Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Master Pattern Book: Making Leather Handbags (Cellphone Case) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 904 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 11:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
This is so stylish and expensive looking. I never thought I could work with leather but this review inspires me to try.
3/15/07 12:20 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous! :)
3/15/07 12:29 PM
Gold said...
LOve it Love it!!
3/15/07 2:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice -- perfect match for your purse and the sling is so handy.
3/15/07 3:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Wow! That's wonderful!
3/15/07 4:51 PM
mistrydesigns said...
I have not worked with leather yet but your review is encouraging me to do it soon!
3/15/07 5:11 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Deepika -- I am soooooo tempted!
3/15/07 6:59 PM
Patzee said...
Lovely! Maybe I need to try using leather. I borrowed this book from the library, then chickened out!
3/15/07 7:31 PM
Linda G said...
Wow...that is beautiful...I have never been brave enough to sew on leather...but I do have some leftover from a reupholstery job I had done...I should at least try with some of that.
3/15/07 7:48 PM
Deepika said...
You guys, if you are afraid of sewing on leather, try something small like this cellphone holder, or an eyeglass case. That way you can play with small scraps. Thanks for such nice comments. I really do love sewing with leather. I am checking my stash for making the hobo bag from this book now. What can I say, A girl can never have enough purses ;-)
3/15/07 8:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've finally conquered fear of leather, but you've gone on to doing fabulous things with it. I need to visit Global again - when I went on PR weekend, I really didn't know what I could do. This turned out so well -- I need these books, apparently.
3/15/07 9:06 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful work!
3/16/07 5:25 AM
JDpenelope said...
Amazing and inspirational. May I ask what sewing machine you used? Were there any special settings? Your leather tips in the link are very helpful.
3/16/07 8:03 AM
Nancy K said...
Very cool. What a great idea. You made the bag too? What pattern did you use?
3/16/07 8:29 AM
fatbaby said...
I also would like to know which sewing machine you used. I have been making purses from recycled leather jackets! I use my Designer 1 (husqvarna viking) sewing machine. I embroider on them and then sew them up. I have a website if any one want to take a look see. Do you use a commercial machine? Your work is beautiful! I really enjoy this site also! Thanks so much for a very informative site. Wanda (fatbaby)
3/16/07 8:53 AM
Deepika said...
Penelope and Fatbaby I just used my regular sewing machine - Janome 4800 with 2.8 as the stitch length. Nancy The bag is Vogue 8140.
3/16/07 9:33 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
And the handbag obsession continues! You are *so* good at making these. I have that book and never would have dreamed the projects could look so good. The swivel hook and wristlet are brilliant innovations! Brava, amiga.
3/16/07 9:51 AM
OP Gal said...
Very chic! I admire your courage in sewing leather. I'm still chicken!
3/16/07 11:40 AM
Markie1 said...
Deepika--This is gorgeous. The cellphone holder adds that extra detail that all those insanely expensive purses have. As always, I am inspired to push myself again. Thanks!
3/16/07 2:16 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice! I admire anybody who tackles leather. :o)
3/16/07 9:33 PM
Leora said...
That Vogue pattern has been on my list since you wrote that review. It seemed like a good way to get into leather until you wrote THIS review! I love your clever cell phone case. Thanks for the inspiration.
3/17/07 1:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us