SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1190 times 
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 5:59 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Lovely. Really lovely and professional looking. Beautiful fabric.
4/1/07 9:12 PM
Kelly D. said...
I'm with you Annette, because I don't like making my own lining pattern, even though it's not difficult. I want them to do it for me if I'm paying for the pattern!
3/17/07 12:02 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great jacket! I agree completely about the lining/interfacing, too. Used to be, I wouldn't even buy a jacket pattern if it wasn't lined. I will buy them now, but then I make a lining anyway, 9 times out of 10. I think there should be some kind of law where they HAVE to provide a lining pattern, then if we don't want to use it, we don't have to -- ha! :o)
3/16/07 9:59 PM
Ody said...
Great review and lovely jacket. I love how the buttons go with the fabric and make such a suptle statement without over powering the jacket. I love the color.
3/16/07 4:07 PM
Kelly D. said...
Ann, I haven't tried the jacket and hat on together yet, believe it or not, since I bought the fabric especially to go with the hat. Maybe I'm afraid...
3/16/07 10:45 AM
cecelia said...
A very pretty, classy jacket. Thanks for re-emphasizing interfacing behind the buttonholes, and I agree with you about lining jackets!
3/16/07 9:40 AM
Ann Smith said...
Lovely jacket Kelly. I'm sure it looks great on you. Does it go with your hat?
3/16/07 2:17 AM
carolynw said...
Your jacket is really lovely - have read a lot of pros and cons about this pattern. Your jacket makes me feel I should definitely give it a try. Beautiful job and very informative review.
3/15/07 10:38 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket - I agree with you on the lining issue as well. BTW - your buttons are perfect!
3/15/07 9:04 PM
maryfrana said...
Love this fabric. Beautiful jacket and buttons.
3/15/07 8:26 PM
Linda G said...
Very beautiful.
3/15/07 7:42 PM
Diane E said...
Kelly, I love your jacket and agree that the lining makes it very special and much more pleasant to wear. The buttons are beautiful.
3/15/07 7:39 PM
jlg said...
Gorgeous version of this jacket. Great job.
3/15/07 7:20 PM
jewelea said...
A handsome jacket and a thoughtful review. I have both the pattern and fabric designated for it; I intend to add a lining also.
3/15/07 7:13 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Lovely. I agree with your thoughts on lining - less creasing, easier to slide on and off and clean finished inside. Enjoy your jacket.
3/15/07 6:58 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Beautiful work. Great fabric choice.
3/15/07 6:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Butterick 5797

photo
by: LotusMonke...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

More Info