SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1190 times 
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 5:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Beautiful work. Great fabric choice.
3/15/07 6:49 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Lovely. I agree with your thoughts on lining - less creasing, easier to slide on and off and clean finished inside. Enjoy your jacket.
3/15/07 6:58 PM
jewelea said...
A handsome jacket and a thoughtful review. I have both the pattern and fabric designated for it; I intend to add a lining also.
3/15/07 7:13 PM
jlg said...
Gorgeous version of this jacket. Great job.
3/15/07 7:20 PM
Diane E said...
Kelly, I love your jacket and agree that the lining makes it very special and much more pleasant to wear. The buttons are beautiful.
3/15/07 7:39 PM
Linda G said...
Very beautiful.
3/15/07 7:42 PM
maryfrana said...
Love this fabric. Beautiful jacket and buttons.
3/15/07 8:26 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket - I agree with you on the lining issue as well. BTW - your buttons are perfect!
3/15/07 9:04 PM
carolynw said...
Your jacket is really lovely - have read a lot of pros and cons about this pattern. Your jacket makes me feel I should definitely give it a try. Beautiful job and very informative review.
3/15/07 10:38 PM
Ann Smith said...
Lovely jacket Kelly. I'm sure it looks great on you. Does it go with your hat?
3/16/07 2:17 AM
cecelia said...
A very pretty, classy jacket. Thanks for re-emphasizing interfacing behind the buttonholes, and I agree with you about lining jackets!
3/16/07 9:40 AM
Kelly D. said...
Ann, I haven't tried the jacket and hat on together yet, believe it or not, since I bought the fabric especially to go with the hat. Maybe I'm afraid...
3/16/07 10:45 AM
Ody said...
Great review and lovely jacket. I love how the buttons go with the fabric and make such a suptle statement without over powering the jacket. I love the color.
3/16/07 4:07 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great jacket! I agree completely about the lining/interfacing, too. Used to be, I wouldn't even buy a jacket pattern if it wasn't lined. I will buy them now, but then I make a lining anyway, 9 times out of 10. I think there should be some kind of law where they HAVE to provide a lining pattern, then if we don't want to use it, we don't have to -- ha! :o)
3/16/07 9:59 PM
Kelly D. said...
I'm with you Annette, because I don't like making my own lining pattern, even though it's not difficult. I want them to do it for me if I'm paying for the pattern!
3/17/07 12:02 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely. Really lovely and professional looking. Beautiful fabric.
4/1/07 9:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

McCall's 6331

photo
by: mskellytay...

Review
Vogue Patterns 7640

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now