SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7468 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1606 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/03 9:27 PM
Last Updated:1/4/03 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nikki, you have to change your profile - you're not a beginner! The pants look fabulous. This is one of my favorite patterns, and I have made it several times now. -Ann
1/4/03 9:36 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow Nikki! Your pants look wonderful. I agree, you need to change your rating. :-)
1/4/03 9:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Oops, I meant change your profile.
1/4/03 9:46 PM
Gloria Allender said...
Nikki, I am impressed with your efforts. And I agree, you should change your profile. You are definitely not a beginner if you made these pants.
1/4/03 9:48 PM
Ann B. said...
These are beautiful pants Nikki. The fit and construction are both so perfect.
1/4/03 10:16 PM
said...
Awesome pants! Another gotta-have-it pattern. Definitely not beginner sewing, Nikki! They look just perfect.
1/4/03 10:23 PM
Lisa Laree said...
As I was reading this, I thought "This is great! She needs to upgrade her sewing level!" I see I'm not the only one with this opinion...it looks like it's unanimous! Excellent review, BTW; these pants are in my 'to try' stack...gotta get to them...
1/4/03 10:58 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks for the compliments, everyone. :) I actually had a specific project in mind as the 'threshold' between beginner and intermediate - one of the other CS patterns, the coat. It is hopefully on the schedule for this winter, as I have finally assembled all of the needed bits and pieces.
1/5/03 0:59 AM
Lori V said...
What great pants - you did a fantastic job. I am so impressed
1/5/03 1:23 AM
mjl said...
Do you think one could make flat front pants using this pattern? I like the straight legs and waistband, front fly treatment of this pattern. Besides leaving out the darts, what other adjustments would one need to make. BTW the pants look great. Nice job!
1/5/03 1:40 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Gorgeous, Nikki --simply beautiful fit, fabric and sewing. Congrats, you must be very proud of these pants, they will last you many years.
1/5/03 1:41 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Nikki, your pants look beautiful and thank you for writing such a helpful review.
1/5/03 1:54 AM
Deepika said...
oh my god Nikki! those pants are just too good. And I agree with others, you must edit your profile and change your sewing level. No way can you call yourself a beginner. I know it's hard to step up cause I must have thought for a long time before I finally took the plunge and changed my sewing level to intermediate. You however should change it to advanced. Ok I think I should stop now... this is getting way too long ;-)
1/5/03 2:18 AM
starlene said...
Great job Nikki!
1/5/03 3:07 AM
Dale C said...
WOnderful review, beautiful pants. Definitely not done by a beginner :) This is a great pattern with those couture techniques. I have it and want to get to it soon, especially after seeing the reviews by you and Ann. Can hardly wait till I can work on mine!
1/5/03 5:49 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Great review Nikki. Love your pants fabric and they fit great. Heck, anyone who sews with couture techniques is advanced in my opinion! ;-)
1/5/03 10:18 AM
Linda E. said...
WOW beautiful pants you are a brave soul to attempt these. I think I must have this pattern but I have to wait to sew them I am losing weight and want them when i reach my goal.
1/5/03 10:41 AM
Diane E said...
Nikki, your pants are beautiful and the review extremely helpful and thorough. The waistband and fly look like something you would find on fine couture house pants! Thank you for taking the time to describe your methods and what you liked and didn't like about the pattern. I am in awe of the perseverance it took to stay with this project for a week, a few hours at a time. What a great way to approach a daunting project.
1/5/03 2:13 PM
artistwhosews said...
Great job Nikki! If you do the CS coat (pinkish plaid one), CS said at her workshop that the back pieces' grainline needs to be changed to the straight of grain running in the middle of pattern from neck to hem (vs. straight of grain parallel to the CB seam). This prevents the coat from drooping at the side seams.
1/5/03 2:21 PM
Charee M. said...
Nikki, the pants look great! The style reminds me of Katherine Hepburn's pants in Philidelphia Story. I have been looking for a pattern to make them. Thanks for the through review.
1/5/03 2:53 PM
Teri said...
Nikki, I don't think you need to wait for the coat to change your profile. Your pants are beautiful and I am very, very impressed!
1/5/03 5:30 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Absolutely spectacular! These pants are a very impressive effort, and the fit looks wonderful! I agree with the others, you are way past being a beginner.
1/5/03 5:34 PM
susanbb said...
Nikki, as everyone else agrees, this is great. I just wanted to add that I admire the effort that went into this and that you are selecting challenging pieces that make/help you grow. Congratulations on a job incredibly well done!
1/5/03 10:51 PM
Nikki said...
Marcie, I don't know how to alter the pleats to a flat front myself - but I bet you could just use the waistband and fly methods on a different pattern that has the look that you want otherwise. Thanks for the tip about the coat Hellenne!
1/5/03 11:00 PM
Barbara V said...
Nikki, I enjoyed seeing your fine sewing skills in constructing these pants and reading about the couture methods that you used. Have you started the CS coat yet? I'm curious because I have this pattern (7539) and recently bought wool at Britex Fabric, San Francisco and have ordered Bemberg lining as well as hair canvas for this project. I noticed that Hellenne Vermillion made comment about a tip regarding laying out the back piece on the grain which came from a Claire Shaeffer workshop. I wonder if there are other tips that you, Hellenne or anyone else can share regarding this pattern. Again, congratuations on your pants!
1/24/03 1:41 PM
Nikki said...
Barbara, the coat is on my to-do shortlist, but I haven't started yet - I've had some silk/wool tweed blend for about a year now - I might start working on it in the next two weeks, tho! I suppose I ought to make a muslin before chopping up my fabric.
1/24/03 2:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-113

photo
by: Janiki

Review