SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 3000 (Pleated Pant)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1548 times 
Reviewed by:Susan Parker
photo

 
 
About Susan Parkerstar
TN
Member since: 4/14/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/03 3:06 PM
Last Updated:1/5/03 3:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tarawebster said...
Thank you so much for this faulous review. I searched for it, as Im considering making these pants as my next pair. Your review gave me some good pointers. Like many other sewers, pants fitting is a challenge for me that I am determined to conquer. I was hoping this pattern would be a good place to finally get it, even if I have to make them ten times in a row to tweak them! lol Her other pants, the Laurie Pants, that I made, fit perfectly without any alteration, however they are loose fitting elastic waist pants. Even so, the basic pant part of the Laurie pants fits my figure perfectly, so I was hoping that her sloper would translate this to her pleated pant pattern. I won't have time to work on it till early November, but will be sure to post results. I'd love to see a picture of your pants!
10/15/05 10:21 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I just pulled this up on a search as I just bought this pattern for a fitting seminar with Peggy next month. I am glad to hear this pattern worked out well for you. IS there any chance of a photo?
9/15/05 11:17 AM
Mollykat said...
Thanks for this review. I took a seminar by Peggy S. about pants fitting. Your review reminded me of her process. I have a "fitting muslin" just waiting to be fine tuned. You've inspired me to give it a try again. Thank you also for all the details - they'll help me when I start to get stuck again....
10/17/03 7:46 AM
Gigi Louis said...
A very good review - I am obsessed with pant fitting. Really, the more you do it the better it gets. :-) I'd love to see a pic of you in your new pants!
1/5/03 6:05 PM
Georgene said...
Susan , thank you for taking the time to explain your process, its very inspirational. Looking forward to seeing your pictures. Nice to know you can whip up a new pair of pants anytime now, isn't it?
1/5/03 5:17 PM
Teri said...
Susan, thanks for the good review. I have "make a pair of pants that really fit" on my list of things to do in my life ( I am not kidding) and it is still not crossed off. Maybe in 2003.....
1/5/03 5:15 PM
Susan Parker said...
Tonya, it coule be possible that if I elongated the darts it would help. However when I pinned in elongated darts they went WAY down into the pant due to the slightly too much fabric there. It's no biggie. It's an easy fix to make them little pleats anyway. They fit well otherwise! ;D
1/5/03 4:06 PM
Tonya said...
Good review - I'm in the frustration mode of pants making at this point too. Do you think the darts on the sage green pair weren't long enough, and that's why they "popped" below your stomach? Maybe they weren't taking in enough of the fabric and just needed to be lengthened. I'm glad you had such success with this pattern!
1/5/03 4:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6027

photo
by: ElizabethA...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Buy Now