SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8193 (Very Easy Vogue)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1033 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/07 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
I don't have a camera to show you, but the style with three quarter-length sleeves worked well for me in white cotton. I am 5'8", though with rather long arms, so carrying the drama of the sleeves was my objective after I saw this blouse worn with a full skirt for evening. I liked it so much, I made two of them!
8/30/07 3:34 PM
xela said...
Maybe a artists blouse without the sleeves. You look like you might just float away. Alas. But you did a great job and you look like enjoying yourself--which is the most important thing. Cheers
3/25/07 1:17 PM
Re Becca said...
You never know, someday taking flight might be handy! It would be a neat top with that fullness cut in half. Thanks for you review!
3/9/07 1:23 PM
cecelia said...
fuzzygalore--I agree the shorter sleeves might work. I actually like this top in a different version on Andread.
3/8/07 2:15 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, 9" shorter and you still have your full sleeves. Yes, you can still wear your top!
3/8/07 5:49 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Actually I like the sleeves, but I think it's this longer version that doesn't work... It ends up loking unbalanced. Compare with andread's version, that's the main difference, and hers just looks poofy as a whole, which is fine. In the longer version, the poofs look a bit like growths :-). Why don't you try pinning up the excess and seeing whether you like it? Of course a wild print would also help distract the eye from the sleeves :-). But I think that another problem is that all the recommended fabrics are very crisp, which makes sense for such volume, and your softer fabric just collapses. Mm.. this would be perfect for one of those super-crisp quilting batiks...
3/8/07 3:14 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I appreciate your review, what a shame it didn't work out after all your effort.
3/8/07 2:13 AM
krystalkaes said...
Neat top. I like it.
3/8/07 0:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, puffy sleeves or not, you did a great job sewing it. I can't believe you cut off NINE inches. :o))) And I love that fabric, too. Maybe the puffier the sleeve, the more poetic/artistic, huh? Thanks for the review!
3/7/07 7:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Indygo Junction IJ711

photo
by: TammyAnn

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now