SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Master Pattern Book> Making Leather Handbags (Cellphone Case)

Viewed 907 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
This is so stylish and expensive looking. I never thought I could work with leather but this review inspires me to try.
3/15/07 12:20 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous! :)
3/15/07 12:29 PM
Gold said...
LOve it Love it!!
3/15/07 2:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice -- perfect match for your purse and the sling is so handy.
3/15/07 3:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Wow! That's wonderful!
3/15/07 4:51 PM
mistrydesigns said...
I have not worked with leather yet but your review is encouraging me to do it soon!
3/15/07 5:11 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Deepika -- I am soooooo tempted!
3/15/07 6:59 PM
Patzee said...
Lovely! Maybe I need to try using leather. I borrowed this book from the library, then chickened out!
3/15/07 7:31 PM
Linda G said...
Wow...that is beautiful...I have never been brave enough to sew on leather...but I do have some leftover from a reupholstery job I had done...I should at least try with some of that.
3/15/07 7:48 PM
Deepika said...
You guys, if you are afraid of sewing on leather, try something small like this cellphone holder, or an eyeglass case. That way you can play with small scraps. Thanks for such nice comments. I really do love sewing with leather. I am checking my stash for making the hobo bag from this book now. What can I say, A girl can never have enough purses ;-)
3/15/07 8:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've finally conquered fear of leather, but you've gone on to doing fabulous things with it. I need to visit Global again - when I went on PR weekend, I really didn't know what I could do. This turned out so well -- I need these books, apparently.
3/15/07 9:06 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful work!
3/16/07 5:25 AM
JDpenelope said...
Amazing and inspirational. May I ask what sewing machine you used? Were there any special settings? Your leather tips in the link are very helpful.
3/16/07 8:03 AM
Nancy K said...
Very cool. What a great idea. You made the bag too? What pattern did you use?
3/16/07 8:29 AM
fatbaby said...
I also would like to know which sewing machine you used. I have been making purses from recycled leather jackets! I use my Designer 1 (husqvarna viking) sewing machine. I embroider on them and then sew them up. I have a website if any one want to take a look see. Do you use a commercial machine? Your work is beautiful! I really enjoy this site also! Thanks so much for a very informative site. Wanda (fatbaby)
3/16/07 8:53 AM
Deepika said...
Penelope and Fatbaby I just used my regular sewing machine - Janome 4800 with 2.8 as the stitch length. Nancy The bag is Vogue 8140.
3/16/07 9:33 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
And the handbag obsession continues! You are *so* good at making these. I have that book and never would have dreamed the projects could look so good. The swivel hook and wristlet are brilliant innovations! Brava, amiga.
3/16/07 9:51 AM
OP Gal said...
Very chic! I admire your courage in sewing leather. I'm still chicken!
3/16/07 11:40 AM
Markie1 said...
Deepika--This is gorgeous. The cellphone holder adds that extra detail that all those insanely expensive purses have. As always, I am inspired to push myself again. Thanks!
3/16/07 2:16 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice! I admire anybody who tackles leather. :o)
3/16/07 9:33 PM
Leora said...
That Vogue pattern has been on my list since you wrote that review. It seemed like a good way to get into leather until you wrote THIS review! I love your clever cell phone case. Thanks for the inspiration.
3/17/07 1:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
brerrabbit.com Blackbird Designs

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now