SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6538 (Misses Coat, Jacket and Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 922 times 
Reviewed by:MichelleE
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MichelleEstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/7/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/07 6:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
This coat is beautiful! I would love to own and wear it. In fact, I'm going to get this pattern.
10/14/08 1:06 PM
MichelleE said...
Thanks for the comments. I should take a picture of it on me, but it's been 80 degrees this week! The hem actually looked more defined without the lining - the fabric was a real pain. I've made a lot of clothing and this is one of the few that feels homemade - not a bad record!
3/14/07 10:38 AM
Ciclista said...
Michelle - I too think the jacket looks great although I understand you probably don't like the effect that adding a lining caused on the sleeve and bottom hems. Your work looks great - I think a better fabric that didn't require the lining would have really made the difference for you. Find some great fabric and make another one and you will stun the morning coffee drinkers with your great jacket.
3/13/07 12:05 PM
cecelia said...
I was surprised to hear you think it looks homemade. When I first saw the photo, I thought it was very pretty, but only you know how it really looks. Boucle is very hard to work with for me too--one project unraveled faster than I could sew it!
3/13/07 11:43 AM
Karine said...
Michelle, too bad you were disappointed with the pattern. But I have to tell you, the photo of your jacket looks beautiful!
3/13/07 8:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I do not think this looks "homemade", but has a very boutique look to it! The fringe makes it looks so stylish IMO, and the color is fab.
3/13/07 7:14 AM
LauraTS said...
I love the color, and agree that it looks great in the photo (but how you like it is most important). Thanks for your review. I have made the non-fringed view, and have the fringed view planned with some tweed, and I also plan to line it, as you did.
3/13/07 1:16 AM
carolynw said...
I did a double take at "did not work for me". From the photo I thought what an absolutely beautiful jacket and this is for a pattern Ihave been thinking of. The color is beautiful and am sorry it didn't work out the wayyou wanted - maybe if you "re-visit" in time you will change your mind - it's way too pretty to be left to hang
3/12/07 11:11 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I also think that it looks super on the dress form. I would love to see it on you.
3/12/07 8:27 PM
Annette1 said...
I agree! As I was reading through the review, I was thinking how NICE it looked. I especially like seeing these types of garments that have some unique details actually made up, as opposed to just pictured on the pattern, where you don't know what alterations the've made, how they pinned them up to hold in place, etc. Yours looks just great. Only you will think it looks homemade. :o) Everybody else will just see that beautiful red color and the beautiful YOU in it. :o)
3/12/07 8:06 PM
Karen8320 said...
Michelle, this looks absolutely stunning to me and not at all 'homemade'. I have noticed this pattern and had wondered how it would sew up. Good thinking to include a lining. I'm sure you'll get some wear from it. The colour is gorgeous.
3/12/07 7:32 PM
cindy-lou said...
This review is so timely for me b/c I have this pattern stashed and was just thinking of sewing it up for next fall. Do you have any pics of you wearing this jacket? I think it looks DYNAMITE on the dressform, and not at ALL happy-hands-at-home-ish. It's really hip and beautiful! Looks like it's from a cute upscale boutique somewhere.
3/12/07 6:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now