SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8193 (Very Easy Vogue)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1033 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/07 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said... (8/30/07 3:34 PM) Reply
I don't have a camera to show you, but the style with three quarter-length sleeves worked well for me in white cotton. I am 5'8", though with rather long arms, so carrying the drama of the sleeves was my objective after I saw this blouse worn with a full skirt for evening. I liked it so much, I made two of them!
xela said... (3/25/07 1:17 PM) Reply
Maybe a artists blouse without the sleeves. You look like you might just float away. Alas. But you did a great job and you look like enjoying yourself--which is the most important thing. Cheers
Re Becca said... (3/9/07 1:23 PM) Reply
You never know, someday taking flight might be handy! It would be a neat top with that fullness cut in half. Thanks for you review!
cecelia said... (3/8/07 2:15 PM) Reply
fuzzygalore--I agree the shorter sleeves might work. I actually like this top in a different version on Andread.
AnneM said... (3/8/07 5:49 AM) Reply
Wow, 9" shorter and you still have your full sleeves. Yes, you can still wear your top!
fuzzygalore said... (3/8/07 3:14 AM) Reply
Actually I like the sleeves, but I think it's this longer version that doesn't work... It ends up loking unbalanced. Compare with andread's version, that's the main difference, and hers just looks poofy as a whole, which is fine. In the longer version, the poofs look a bit like growths :-). Why don't you try pinning up the excess and seeing whether you like it? Of course a wild print would also help distract the eye from the sleeves :-). But I think that another problem is that all the recommended fabrics are very crisp, which makes sense for such volume, and your softer fabric just collapses. Mm.. this would be perfect for one of those super-crisp quilting batiks...
Helen near Sydney said... (3/8/07 2:13 AM) Reply
I appreciate your review, what a shame it didn't work out after all your effort.
krystalkaes said... (3/8/07 0:22 AM) Reply
Neat top. I like it.
Annette1 said... (3/7/07 7:54 PM) Reply
Well, puffy sleeves or not, you did a great job sewing it. I can't believe you cut off NINE inches. :o))) And I love that fabric, too. Maybe the puffier the sleeve, the more poetic/artistic, huh? Thanks for the review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

New Look 6802

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Simplicity 3745

photo
by: geraldine

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Pattern Details