SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5205 (boatneck)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1662 times 
Reviewed by:Karen Bowers
photo

 
 
About Karen Bowersstar
Member since: 1/21/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/03 7:18 PM
Last Updated:1/9/03 6:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Karen, thank you for reviewing this pattern. It sounds like a good one! Can't wait to see the picture.
1/5/03 7:30 PM
said...
It's the first time I see a picture of this top. I looks very nice. Is it straight at the side seams or slightly curved in ? I can't wait to see the picture,too.
1/5/03 7:40 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, this top is so new that it isn't even online on Loes' website! Thanks for the review Karen. Your top sounds wonderful. Did you make the cowlneck version or the boatneck?
1/5/03 8:04 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Karen, thanks for your review. I am eagerly awaiting this pattern's arrival!
1/5/03 9:22 PM
Diane E said...
Karen, thanks for taking the time to review this pattern. I can't wait to see your picture. What is the "swayback" adjustment? Looks like I'll just have to order this pattern ;)
1/5/03 9:42 PM
Karen Bowers said...
having studied the photos of me in the top, i think i'll just go up one size, and maybe skip the swayback adjustment (diane, if you have Fit for Real People, turn to page 127 for a drawing and alteration descriptions). for my arms, this will certainly need a full arm adjustment even with going up a size, but then most people make that complaint of LH's patterns. in case there are any problems with the photo link, here is the addy again -- http://photos.yahoo.com/bc/scottsmommy/lst?.dir=/My+Photos/Sewing&.view=t
1/6/03 2:33 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks for the alteration info, Karen. I do have that book! The top looks very pretty. Love the color!
1/6/03 12:14 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Your picture has convinced me to buy this pattern. I always feel like I need to add a bust dart too. But it looks like you got a great fit without a dart. It's a very cute top in the fleece too.
1/6/03 11:45 PM
Deepika said...
Karen, how closely does the cowl neck fit?
1/10/03 0:40 AM
Karen Bowers said...
deepika, it's a pretty loose cowl -- i can stick four fingers in on each side of the neck comfortably. the cowl top has the same body as the boatneck -- it's just a cowl added to the top of the boatneck. technically the collar comes all the way up to my chin, but it cowls over before it gets there. leaves my neck all nice and wam though!
1/10/03 3:12 AM
Karen Bowers said...
the 2nd boatneck i made out of ribbing -- i'll need to add clear elastic to the neckline, so my bra straps don't show. i'm learning lots about how fabric affects a pattern. the polar fleece in a medium was too tight on some parts of me, but the other 2 tops were also mediums, and you can see in the pix that they are just right. that 200 weight polarfleece was just too thick for me in a medium.
1/10/03 3:15 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Karen, I broke down and just bought this pattern! And here I was thinking that I'll try and not buy any new patterns atleast in january. so much for the resolution ;-) I really like the funnel neck version in this pattern. Your tops are gorgeous!
1/10/03 12:20 PM
Karen Bowers said...
deepika, i agree this pattern gives all sorts of ideas. i have a ruby shag that i'm torn between this pattern and LH's twinset. and i want to try a modified cowl in polarfleece as well.
1/10/03 1:29 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Karen, I loved your photos! I am really in love with the funnel neck on this top. Also, it was fun to see the pic from the LH class. You ladies out west are so lucky!
1/11/03 11:09 AM
mudcat said...
I ordered this one a couple days ago. Heather on patternshowcase made the cowl version without sleeves which is another possiblity.
1/11/03 4:16 PM
Karen Bowers said...
one more thing about this pattern. LH doesn't mention pressing til the top is finished. i found pressing along the way, especially the shoulder dart, very important. anyone know why she wouldn't want us to press until the end?
1/11/03 4:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable burdatyle handbook blouse

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now