SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4020 (Batwing 80s Knit Top)

70 more reviews
Viewed 1715 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/21/07 1:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fern said...
Looks great, Nicegirl! I really like the fabric. Now I can see that some of these large-scale patterns might work for me, in a top like this.
3/21/07 1:23 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very cute and hip. Your necklace is a perfect enhancement.
3/21/07 1:41 PM
squirrellypoo said...
That's really cute, even if it is just a short-term thrill. I made a different view on this patterns and LOVED it - I was shocked when it wasn't in the top patterns of 2006!
3/21/07 1:44 PM
Gold said...
Love the colors. Great details you did.
3/21/07 1:48 PM
frame said...
Cute top on you. I like the fabric. It's nice that in your reviews, you mention the time it took to make the garment, where you purchased your fabric and an approximate cost. Even if you don't sew to save money (although I do), you have to appreciate how much you can save by making something yourself.
3/21/07 2:23 PM
j222b said...
The song was "1985", I think. I like your reviews (& your taste in music).
3/21/07 3:13 PM
kiddo said...
Great job!
3/21/07 3:27 PM
nicegirl said...
Oh man, you're right j22b. It is 1985 (I originally wrote 1984). In my defense, the song was actually about 1984, but 1985 rhymes with "preoccupied." OK, I didn't really know that before but it's on the official Bowling for Soup website in their bio.
3/21/07 3:29 PM
jnamcd said...
I really like this! I really like your fabric, too! I admit, Deb's RTW knock-off was great --and I have this pattern too, but didn't even think that it was similar to her awesome creation! Actually, I've been eyeing that pattern in my stash and was wondering why I bought it, but now after being reminded of Deb's, and after seeing your great creation, I'm going to have to give it a try! Thanks!
3/21/07 3:49 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. I like how you altered the neckline.
3/21/07 7:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous top and fabric Nicegirl !!!
3/21/07 7:57 PM
Linda G said...
I think it looks great
3/21/07 8:46 PM
SusiM said...
i really like your style and the info you share in your reviews. Thanks. The top is cute.
3/22/07 0:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks great on you! I would not buy this based on the pattern envelope pics--just not my style, but your version makes it look terrific and with a great print too.
3/22/07 6:33 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I think this is a real winner: perfect for the Spring weather that's on it's way. Love the colors and the style on you.
3/22/07 12:11 PM
SarahWeb said...
Very, very hip. I love the fabric and I think the style looks great on you!
3/24/07 9:35 AM
AnneM said...
Nice top. I picked up this pattern for view D, but this view is turning out well in the reviews.
3/25/07 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now