Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2007-104 (Short sleeve jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1260 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/07 9:05 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I love it too! It looks very fun and very spring. I like the details like the belt carriers, and the collar/front placket. great job with some "left-over" fabric.
3/27/07 9:24 AM
madhatter said...
this jacket looks wonderful on you - it's beautifully sewn and your fabric is lovely!
3/27/07 10:10 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket!
3/27/07 10:12 AM
LauraM62 said...
Really love it! Looks so classic on you, yet so fun!
3/27/07 10:15 AM
Gold said...
Nice summer jacket and great colors.Well made. Love the clearance rack.
3/27/07 10:17 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Another great review from you! Love it!
3/27/07 10:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice spring look, and it fits you so perfectly! I love that fabric.
3/27/07 10:19 AM
nicegirl said...
I love the fabric print! Very stylish shape and polished look.
3/27/07 10:22 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I like yours better than Burda's. The buttons make it.
3/27/07 10:23 AM
Elona said...
Funny review! And a great-looking jacket.
3/27/07 10:47 AM
mochalover said...
Great jacket and I love your choice of fabric!
3/27/07 10:47 AM
sewitfitsyou said...
That is such a great look on you! Love the fabric and the styling! I'm going to have to go look at that issue again.
3/27/07 12:08 PM
QuantumLobster said...
This jacket is GORGEOUS! It looks amazing on you!!
3/27/07 12:41 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket... I love the fabric. It looks so "Spring-y"!
3/27/07 12:42 PM
Chris Kelly said...
This is so very cute on you! I love this fabric for the jacket....great idea!
3/27/07 12:45 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket could not be any cuter! I like the buttons better than snaps. Great review and great job on the jacket.
3/27/07 1:22 PM
Terri Smith said...
Adorable. Thanks so much for such a great review.
3/27/07 1:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a stunning jacket, Cidell!
3/27/07 1:58 PM
regine said...
Your jacket is beautiful, suits you very well.
3/27/07 3:16 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket is gorgeous and looks very well done! Amazing how that button thing works, huh? LOL. I like your version better than WOF's! Thanks for the review!
3/27/07 3:21 PM
Lori V said...
This jacket is so cute, it looks great on you.
3/27/07 3:31 PM
HenriettenDK said...
Love it - and you have a great smile!
3/27/07 3:54 PM
LBJ said...
You look fabulous. Very nice!
3/27/07 4:03 PM
SewAriane said...
Cute jacket! I will have to add this to my list.
3/27/07 4:53 PM
sewbehind said...
Seriously cute. I like it.
3/27/07 6:22 PM
poplin said...
Wow!
3/27/07 6:28 PM
MeganJ said...
This is wonderful! Nice fit, and very Spring.
3/27/07 6:38 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Too cute - very flattering fit! Thanks for the great review!
3/27/07 7:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Another great piece. Serious envy: is there anything that doesn't look wonderfully stylish on you?
3/27/07 7:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a great spring jacket. I didn't even notice this pattern in BWOF. I need to take a 2nd look.
3/27/07 7:54 PM
AndSewOn said...
Soooo nice!
3/27/07 11:19 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Good match with pattern and fabric!
3/28/07 0:20 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ooh! I like this one :-). Your fabric works great (you're right, crispness is a must to keep that collar up). I think the collar is meant to engulf half your face - think of the current big Wendy coat for instance, which would work well closed up in a blizzard. Maybe this one is good in case you forget your sunscreen ;-)? I don't think you should line cotton though, unless it's with organza or something really light and really crisp, I'd be afraid it'd get too soft otherwise. Good job :-)!
3/28/07 4:19 AM
Nancy K said...
Great job! Looks terrific on you
3/28/07 7:25 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this looks fantastic, just like a picture from an upscale catalog. Bravo!
3/28/07 8:55 AM
SarahWeb said...
Very cute jacket. I also like your idea of making this up for fall in wool or tweed. This seems to be a nice versatile pattern. Thanks for reviewing it!
3/28/07 8:57 AM
OP Gal said...
Your jacket is just adorable. I love the fabric. The collar frames your face and that amazing smile beautifully. Great job.
3/28/07 9:52 AM
ChristineX said...
Great job on that jacket! It fits you perfectly! I wasn't interested in this pattern before either, but it really is a nice piece and looks fabulous. Thanks for the review.
3/28/07 12:35 PM
jnamcd said...
Great looking jacket! I love it! I might have to give that pattern a second look --oh great --so many patterns, so little time!!!
3/28/07 5:01 PM
Tany said...
Really good looking jacket! Wonderful job!
3/28/07 6:03 PM
Karen6790 said...
What a great jacket! I love how BWOF patterns can sometimes look so much better on a "real" person - I had no interest in this jacket from the magazine, but after seeing it on you, I'm mentally going through the fabric stash. Nice job, very nice review.
3/29/07 0:27 AM
SewSewSew said...
This looks fantastic! I saw this in the magazine & liked the look but I don't find a stand up collar very comfortable, and wondered if the collar would be easy enough to fold down and wear it that way. I'm so glad that you have made it, as now I can ask you! Does it look and feel ok with the collar turned down when you are wearing it, or does it really need to be worn up in the style that you are wearing it. (Looks great on you, btw) Thanks
3/29/07 0:44 AM
SewSewSew said...
This looks fantastic! I saw this in the magazine & liked the look but I don't find a stand up collar very comfortable, and wondered if the collar would be easy enough to fold down and wear it that way. I'm so glad that you have made it, as now I can ask you! Does it look and feel ok with the collar turned down when you are wearing it, or does it really need to be worn up in the style that you are wearing it. (Looks great on you, btw) Thanks
3/29/07 0:45 AM
MissCelie said...
Wow. Thanks everyone. I was really nervous about making this style. You guys are the best at making a girl feel good about prefering her sewing machine to a late night out!

SewSewSew, I did find I could fold it down, but I kept it up because it let me have an upturned collar like 'the kids' are wearing these days.

That being said, I had to wash it the first day I wore it because my MAC NW50 was all over the collar edge.

By all means make it, fold the collar down or shorten the collar. Or you could end the placket at the collar edge and wear it down.
3/29/07 10:15 AM

SandraB said...
Very cute jacket Cidell. You always do such a fabulous job.
3/30/07 5:53 PM
Nancywin said...
I love this jacket on you! I didn't like it in the magazine, but now I will have to go back and have a second look. Your fabric choice is perfect!
4/10/07 10:21 AM
AlexaNJ said...
I LOVE your fabric choice! It looks awesome on you! Wonderful job!!
4/17/07 12:34 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Love it, love it, love it! Wish I had started subscribing to BWOF sooner! I would definately make this. You did a great job (as always) and it looks wonderful on you. Pretty smile, girlfriend!
4/26/09 3:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by mimi g. on 11/8/12
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8932
photo
Review by sensorydeb on 1/16/14
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us