SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4863 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1224 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/07 2:07 PM
Last Updated:3/13/07 2:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
I love everything about it. You would never know from the look of it that it took so much work. It's just fabulous. And I want to steal that vest. Looking forward to the review!
3/13/07 2:22 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I think that you are more than an advanced beginner. Is there a definite set of criteria to help define the label that people should be attaching to their skills? I lowered my level from intermediate to advanced beginner, but that was only because that was how I was feeling.
3/13/07 2:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still a very stunning jacket which appears nicely done! I think you should upgrade your skill level! You are definitely beyond adv beginner!
3/13/07 2:27 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, love the grey contrast. Great buttonhole tip
3/13/07 3:50 PM
blue mooney said...
pretty, pretty, pretty!
3/13/07 4:25 PM
carolynw said...
What a lovely jacket - love the fabric and the contrast!!
3/13/07 5:40 PM
Linda G said...
very nice....good review.
3/13/07 6:34 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful and stylish jacket. Love the vest and all your added extras on the jacket.
3/13/07 6:49 PM
Karen8320 said...
Markie, I too love shawl collars. I think this looks fabulous! I would never have thought to include a contrast colour, but the effect is great. I'm sure you'll receive many compliments on this outfit.
3/13/07 7:39 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I just love the contrast colors on this...very nice! Thank you for the review!
3/13/07 10:16 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty jacket.
3/13/07 11:25 PM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:38 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:46 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:46 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:47 AM
Sirrah said...
Sorry!! :(
3/14/07 0:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job, very attractive jacket.
3/14/07 5:35 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Love your review. Informative AND fun! Cute results!
3/14/07 7:43 AM
moss said...
I love that jacket and vest together, really nice. :)
3/14/07 8:24 AM
Jane S said...
Your jacket looks wonderful, terrific color combinations. I had a similar experience with a boucle fabric on the side panel for a Simplicity jacket that had the shoulde princess seam...makes me wonder if that's part of the issue also. But we get so picky when we sew for ourselves! I think it's a great result that you'll love wearing.
3/14/07 9:10 AM
Irene Q said...
Great job - love the whole outfit! In spite of your problems, I think you should definitely move up to Intermediate - beginners don't do bound buttonholes and don't change patterns this much. :-)
3/14/07 9:29 AM
Marji said...
Very nice. Has a bit of an exotic feel with the grey contrast.
3/14/07 10:43 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your combination of the jacket and vest, and you've done a great job! I have this jacket pattern, so why don't I just get busy and make me one, too, yours turned out so nicely. :o)
3/15/07 0:25 AM
SewTwin said...
Markie, when you can say better than RTW, you have suceeded on your garment in my opinon! I would have used beige as the contrast, and the gray is a much better choice. I have several boucles and will know to be careful.
3/18/07 11:47 PM
cakehole said...
OOh, that's lovely - I must look out for that pattern. And the vest is gorgeous!
3/21/07 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Nice base pattern, and you got surmounted those difficulties of your own making very nicely. (If you find cashmere for $2 a pound, let me know!!! )
3/30/07 8:37 AM
Liz29 said...
I am glad you had a good experience with this pattern I made this jackest also and had difficulty with the directions, thought they were confusing and had to use a size 10 on top and sixteen under the arm hole so I wouldn't have that large hole on the bottom on the sleeve and the huge space in the back...glad to know you had better results that I did
12/4/08 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Lutterloh 2005

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
Ageless Patterns 1066

photo
by: cowgirlbb

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now