SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3378 (Tops)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1343 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/07 1:29 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Don't give up! The print top looks good on you (so does the green, actually), and no, you don't look as though you're trying to pass for a kid. I think some of your excellent alterations might have been inspired by Sherrill, who felt that teenage boys didn't need to be looking at their teacher's cleavage!
3/9/07 2:28 AM
Annette1 said...
Yes, that must be her, because I remember her saying something about that in her review. :o)
3/9/07 2:57 AM
Annette1 said...

3/9/07 3:22 AM
Annette1 said...

3/9/07 4:12 AM
moss said...
girl stop! Both those tops look HAWT on you and keep going with the fabric experimentation. I like the print one on you a lot, it looks great. *Waves wand* I hereby give you permission to buy that fabric on ffc.com :) As long as you post a picture, cos I know it will be looking FOXY!!
3/9/07 8:31 AM
christine A said...
Annette- I really enjoy your reviews because you are about the same size as me! I am not as proficient as you so I do enjoy seeing what you make! I have had disaster with this style but I do love it and the empire style. I like the print top!
3/9/07 9:10 AM
cecelia said...
I really like the print top. It fits you well, and isn't too low. I'll have to check out those changes so I can make mine with the higher top. Thanks.
3/9/07 9:13 AM
Mini said...
I like the print top too, and you can always wear these with a camisole to fill in the neck if needed. It's funny about close fitted tee shirts. I have a similar figure, and always feel kind of sleazy in a fitted tee in a light solid color, yet in a print the sleaze goes away and a close fit just looks flattering. The right fabric makes all the difference:).
3/9/07 9:53 AM
SarahWeb said...
Annette, I love your top. I know how you feel about maybe trying to look too young. I am 49 and sometimes think that way. But the TRUTH is, you look beautiful. Period. I know it sounds trite, but we ladies of a not-so-tender age have our own kind of beauty and class. Enjoy your top, and the others you will make!
3/9/07 10:30 AM
khurtdvm said...
I love that print!
3/9/07 11:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Moss: YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! Now I have permission to buy my dark taupe wool doubleknit. I'd better get myself a magic wand, too. (Notice I said MY doubleknit.) And, Mini, I think you're exactly right: It needs to be some sort of anti-sleeze print. :o) Or maybe that DARK TAUPE WOOL DOUBLEKNIT. Sarah: Whaddaya' mean, "not-so-tender age"?>:o) Heh-heh-heh. And who you calling a lady? Thanks everybody. I feel much better now. Your comments and a little sleep seem to have done the trick!
3/9/07 12:05 PM
Levone said...
I think both of your versions look great on you! It's time for me to complete my top that's been cut out for months now.
3/9/07 3:23 PM
Annette1 said...
Levone: You sound like me. Boy, if I don't sew it up RIGHT OFF ... then it may NEVER get done. :o) Right now I've got a pair of pants linings cut out, and I need to do the pants next, but in the meantime, I ordered some wide-wale corduroy to make a spring jacket (lined in flannel), and I'm afraid if I don't do THAT right off, then it'll get too warm to wear it. So many big ideas, so little time. :o) Thanks!
3/9/07 4:21 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top Annette1 and a very timely review-I bought this pattern on Thursday!
3/9/07 4:40 PM
Annette1 said...
That proves it then, Schnauzer: Great minds think alike! I can't wait to see yours. :o)
3/9/07 4:47 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You look great in this style. The print one seems to fit better though. But it could just be the print.
3/9/07 5:36 PM
SheriF said...
Annette1, you must have the same condition I have - I call it reverse anorexia. I think I look great in the mirror, and then I see a pic and wonder who the hell that gal is! Both tops look great, and you have inspired me to try this pattern. I think I have purchased every twist top pattern except this one. Can't wait to see the taupe.
3/9/07 7:24 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I too have a top like your green one that needs constant fiddling. The second one I made was a better fit, but a different knit. I like this top and I think my third one will be a charm. I think you got this one tamed and like the look of the print one on you.
3/10/07 7:03 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great top! Love the color and style on you!
3/10/07 8:23 AM
SimsSews said...
You did soo good, perfect fit and perfectly beautiful fabric. Knowledge is power, if I were you, I'd go get that other fabric, and a couple more too. BTW your 48 not 88, in your pictures you look like you may have hit 30! I bet Sherrill would be very proud.
3/10/07 9:09 AM
Larkin said...
Great review. Great top! We're in the same place age and DD-wise. You've give great insight! Thanks.
3/10/07 1:44 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. Thanks for the thorough review.
3/10/07 2:23 PM
sarahb said...
that top looks great on you, fun, fashionable and not too young--and it is just as flattering on a full figure as on someone "skinny"!!
3/11/07 4:28 PM
AnneM said...
Great top on your top; I really like the higher neckline. I think it looks great exactly as you have it, and I just love that fabric. Wear your top with pride and confidence.
3/11/07 9:21 PM
threadneedle said...
Annette, thanks so much for the photo of the front piece alteration you did. It makes so much difference to see it rather than to try to imagine it.
6/17/07 1:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now