Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4698 thumbsup - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1220 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/07 10:18 AM
Last Updated:3/10/07 10:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuliaS said...
This looks so cute and will really pull together a casual outfit! I am no fitting expert, but I would agree that the creases at the waist look like you need more room through the hip. The ones at the back of the armhole look like it might be too wide through the back and your arm/shoulder are smooshing the back in?
3/10/07 10:28 AM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooooh, great jacket! Your tailoring is beautiful.
3/10/07 10:33 AM
Soliel said...
Cute! It's still good to "Recommend" a pattern if it's OOP. Many have already have it and not have sewn it yet and/or you can buy it or find it on Ebay.
3/10/07 10:56 AM
suzanrossi said...
Very nice! I'd like to know about the fitting issues in the back too. Wrinkles are supposed to point to the seam that needs adjusting, right? It seems to point to the back armhole but, goodness, what do you do then? Let's see what others have to say. This looks beautiful anyway on you.
3/10/07 11:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done, cakehole. As for the wrinkles, I think some of them are caused by the armhole needing to be lowered. You could also try bigger shoulder pads to see if that helps.
3/10/07 11:26 AM
MarthaMcKeon said...
very nice work - have you tried using a shoulder pad or thicker pad for those problems you're having with the back wrinkles?
3/10/07 11:46 AM
Dee2 said...
Very nice jacket & good use of your black linen. Makes a great wearable muslin.
3/10/07 12:07 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Pretty jacket and it looks good on you.
3/10/07 1:08 PM
Annette1 said...
I believe I have this pattern, and you've inspired me to drag it out and take another look. I LOVE yours, everything about it: the fix, the length, the fabric, everything. Very helpful review!
3/10/07 1:15 PM
Linda G said...
I think you wrinkles in the upper back are because you need to do an adjustment for a slightly round upper back...this is a very common adjustment need for even very young people...especially if you are at a computer or a sewing machine a lot...using FFRP book to help you with that...I do not think it is the armhole.
3/10/07 1:20 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely jacket. Thanks for the great review
3/10/07 1:58 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think you need the length in the upper back, but not the lower back. A swayback adjustment just above the waist would remove fullness in the hollow of your back and raise the hip fullness in back a little. A great-looking jacket, though. Makes me wish I had bought more of that stretch linen I found... Thanks for the review.
3/10/07 2:32 PM
cda said...
Looks absolutely amazing!! I would guess that the wrinkles in the back are due to narrow shoulders, narrow back. I highly recommend doing a fitting shell pattern (like McCall's 3740 or Vogue 1003, 1004). They will teach you more than you ever wanted to know about your body shape. Just keep track of all alterations you make to it—those are the same alterations you'll make to fashion patterns.
3/10/07 2:38 PM
mochalover said...
I agree great jacket. I definitely agree with Annette1 I have this same pattern I am going to pull it out and try it too. You have inspired me!
3/10/07 3:24 PM
Re Becca said...
Very cute! and nice for any time of year. I have a Vogue designer pattern that has the seperate collar on the jacket piece that I am sure I paid a lot more for than you paid for this, and I hope mine turns out half a good. I think that they do it seperately so that it will curve around better. As for the underarm wrinkles, you may try pinning them out and seeing how well you can move your arms without that extra room. I remember making long-sleeved wedding dresses and taking out that extra fabric only to addit back in so that they could raise their arms. As for the diagonal line, try taking a little off the top of the back shoulder seam. PERSONALLY, I think it looks fabulous.
3/10/07 4:11 PM
gabrielle said...
I think it looks great, and I regret I've procrastinated so long buying this pattern. I hope I can still find a copy. Re: fit issues, it looks to my novice eyes like you might need a little more room in the hips. The linen might also be hanging up a bit on your jeans, too--I notice it's not hanging quite straight in back, so maybe the fabric is catching and bunching a bit?
3/10/07 5:33 PM
Karen8320 said...
Cakehole, you've done a great job with this pattern and it looks terrific from the front. Thanks to your review and the suggestions of others, I continue to learn more about fitting and the entire tailoring process. Once you have your fitting issues sorted out, I can see this will look gorgeous on you.
3/11/07 4:01 AM
Jane S said...
Your jacket looks lovely and your next one will be even better. This pattern is a real winner for me, too, and I think the bust cup sizing choices would have kept it as a standard in the catalog.
3/11/07 8:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love tis jacket pattern, but hate that back half lining piece. I think JuliaS is correct in both counts, since the wrinkling is more to the hip back instead of the center then it is probably a need for more hip room as it is normally for me also. You may need to do an upper narrow back adjustment at the armhole, best explained in the Fit For Real People book. You can also add shoulder pad and that would help pull it up but may affect the front. Lovely job on the jacket. I think it makes a great statement for casual look!
3/11/07 8:11 AM
patsijean said...
Your garment has bias fold wrinkles at shoulder, back waist, and to some extent, front waist. These bias fold wrinkles indicate that the garment is too long and too wide in those areas, and that your shoulders are slightly sloping. The easiest way to fix this is to trace your patterns on another sheet of paper. Draw a new, lower shoulder line to take up the shoulder seam, tapering back to the original seamline at the neck. Pinch up the shoulders to give yourself an idea about how much to take off and then take off a bit less. Place the original pattern on top matching the shoulder/armhole seam line only by sticking a pin in that point, then pivot the pattern to meet the side seam and draw in the new armhole seam. (For a princess seam garment you will have to have both pieces of new and original patterns pinned together at the armhole about 1 inch down.) Cut a muslin of the back and front pieces, machine baste and try on. You may not have to adjust the front shoulder. The waist bias folds may indicate a need to taper the waistline returning to the orginal back length (don't over fit). Take advantage of the fact that you can slash and taper both back pieces, but only the side front pattern piece if necessary. Make a new muslin out of cheap fabric and see how that goes. It is hard to tell if your shoulder seam is right at your shoulder joint, but I think it is. You are correct that you will need to make some width adjustments in the back below the waist. I would determine the amount you wish to add and then divide by 6 and add this amount to each seam or cut the second muslin above with extra wide seam allowances so that you can release the seams and spread--then transfer the adjustments to your new pattern. This is a simplified description of the adjustments you might need to make. I found this information in the "Sew Fit Manual" by Ruth Oblander and Joan Anderson. My copy dates from 1993 and may be out of print, but is still available at Amazon.com --I just checked and I wish mine had a spiral binding. This won't take as much time as it sounds, and you will have a great TNT pattern when you are done. Don't forget to check the flat pattern measurements and compare to yours before you start. Don't ask me how I know this.
3/11/07 3:21 PM
cakehole said...
Thank you all very much for your very kind and helpful comments!
3/12/07 10:25 AM
LiZ said...
Great jacket, it is good that you were able to make it out of something that didn't work for you.
3/12/07 4:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Great jacket. I don't have anything to add regarding the back issues. I think they've been pretty well covered. But, I think you did a great job and you're right, it looks wonderful from the front.
4/20/07 7:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4384 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 10/24/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3097 Sweatshirt
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us