Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4863 (Shawl Collar Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1222 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/07 2:07 PM
Last Updated:3/13/07 2:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
I love everything about it. You would never know from the look of it that it took so much work. It's just fabulous. And I want to steal that vest. Looking forward to the review!
3/13/07 2:22 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I think that you are more than an advanced beginner. Is there a definite set of criteria to help define the label that people should be attaching to their skills? I lowered my level from intermediate to advanced beginner, but that was only because that was how I was feeling.
3/13/07 2:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still a very stunning jacket which appears nicely done! I think you should upgrade your skill level! You are definitely beyond adv beginner!
3/13/07 2:27 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, love the grey contrast. Great buttonhole tip
3/13/07 3:50 PM
blue mooney said...
pretty, pretty, pretty!
3/13/07 4:25 PM
carolynw said...
What a lovely jacket - love the fabric and the contrast!!
3/13/07 5:40 PM
Linda G said...
very nice....good review.
3/13/07 6:34 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful and stylish jacket. Love the vest and all your added extras on the jacket.
3/13/07 6:49 PM
Karen8320 said...
Markie, I too love shawl collars. I think this looks fabulous! I would never have thought to include a contrast colour, but the effect is great. I'm sure you'll receive many compliments on this outfit.
3/13/07 7:39 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I just love the contrast colors on this...very nice! Thank you for the review!
3/13/07 10:16 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty jacket.
3/13/07 11:25 PM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:38 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:46 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:46 AM
Sirrah said...
I've read all your reviews and you have great ideas putting everything together and making them very dramatic and sytlish. You remind me of Markie Post on Night Court! Must be LA! :) I just moved from Dallas and found their warehouse district for fabric too and I miss it. I love the thrill of the fabric hunt. Great work!!
3/14/07 0:47 AM
Sirrah said...
Sorry!! :(
3/14/07 0:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job, very attractive jacket.
3/14/07 5:35 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Love your review. Informative AND fun! Cute results!
3/14/07 7:43 AM
moss said...
I love that jacket and vest together, really nice. :)
3/14/07 8:24 AM
Jane S said...
Your jacket looks wonderful, terrific color combinations. I had a similar experience with a boucle fabric on the side panel for a Simplicity jacket that had the shoulde princess seam...makes me wonder if that's part of the issue also. But we get so picky when we sew for ourselves! I think it's a great result that you'll love wearing.
3/14/07 9:10 AM
Irene Q said...
Great job - love the whole outfit! In spite of your problems, I think you should definitely move up to Intermediate - beginners don't do bound buttonholes and don't change patterns this much. :-)
3/14/07 9:29 AM
Marji said...
Very nice. Has a bit of an exotic feel with the grey contrast.
3/14/07 10:43 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your combination of the jacket and vest, and you've done a great job! I have this jacket pattern, so why don't I just get busy and make me one, too, yours turned out so nicely. :o)
3/15/07 0:25 AM
SewTwin said...
Markie, when you can say better than RTW, you have suceeded on your garment in my opinon! I would have used beige as the contrast, and the gray is a much better choice. I have several boucles and will know to be careful.
3/18/07 11:47 PM
cakehole said...
OOh, that's lovely - I must look out for that pattern. And the vest is gorgeous!
3/21/07 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Nice base pattern, and you got surmounted those difficulties of your own making very nicely. (If you find cashmere for $2 a pound, let me know!!! )
3/30/07 8:37 AM
Liz29 said...
I am glad you had a good experience with this pattern I made this jackest also and had difficulty with the directions, thought they were confusing and had to use a size 10 on top and sixteen under the arm hole so I wouldn't have that large hole on the bottom on the sleeve and the huge space in the back...glad to know you had better results that I did
12/4/08 10:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5466
photo
Review by Couturemum on 6/28/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-103A Circle Skirt
photo
Review by EveS on 3/8/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3334 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3334 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5869 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3-4 )
Butterick 5869 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us