Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2191 times 63 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:andread
photo
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:3/17/07 1:36 AM
Last Updated:3/17/07 1:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Love your prints! I don't wear dresses often, but this one makes you feel so girly, doesn't it? It seems that most everyone has come up with creative solutions for the snaps. The thought of two little snaps between you and total nakedness if they come open drives most of us to find another solution. Good save!
3/17/07 9:19 AM
Kay Y said...
I think your closure solution is perfect - great look with the 2 prints.
3/17/07 10:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look retro cool!
3/17/07 11:20 AM
Soliel said...
The fabric I thought was vintage. You choose perfect fabric. I am guessing, because you mentioned it gets heavy in the back, it might be a good idea to stick with lightweight fabrics? Thanks for sharing...I am inspired!!!
3/17/07 11:58 AM
Huldra said...
I'm making this dress right now, and I have also noticed the tiny waist... I haven't decided what to do about the front closure yet, so thank you for your tip. I love your choice of fabrics and colours!
3/17/07 12:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I love your fabrics, and I'm sure you can use another in different fabrics, you won't have any trouble findind something smashing :-)..
3/17/07 2:02 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
I love this dress!! This pattern is in my collection, too, and I have to make it soon! Your fabric is so cute!
3/17/07 2:13 PM
ryan's mom said...
Nice dress! I'm glad you made it work for you!
3/18/07 8:07 AM
CarolynD said...
Very cute, excellent choice of fabric! It looks great on you!
3/18/07 8:45 AM
pamici said...
Precious -- I just saw this pattern yesterday and was smitten, now even more so! I'm glad you found help here on PR!
3/18/07 9:59 AM
patsijean said...
I just read your review, refered to others, and decided to order the pattern, which is on sale at their website.
3/18/07 10:48 AM
Karen6790 said...
This dress is definitely worth getting the fit right - it looks adorable now and will only get better. Love your fabric choices, too.
3/18/07 12:19 PM
AnneM said...
Great description of the pattern (hospital gown & party dress). Great solution on the waist closure. Perhaps for your 2nd version you could do two shades of the same color; that would give it a different look.
3/18/07 5:12 PM
Hilary said...
Great dress! I have this pattern too but haven't made it yet. I appreciate the great tips-hooks and eyes are a great idea!
7/28/07 8:20 PM
indianajoni said...
First of all, I LOVE THAT FABRIC! I made matching mother-daughter aprons out of the same print and I still have a good-sized chunk left (hmm... decisions). Second, I'm glad to see that this dress looks cute with a T shirt underneath. I've been wanting to make one really badly but I've been reluctant because I'm not a big fan of sleeveless. I will have to pick this one up at the next pattern sale!
9/22/07 9:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8486 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by spottedroo on 5/12/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5822 bag in 3 sizes
photo
Review by thrillme on 12/19/09
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5585 Pattern ( Size PR-NB-SML )
Butterick 5585 Pattern ( Size PR-NB-SML )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6236 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 6236 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us