SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3833 (60s Retro Shift)

51 more reviews
Viewed 2081 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/07 10:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
Yeah! I have been waiting for a review on this...it's on my must purchase list. Guess I will have to do a swayback adjustment also. Thanks!
3/22/07 11:13 AM
Seaspur said...
Love it, it looks adorable on you!
3/22/07 11:21 AM
dbsewer said...
Really cute dress and it looks groovy on you ;0
3/22/07 11:26 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, too cute! Can't wait for it to be warm too, especially if dresses like this are in the wings :-).
3/22/07 11:43 AM
jessika said...
Very pretty, you make so many great retro dresses. I love red on you.
3/22/07 11:47 AM
jjwalker said...
I totally wondered the same thing about the fabric from the original drawing!!! I had the same thoughts. I'm thinking blue screen/green screen - she has a sort of green outline (the darkheaded one with the flowered dress...) Anyway - I cut mine out yesterday and now I'm excited! Thanks for the review!
3/22/07 12:04 PM
frame said...
Looks wonderful. Great job.
3/22/07 12:14 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You have been sewing up a storm lately! Thanks for pointing out the neckline - I've noticed on my vintage patterns that the necklines are high (indeed choke-y!) relative to what I'm used to wearing today.
3/22/07 12:19 PM
tomed said...
Very nice work! I love your choice of fabrics and the topstitching. Makes for an interesting dress.
3/22/07 1:27 PM
Lisette said...
Very cute dress!
3/22/07 1:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
I agree, this is one kickin'dress! I'm in love with the twin needle topstitching. You've done it again! You've made me want yet *another* pattern!
3/22/07 2:19 PM
ladybegood said...
I *LOVE* the double needle topstitching! Great job!
3/22/07 3:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great modifications to this vintage dress. I like yours better than the original.
3/22/07 3:16 PM
USMCMom said...
What a blast from the past! I remember my mother wearing a dress like that! Now It's my turn. I'm glad there's a version with sleeves since my upper arms are definitely not ready for prime time. Also, great idea on toning down the silhouette of the a-line. It was too extreme and your version is much more flattering. I think those wider a-lines make you look like you're pregnant, but not yet ready to share the news!
3/22/07 5:46 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love love your dress nicegirl !
3/22/07 6:03 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress. I like all the changes you made to it so that it totally flatters your shape. Great job.
3/22/07 6:32 PM
Pinkytoo said...
1 word: Photoshop! Anyhoo, I love your dress - thanks for the blast from the past and for making me feel OLD! Signed, Made It And Wore It The First Time Around
3/22/07 7:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love it! The topstitching really sets off the dress and I like how you tapered the skirt.
3/22/07 7:59 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Very cute! Nice Job!
3/22/07 10:09 PM
Dale C said...
Adorable dress! Red's a good color for you.
3/23/07 1:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a great dress! But I really love your shoes. Can you share where you acquire those?
3/23/07 5:25 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much everyone! I don't wear much red, I'm more of a pink kind of girl, but now I think I'll have to start! Everyone should get a twin needle if they don't have one. They are toooo much fun. Linda L-I got the shoes last year from a catalog and I am totally blanking on which one it was; not Newport News but sorta like that, except I think it's one with retail stores. I'm so helpful. However, I can highly NOT recommend them. They are the worst design ever. The back part is curved like a cobra to bite right into your ankle. The only time I've worn them is for these pictures and after the 15 minutes or so it took to take the pics they were already hurting. Ridiculous design! And so disappointing because the style is so cute.
3/23/07 9:06 AM
ryan's mom said...
Smashing dress! (Or should I say "Mod!" :) ?)
3/23/07 11:40 AM
OP Gal said...
Adorable dress. You look charming in it.
3/23/07 1:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a fun dress!
3/23/07 9:40 PM
Celeste said...
Love the dress! Take you shoes to an old established shoe repair place--they may be able to cut down that back part so it doesn't "bite"--my husband had some new shoes stretched a half size up and they are wearable now. They sometimes can do WONDERS.
3/23/07 10:10 PM
LiZ said...
Love your dress and the red looks great on you.
3/24/07 5:18 PM
Kathi R said...
I just found this review -- thanks for all th details, I just cut it out for my daughter. Nice job, nicegirl!
3/26/07 7:18 PM
AnneM said...
They would sell more of this pattern w/ the pic of your dress on it. Cute dress. (I also love twin needles.)
3/27/07 6:19 AM
Hilary said...
I think it's wonderful on you! It's one of my favorites that you've made, actually. The top-stitching really looks great, and the lower neckline looks much better. Thanks for reviewing this!
3/27/07 3:47 PM
heapha said...
I asked myself the exact same question about the dress, how did they match the fabric... what the hell is going on... the black and white I get - easy enough but the floral print.... I am baffled Anyway, I have to say thanks because it seems that every pattern I go to do you ahve been there before with all your helpful hints I am pumping through dresses.
6/24/09 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Simplicity 4945

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now