Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6538 (Misses Coat, Jacket and Vest) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 917 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MichelleE
photo
Friend of PR
About MichelleEstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/7/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/07 6:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
This review is so timely for me b/c I have this pattern stashed and was just thinking of sewing it up for next fall. Do you have any pics of you wearing this jacket? I think it looks DYNAMITE on the dressform, and not at ALL happy-hands-at-home-ish. It's really hip and beautiful! Looks like it's from a cute upscale boutique somewhere.
3/12/07 6:24 PM
Karen8320 said...
Michelle, this looks absolutely stunning to me and not at all 'homemade'. I have noticed this pattern and had wondered how it would sew up. Good thinking to include a lining. I'm sure you'll get some wear from it. The colour is gorgeous.
3/12/07 7:32 PM
Annette1 said...
I agree! As I was reading through the review, I was thinking how NICE it looked. I especially like seeing these types of garments that have some unique details actually made up, as opposed to just pictured on the pattern, where you don't know what alterations the've made, how they pinned them up to hold in place, etc. Yours looks just great. Only you will think it looks homemade. :o) Everybody else will just see that beautiful red color and the beautiful YOU in it. :o)
3/12/07 8:06 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I also think that it looks super on the dress form. I would love to see it on you.
3/12/07 8:27 PM
carolynw said...
I did a double take at "did not work for me". From the photo I thought what an absolutely beautiful jacket and this is for a pattern Ihave been thinking of. The color is beautiful and am sorry it didn't work out the wayyou wanted - maybe if you "re-visit" in time you will change your mind - it's way too pretty to be left to hang
3/12/07 11:11 PM
LauraTS said...
I love the color, and agree that it looks great in the photo (but how you like it is most important). Thanks for your review. I have made the non-fringed view, and have the fringed view planned with some tweed, and I also plan to line it, as you did.
3/13/07 1:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I do not think this looks "homemade", but has a very boutique look to it! The fringe makes it looks so stylish IMO, and the color is fab.
3/13/07 7:14 AM
Karine said...
Michelle, too bad you were disappointed with the pattern. But I have to tell you, the photo of your jacket looks beautiful!
3/13/07 8:36 AM
cecelia said...
I was surprised to hear you think it looks homemade. When I first saw the photo, I thought it was very pretty, but only you know how it really looks. Boucle is very hard to work with for me too--one project unraveled faster than I could sew it!
3/13/07 11:43 AM
Ciclista said...
Michelle - I too think the jacket looks great although I understand you probably don't like the effect that adding a lining caused on the sleeve and bottom hems. Your work looks great - I think a better fabric that didn't require the lining would have really made the difference for you. Find some great fabric and make another one and you will stun the morning coffee drinkers with your great jacket.
3/13/07 12:05 PM
MichelleE said...
Thanks for the comments. I should take a picture of it on me, but it's been 80 degrees this week! The hem actually looked more defined without the lining - the fabric was a real pain. I've made a lot of clothing and this is one of the few that feels homemade - not a bad record!
3/14/07 10:38 AM
Karendee said...
This coat is beautiful! I would love to own and wear it. In fact, I'm going to get this pattern.
10/14/08 1:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7997 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mimi g. on 2/11/14
Read Review

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Manequim 04-2012-2211 Skirt (Saia)
photo
Review by Kathhhhhy on 11/19/13
Read Review

Jalie 2787 Pattern
Jalie 2787 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )
McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us