SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2007-13 (Flared Wave Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2000 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/07 8:19 PM
Last Updated:3/13/07 10:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 47 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ingiepops said...
Wow, you finished this quickly! I only got my magazine last week! Thanks for the thorough instructions, I was thinking of sewing up the other skirt but they also recommend a petersham waist which I was a bit dubious about; think I'll avoid it. Thanks for a great review.
3/12/07 8:48 PM
Linda G said...
That is beautiful...and a great review.
3/12/07 8:54 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful skirt. The ribbon trim gives a nice touch
3/12/07 9:44 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the very helpful review, Belinda. Your skirt is so very pretty and it looks terrific on you.
3/12/07 10:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Boy, I really like your reviews. They're very thorough. I also appreciate the tips (and opinions) about the petersham waistband, too. I've seen a couple patterns that have called for this, but have never actually it. I may not now -- ha! The ribbin trim you added really emphasizes the design lines, which makes it very flattering, too. You look maaaaaaaaaaavelous! :o)
3/12/07 10:11 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Love the review! I just got the first issue of Woman's Ottobre and look forward to making up their patterns. You did a great job with this one. Looks great on you.
3/12/07 10:25 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Really nice Belinda!
3/12/07 10:48 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous skirt and great review. Thanks for sharing
3/12/07 11:40 PM
cindy-lou said...
Belinda, the skirt is a definite winner and still would be with a different waistband. The fabric and the flounce totally make the look. Very professional looking!
3/12/07 11:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Belinda !!! I love how you have interpretted this design and made it super stylish with fabric choice and trim.
3/13/07 2:12 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Beau-ti-ful!!!!! Thanks for this very detailed review!! Can't want to get started on my skirt ;-)
3/13/07 3:21 AM
Tany said...
Wow, you did a great job!!
3/13/07 4:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very figure flattering skirt!
3/13/07 6:59 AM
MissCelie said...
I love it! It wlooks wonderful on you.
3/13/07 7:26 AM
Mel.J said...
This looks great Belinda! Love the fabric, it works perfectly. :)
3/13/07 7:43 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful skirt Belinda!
3/13/07 9:02 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Your version looks great! The version is the magazine is BLAH!.
3/13/07 9:29 AM
pterion said...
A fabulous looking skirt and a great review. Thanks for all the helpful tips - I have another skirt pattern from this issue in the works and you have me rethinking the petersham waist treatment.
3/13/07 9:39 AM
Sigrid. said...
This is a stunning skirt, looks wonderful on you. I saw the ottobre in a shop the other day and did not buy it because I thought nothing was really interesting. The look of your skirt makes me change my mind. Must have been not so attractive in the magazine!
3/13/07 9:46 AM
maybbm said...
Great review! When I saw the Ottobre version, I was not that impressed with this skirt. However, yours does!
3/13/07 10:28 AM
Gold said...
Nice skirt and it fits well to. Good job.
3/13/07 10:32 AM
KarenP said...
Wow, what a helpful review! I am definitely bookmarking this one for when I get around to making this skirt. Yours is beautiful.
3/13/07 12:49 PM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful!!! I love the fabric you chose and the trim! I'm so glad you did a review! I'm planning on making this sometime this week. Although after seeing yours, I'm wondering if I've picked the right fabrics.
3/13/07 1:09 PM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous skirt--and thanks for all the detail in your review. You saved my expensive linen!
3/13/07 4:18 PM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for a well detailed review. I enjoyed reading it. I like your skirt it looks good on you. Also thanks for the information on shaping a petersham ribbon.
3/13/07 5:18 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Thanks for reporting back. I now think I might give a petersham waist a go, too.
3/13/07 10:53 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks for the update!!! I knew there was a few but alot of colors...wow!!!!
3/13/07 11:17 PM
Karen8320 said...
Belinda, I love this! The design is just fabulous and so different and much more stylish than anything I'm seeing in Australian shops at the moment. The fabric looks fantastic and suits the design really well. I also have a problem with skirt lining patterns that are cut straight when the skirt itself isn't straight. Thanks for the tip about cutting the lining from the skirt pattern. You've done another great job with this garment!
3/13/07 11:24 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my gosh! I love this! I have that issue, and thought the skirt was o.k.--but after seeing yours, now I really want to make it! Thanks for such a great review! I've never done a petersham waistband before, so I wouldn't mind seeing a pictures of yours if you get a chance! Great review!
3/13/07 11:27 PM
Zaneta said...
You look oooh la la in this skirt! This is a really flattering and beautifully made skirt..GREY is so in this season!!
3/14/07 5:24 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty skirt!!
3/14/07 9:20 AM
Judy Wentz said...
I love this skirt. You are a pro!!!
3/14/07 9:54 AM
Annika said...
Fantastic! I was eyeing this pattern in Ottobre just last night...love your version of it.
3/14/07 4:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely skirt Belinda!
3/14/07 11:23 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful skirt, what a great combination of fabric, pattern, and trim. I'd read here before that there are different types of petersham; of course the good stuff is harder to find!
3/20/07 8:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Belinda your skirt is stunning! I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of it - I LOVE it!!! :-)
3/20/07 6:20 PM
megbud3000 said...
I like this a lot more than the version in the magazine. Well done.
3/24/07 11:12 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely skirt, your version looks so much better than the magazine picture.
3/25/07 3:46 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the tip on the petersham, I wouldn't have dreamed of pre-shrinking it.
11/18/07 10:37 PM
Matilda_z said...
What a great review! Thank you for being so thorough, and for all the tips and photos. Looks wonderful on you!
5/5/08 8:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

PatternCompany.de 01-611

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now