SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8193 (Very Easy Vogue)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1032 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/07 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, puffy sleeves or not, you did a great job sewing it. I can't believe you cut off NINE inches. :o))) And I love that fabric, too. Maybe the puffier the sleeve, the more poetic/artistic, huh? Thanks for the review!
3/7/07 7:54 PM
krystalkaes said...
Neat top. I like it.
3/8/07 0:22 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I appreciate your review, what a shame it didn't work out after all your effort.
3/8/07 2:13 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Actually I like the sleeves, but I think it's this longer version that doesn't work... It ends up loking unbalanced. Compare with andread's version, that's the main difference, and hers just looks poofy as a whole, which is fine. In the longer version, the poofs look a bit like growths :-). Why don't you try pinning up the excess and seeing whether you like it? Of course a wild print would also help distract the eye from the sleeves :-). But I think that another problem is that all the recommended fabrics are very crisp, which makes sense for such volume, and your softer fabric just collapses. Mm.. this would be perfect for one of those super-crisp quilting batiks...
3/8/07 3:14 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, 9" shorter and you still have your full sleeves. Yes, you can still wear your top!
3/8/07 5:49 AM
cecelia said...
fuzzygalore--I agree the shorter sleeves might work. I actually like this top in a different version on Andread.
3/8/07 2:15 PM
Re Becca said...
You never know, someday taking flight might be handy! It would be a neat top with that fullness cut in half. Thanks for you review!
3/9/07 1:23 PM
xela said...
Maybe a artists blouse without the sleeves. You look like you might just float away. Alas. But you did a great job and you look like enjoying yourself--which is the most important thing. Cheers
3/25/07 1:17 PM
inkstain said...
I don't have a camera to show you, but the style with three quarter-length sleeves worked well for me in white cotton. I am 5'8", though with rather long arms, so carrying the drama of the sleeves was my objective after I saw this blouse worn with a full skirt for evening. I liked it so much, I made two of them!
8/30/07 3:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Self Drafted Pattern 73986-1003

photo
by: Silknmore

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now