SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3489 (Wrapdress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 3302 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/07 10:02 PM
Last Updated:3/22/07 10:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
Love it. One day I will be able to sew like you! Go girl!
3/6/07 10:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Erica, nice dress. How did you finish the neckline and does it gape? Did you need to do an FBA? Sorry about the questions; just curious. :) You're the first person to review this dress.
3/6/07 10:39 PM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
You are my style inspiration. I love this. Very well done!
3/6/07 10:40 PM
Annette1 said...
A SHOW-STOPPER! :o)
3/6/07 10:51 PM
Erica B. said...
Sew4Fun, there is no gaping and I didn't need an FBA. I actually dropped the bodice down a size smaller since the fabric is a stretch knit so that I would have negative ease. The neckline has an understitched facing that is tacked down on the shoulder seams.
3/6/07 10:59 PM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE Your dress!! Enjoyed your blog. Erica B.--thanks for sharing! I can't help but smile when I look at you! Carla PS. I just checked and noted that you have reviewed KS 3408 (Here:http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?reviewnum=15815. Would you please let me know what the difference is in these 2 patterns? Is it just the curved front on the wrap skirt? I have that pattern. Thank you in advance. Carla
3/6/07 11:10 PM
poplin said...
Thanks for the tip on the interfacing. How did you finish the front neckline?
3/6/07 11:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks Erica, that's helpful.
3/6/07 11:14 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks great, and it's a classic that you'll wear for years to come.
3/7/07 0:06 AM
Erica B. said...
Thanks so much ladies! CSM--Carla, The only difference between KS 3489 and 3408 is the curved skirt and the collar... that's it. They are both by the same KS designer.
3/7/07 0:37 AM
jnamcd said...
Looks awesome on you! Great job!
3/7/07 0:45 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Another elegant & stylish project from you!
3/7/07 1:16 AM
Petticoat said...
Great job ! And you're very pretty with that dress
3/7/07 2:55 AM
Tany said...
Awesome dress, your sewing is impeccable as always!
3/7/07 4:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish - as always Erica :)) The DVF dresses retail for around AU$500 here in Oz.
3/7/07 4:46 AM
Elaray said...
I enjoy your reviews because it's like attending a fashion show! You should string them together into a slide show on your blog.
3/7/07 5:38 AM
MissCelie said...
This dress is just fabulous. Do you hear that sound? It's me opening my bottle of haterade. Seriously wonderful work.
3/7/07 7:59 AM
Charlene McGill said...
Nice dress. I always look forward to your new project. As always, you have done very well. I think all your projects looks like RTW and that where I want to be. Thanks for sharing.
3/7/07 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Love this - another winner Erica but then I wouldn't expect any less from you!!
3/7/07 9:56 AM
AnneM said...
And you have $250 and change to spare (depending on how expensive your fabric was)!
3/7/07 4:24 PM
Zaneta said...
Erica this is just so classic!! You will get so much wear out of it..I love it!
3/7/07 4:35 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress! It looks great on you.
3/7/07 5:03 PM
Maychi said...
Stunning!
3/7/07 5:34 PM
kim*brown said...
That is definitely a little black dress that needs to be added to my collection. :0) Love it, you did a very wonderful job and always look so classy.
3/7/07 7:16 PM
Liana said...
It looks great on you, as always!
3/7/07 10:03 PM
Terri Smith said...
Very Nice Dress! I just bought a Maggie London version (less than the Diane Version) because I was too intimidated to try this on my own. Now, I think I will give it a shot and use my RTW as a template. Thanks so much for a nice review.
3/7/07 10:36 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
you are such an inspiration...every time you seem to pick a pattern that perfectly flatters you and then work the garment to perfection. You should teach a class on how to "know your style".
3/8/07 9:26 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with the comment right above mine ... you have a great talent for matching pattern and fabric to what looks great on you! Very pretty Erica!
3/8/07 10:24 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Catty Remark: With legs like that, how could she look BAD? You do know how to feature your assets, Erica. Okay, okay...nice dress. ;-)
3/8/07 8:39 PM
Kath in ON said...
Beautiful! And I love the shoes!
3/9/07 10:45 AM
crisford said...
Wow! That looks fabulous!
3/9/07 11:41 AM
Modiste Madness said...
It looks great and is perfect for your figure.
3/10/07 11:47 AM
PhyllisC said...
Killer! You look great Erica!
3/10/07 6:11 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fierce dress, girl!
3/10/07 6:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Erica, you have become such an inspiration to me--everything you sew is absolutely fabulous!!! I agree with others who said you should teach a class on style. Everything you make looks perfect on you. I will have to try this pattern.
3/12/07 9:38 AM
LiZ said...
Stunning dress, so much nicer than the pattern envelope.
3/12/07 3:59 PM
blingblingkitty said...
I love your dress! Is this a TRUE wrap. I have been on the look out for a pattern that is not a MOCK wrap. Thanks, and great work!
3/17/07 1:10 AM
jnamcd said...
OHGosh! Love the new fabric! Gorgeous on you!
3/22/07 10:23 PM
Linda G said...
Best pattern I have seen for a wrap dress...it is beautiful.
3/22/07 10:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another great dress. I also like your killer heels. :)
3/22/07 11:28 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I think you are gong to make Diane herself jealous with these dresses...
3/23/07 1:00 AM
Elona said...
It looks perfect, just perfect!
3/23/07 1:14 AM
regine said...
You should do full time modelling, everything looks so good on you.
3/23/07 2:24 AM
MissCelie said...
Girl. I'm trying not to hate. But it is again, perfect.
3/23/07 7:57 AM
Zaneta said...
this is hot! Gorgeous..
3/23/07 9:19 AM
snowey said...
Girrrl, you should be on PROJECT RUNWAY
3/23/07 10:49 AM
ChristineX said...
Holy moly, that is one smokin' dress. That would stop Furstenberg in her tracks! Beautiful!
3/23/07 12:52 PM
kmouse said...
I can't tell you how impressed I am with your garments. You have fit and style absolutely conquered! They are all flattering, stylish and never overdone. And the review was great too!
3/23/07 1:58 PM
SarahWeb said...
Don't stop, Erica. Your reviews and pics are inspiring. This latest dress is TDF.
3/24/07 9:29 AM
cindy-lou said...
You're an inspiration. As always. Please audition for Season 4 of Project Runway-- they're interviewing soon!
3/25/07 12:41 PM
RobinE said...
The dress is fantastic. You do such beautiful work-- very inspiring!
3/25/07 5:23 PM
Amy VG said...
soooo gorgeous! totally inspiring!
6/29/07 12:08 PM
Arbicuswoo said...
Erica, I love your style and trust your opinions. We have similar measurements, so I was wondering whether you can recommend a nice wrap dress pattern for a woven. I have some fabric I need to use!
4/6/10 1:22 PM
Arbicuswoo said...
Erica, I love your style and trust your opinions. We have similar measurements, so I was wondering whether you can recommend a nice wrap dress pattern for a woven. I have some fabric I need to use!
4/6/10 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 5487

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-144

photo
by: AllNewtoMe

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now