07 7:04 PM
Maychi said...
I love love love all three versions!
3/26/07 4:33 PM
Gemma K. said...
Christina, I think bias sleeves are a great idea. My striped fabric is a rayon, so I'll make the sleeves short enough to allow for some stretching. I got this fabric in Amsterdam a few years ago and I love it, but just couldn't bring myself to take any chances with the stripes. You've given me the inspiration. I like your "just do it" attitude.
3/26/07 8:11 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
I love them want them all!!! Looks MUCH better than the pattern envelope, they should hire you!
3/26/07 6:26 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Gemma - I think a horizontal stripe fabric would be okay, you may want to redraft the sleeves to be less rounded with the horizontal stripe, though. Or maybe cut them on the bias so they are diagonal on the finished dress?
3/25/07 7:56 PM
Margie T said...
All 3 dresses look great. Congratulations!
3/25/07 6:37 PM
Gemma K. said...
Fantastic dresses! I made a dress similar to the sleeveless version in 1967 and it is - to this day - my favorite dress of all times. Why does the pattern say,"unsuitable for obvious plaids, diagonals, or stripes?" Your b&w graphic looks like an obvious diagonal - and your dress is perfection. I have a horizonal stripe I'd like to use for a flutter sleeve version. Do you think it would work?
3/25/07 4:36 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I can definitely see why you would make this dress your uniform! Love it!
3/25/07 2:11 PM
patsijean said...
What a lovely trio of dresses, and they look wonderful on you. You have a keeper pattern.
3/25/07 1:38 PM
Marji said...
That is super-cute on you. You wear it well. I love the different looks you've achieved with this pattern.
3/25/07 1:20 PM
xela said...
You look smashing in all three! This dress has never appealed to me until I saw your creativity. I'll have to make it! You have inspired me. Thanks for the great review and all the pictures. Bravo
3/25/07 11:03 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I love them all! But the mod version is so utterly fabulous...
3/25/07 10:29 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fabulous dresses! Very youthful and fun. They all look great on you.
3/25/07 10:29 AM
Mini said...
Wow! You have a great sense of personal style, and this dress is perfect for you. The sleeveless one looks just like a dress I made for summer in 1966- a style that was totally cool then, totally cool now :).
3/25/07 10:20 AM
Janice C. said...
... I just want to add that I've just checked your new blog - its got a good feel about it , and I'm going to get my 2 teenage daughters to check it out too .
3/25/07 10:10 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What beautiful outfits. They look great on you and will, I'm sure, be your summer wardrobe.
3/25/07 10:05 AM
Janice C. said...
TOTALLY FABULOUS.
3/25/07 10:04 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful work! You have talent and I look forward to reading more of your reviews.
3/25/07 8:58 AM
Linda G said...
Very nice and I would have worn them in the 60's when I was your age. The old saying always goes if you wore it once your too old to wear it again...that' me I guess...but enjoy they are beautiful
3/25/07 8:18 AM
candyo said...
These are cool! I might have to consider this pattern!
3/25/07 8:10 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for including pics of you wearing all of them! They are all great dresses!!
3/25/07 7:23 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern is a real gem! I love the changes you made -- widening the neckband and the flutter sleeves. Excellent work!
3/25/07 6:59 AM
Tany said...
Thank you for a very helpful review! I live all the three dresses, congratulations!
3/25/07 6:01 AM
cmarie12 said...
Christina - I like all of your versions too! They fit well and each one looks different from all the others. What a great use of a pattern.
3/24/07 11:31 PM
Zaneta said...
I looooove what you have done with each and everyone!! I also would love to make this dress again..you are right it is so comfortable to wear..your choice of silk is a wonderful!! Thanks so much for your tips..
3/24/07 10:43 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Those are absolutely so cute! Oh, if only I could wear something like that, again. Thanks for the pic of the stabilizing interfacing.
3/24/07 10:22 PM
ribbit2jen said...
All 3 are too cute!!! Great work! My fav is view 1. They all look great on you and I could totally see them in lots of other fun prints.
3/24/07 10:16 PM
SJB said...
I love what you have done with this pattern. You capture the flavor of 1960s & 1970s, which I loved, and still do, but your interpretation is so absolutely au courant that I have only praise for what you have done with a pattern and fabrics!
3/24/07 9:46 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great dresses! Amazing how different fabrics can change the look. Love your versions.
3/24/07 9:41 PM
poplin said...
I've noticed that Vogue's version of this dress is more fitted than Simplicity's or McCall's. You and Zaneta look fabulous in it! Thanks for the review.
3/24/07 9:26 PM
trinicity said...
wow, very nice, I need them all, lol
3/24/07 9:23 PM
Lori V said...
I love all three, they look great on you. I can see why you want one of every color.
3/24/07 9:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look stunning in all of them. My favorite is the mod girl one! Fantastic work! Always gorgeous Christine Sonja with Antonio Banderas!
3/24/07 9:12 PM
coconut said...
wow, I love all of them! What pattern did you use for the flutter sleeves?
3/24/07 9:01 PM
BJ1400 said...
Wow, they look great! I like that pattern.
3/24/07 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
McCall's 6085

photo
by: rubyinther...

Review

Pattern