Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 3000 (Pleated Pant) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1545 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Susan Parker
photo
About Susan Parkerstar
TN
Member since: 4/14/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/03 3:06 PM
Last Updated:1/5/03 3:21 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tonya said...
Good review - I'm in the frustration mode of pants making at this point too. Do you think the darts on the sage green pair weren't long enough, and that's why they "popped" below your stomach? Maybe they weren't taking in enough of the fabric and just needed to be lengthened. I'm glad you had such success with this pattern!
1/5/03 4:01 PM
Susan Parker said...
Tonya, it coule be possible that if I elongated the darts it would help. However when I pinned in elongated darts they went WAY down into the pant due to the slightly too much fabric there. It's no biggie. It's an easy fix to make them little pleats anyway. They fit well otherwise! ;D
1/5/03 4:06 PM
Teri said...
Susan, thanks for the good review. I have "make a pair of pants that really fit" on my list of things to do in my life ( I am not kidding) and it is still not crossed off. Maybe in 2003.....
1/5/03 5:15 PM
Georgene said...
Susan , thank you for taking the time to explain your process, its very inspirational. Looking forward to seeing your pictures. Nice to know you can whip up a new pair of pants anytime now, isn't it?
1/5/03 5:17 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A very good review - I am obsessed with pant fitting. Really, the more you do it the better it gets. :-) I'd love to see a pic of you in your new pants!
1/5/03 6:05 PM
Mollykat said...
Thanks for this review. I took a seminar by Peggy S. about pants fitting. Your review reminded me of her process. I have a "fitting muslin" just waiting to be fine tuned. You've inspired me to give it a try again. Thank you also for all the details - they'll help me when I start to get stuck again....
10/17/03 7:46 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I just pulled this up on a search as I just bought this pattern for a fitting seminar with Peggy next month. I am glad to hear this pattern worked out well for you. IS there any chance of a photo?
9/15/05 11:17 AM
Tarawebster said...
Thank you so much for this faulous review. I searched for it, as Im considering making these pants as my next pair. Your review gave me some good pointers. Like many other sewers, pants fitting is a challenge for me that I am determined to conquer. I was hoping this pattern would be a good place to finally get it, even if I have to make them ten times in a row to tweak them! lol Her other pants, the Laurie Pants, that I made, fit perfectly without any alteration, however they are loose fitting elastic waist pants. Even so, the basic pant part of the Laurie pants fits my figure perfectly, so I was hoping that her sloper would translate this to her pleated pant pattern. I won't have time to work on it till early November, but will be sure to post results. I'd love to see a picture of your pants!
10/15/05 10:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 1/25/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-7
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 3/31/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8998 Pattern
Burda 8998 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us