SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress)

66 more reviews
Viewed 2197 times 
Reviewed by:andread
photo

 
 
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:3/17/07 1:36 AM
Last Updated:3/17/07 1:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Love your prints! I don't wear dresses often, but this one makes you feel so girly, doesn't it? It seems that most everyone has come up with creative solutions for the snaps. The thought of two little snaps between you and total nakedness if they come open drives most of us to find another solution. Good save!
3/17/07 9:19 AM
Kay Y said...
I think your closure solution is perfect - great look with the 2 prints.
3/17/07 10:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look retro cool!
3/17/07 11:20 AM
Soliel said...
The fabric I thought was vintage. You choose perfect fabric. I am guessing, because you mentioned it gets heavy in the back, it might be a good idea to stick with lightweight fabrics? Thanks for sharing...I am inspired!!!
3/17/07 11:58 AM
Huldra said...
I'm making this dress right now, and I have also noticed the tiny waist... I haven't decided what to do about the front closure yet, so thank you for your tip. I love your choice of fabrics and colours!
3/17/07 12:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I love your fabrics, and I'm sure you can use another in different fabrics, you won't have any trouble findind something smashing :-)..
3/17/07 2:02 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
I love this dress!! This pattern is in my collection, too, and I have to make it soon! Your fabric is so cute!
3/17/07 2:13 PM
ryan's mom said...
Nice dress! I'm glad you made it work for you!
3/18/07 8:07 AM
CarolynD said...
Very cute, excellent choice of fabric! It looks great on you!
3/18/07 8:45 AM
pamici said...
Precious -- I just saw this pattern yesterday and was smitten, now even more so! I'm glad you found help here on PR!
3/18/07 9:59 AM
patsijean said...
I just read your review, refered to others, and decided to order the pattern, which is on sale at their website.
3/18/07 10:48 AM
Karen6790 said...
This dress is definitely worth getting the fit right - it looks adorable now and will only get better. Love your fabric choices, too.
3/18/07 12:19 PM
AnneM said...
Great description of the pattern (hospital gown & party dress). Great solution on the waist closure. Perhaps for your 2nd version you could do two shades of the same color; that would give it a different look.
3/18/07 5:12 PM
Hilary said...
Great dress! I have this pattern too but haven't made it yet. I appreciate the great tips-hooks and eyes are a great idea!
7/28/07 8:20 PM
indianajoni said...
First of all, I LOVE THAT FABRIC! I made matching mother-daughter aprons out of the same print and I still have a good-sized chunk left (hmm... decisions). Second, I'm glad to see that this dress looks cute with a T shirt underneath. I've been wanting to make one really badly but I've been reluctant because I'm not a big fan of sleeveless. I will have to pick this one up at the next pattern sale!
9/22/07 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now