SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (50s Blouse)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1966 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 11:46 AM
Last Updated:12/11/12 9:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
So cute!!
12/11/12 4:39 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top in a great color! You achieved a great fit. Super cute hat. Love the outfit!
12/11/12 3:43 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the neckline on this top! Very impressed with your hat making too!
12/11/12 11:58 AM
sometime said...
Beautiful. This is THE colour for you.
12/11/12 10:47 AM
hongkongshopper said...
That is one cute top!
3/27/07 8:18 PM
AnneM said...
I hadn't realized that this was a peblum blouse in this pattern. I have this thing w/ peblum blouses lately - although I haven't actually made any! Your top is very cute (it might be a touch wide in the upper back, but nothing that requires action). Love the clothes you have been making.
3/27/07 12:30 PM
madhatter said...
such a sweet blouse! thanks for the review, this pattern absolutely will go on my list!
3/26/07 6:20 AM
Patzee said...
Wonderful review! Thanks.
3/24/07 5:03 PM
patsijean said...
ooohh!!! This is great. I like the idea of running the zipper from the bottom up. Because of the waist seam, I don't see any other way. This is a beautiful top and you will get a lot of wear out of it once the zipper issue is solved.
3/24/07 3:16 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. It looks wonderful on you. I always love the way you pose in the pictures of your projects!
3/24/07 10:40 AM
nicegirl said...
Mochalover-I know the feeling! My brain is mush by the end of the day. Soliel--the pants I'm wearing are RTW. I do think I'll make the pants from the pattern eventually, but haven't yet. I need some fabric with a little stretch for those. `-)
3/24/07 10:17 AM
SarahWeb said...
Lovely blouse and great review!
3/24/07 9:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Just lovely!!! I have this pattern and bought some black/white patterned fabric at Paron's Annex for the jacket. Wow--your outfit looks terrific!! I sure wish they'd put your work on the pattern envelope covers :) .
3/24/07 8:13 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous! I've muslined this pattern and have been waiting for just the right fabric to make it in. Now I'm really inspired--I would have chosen something so boring! I'll look for a great color.
3/24/07 0:51 AM
Soliel said...
Very gorgeous, very unique. Did you have issues fitting the pants? You must have a lot of great clothes by now!
3/24/07 0:47 AM
DeAnna said...
A great top, and you get so much done.(Guilt, Guilt.) I think this would be great in jersey and skip the zipper.
3/23/07 11:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love vintage and I love this blouse! You did a great job!
3/23/07 9:29 PM
LauraTS said...
Thanks for the great review, esp. the info on the facing/lining and the zipper. I have this in my "to try" pile.
3/23/07 8:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! Your fabric choice is perfect.
3/23/07 7:21 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/23/07 5:59 PM
mochalover said...
Sorry for the typo/homophone. Sell and sale. I shouldn't leave comments after a long day at work :0). Sorry.
3/23/07 5:37 PM
mochalover said...
Wonderful, wonderful top!! The next Simplicity pattern sell I think I'm going to have to get this pattern.
3/23/07 5:36 PM
blue mooney said...
WAY CUTE!
3/23/07 4:19 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Retro, stylish, individual, in a divine color on you. What's not to love?
3/23/07 3:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! Your comments always give me such warm fuzzies. Gracias tambien a Madre de Heather. Pero, Nicole Kidman? I wish! She's gorgeous, not to mention at least a foot taller than me. heh.
3/23/07 3:42 PM
ZoeP said...
Fabulosa!! Please keep sewing you inspire me. Thanks
3/23/07 2:59 PM
Pyrose said...
Great review! That fabric looks really awesome. And I just love how you strike a pose for the camera. You look wonderful in it!
3/23/07 2:18 PM
poplin said...
I made this top too! Except I eliminated the belt. I love this top so much that I bought two patterns, just in case. Looks great on you.
3/23/07 2:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Magnifica , Muchacha Dulce! Tu blusa es muy bella NiceGirl also glam and chic in Moulin Rouge
3/23/07 2:06 PM
SueV said...
very nice; you've sewn up a lot of things this week .... all beautiful!
3/23/07 2:00 PM
ladybegood said...
Gorgeous! The fabric really makes it... even if it gave you trouble with the facing, it was worth it.
3/23/07 1:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I LOVE it! I hadn't looked twice at that pattern but I love it on you, and it's now on my wish list... so classy, all your hard work really paid off.
3/23/07 1:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great blouse adn great review! I love the collar and sash. Thanks for working out the kinks so we won't have to! It's great, very you.
3/23/07 1:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful blouse, love the dupioni. Another winner.
3/23/07 1:09 PM
ChristineX said...
Love the top! Great fabric selection!
3/23/07 12:41 PM
frame said...
Beautiful blouse.
3/23/07 12:39 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooooooo! I'm so copying you. Your blouse is fabuloso! Thanks for the zipper and lining hints. Just fyi, no need to fully self-line--you could line (or underline) it fully with china silk or ambiance and then handstitch the facings to the lining/underlining.
3/23/07 12:29 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is gorgeous, it looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 2675

photo
by: alimmay

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 10-2011-139

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info