SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (50s Blouse)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1965 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 11:46 AM
Last Updated:12/11/12 9:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
So cute!!
12/11/12 4:39 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top in a great color! You achieved a great fit. Super cute hat. Love the outfit!
12/11/12 3:43 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the neckline on this top! Very impressed with your hat making too!
12/11/12 11:58 AM
sometime said...
Beautiful. This is THE colour for you.
12/11/12 10:47 AM
hongkongshopper said...
That is one cute top!
3/27/07 8:18 PM
AnneM said...
I hadn't realized that this was a peblum blouse in this pattern. I have this thing w/ peblum blouses lately - although I haven't actually made any! Your top is very cute (it might be a touch wide in the upper back, but nothing that requires action). Love the clothes you have been making.
3/27/07 12:30 PM
madhatter said...
such a sweet blouse! thanks for the review, this pattern absolutely will go on my list!
3/26/07 6:20 AM
Patzee said...
Wonderful review! Thanks.
3/24/07 5:03 PM
patsijean said...
ooohh!!! This is great. I like the idea of running the zipper from the bottom up. Because of the waist seam, I don't see any other way. This is a beautiful top and you will get a lot of wear out of it once the zipper issue is solved.
3/24/07 3:16 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. It looks wonderful on you. I always love the way you pose in the pictures of your projects!
3/24/07 10:40 AM
nicegirl said...
Mochalover-I know the feeling! My brain is mush by the end of the day. Soliel--the pants I'm wearing are RTW. I do think I'll make the pants from the pattern eventually, but haven't yet. I need some fabric with a little stretch for those. `-)
3/24/07 10:17 AM
SarahWeb said...
Lovely blouse and great review!
3/24/07 9:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Just lovely!!! I have this pattern and bought some black/white patterned fabric at Paron's Annex for the jacket. Wow--your outfit looks terrific!! I sure wish they'd put your work on the pattern envelope covers :) .
3/24/07 8:13 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous! I've muslined this pattern and have been waiting for just the right fabric to make it in. Now I'm really inspired--I would have chosen something so boring! I'll look for a great color.
3/24/07 0:51 AM
Soliel said...
Very gorgeous, very unique. Did you have issues fitting the pants? You must have a lot of great clothes by now!
3/24/07 0:47 AM
DeAnna said...
A great top, and you get so much done.(Guilt, Guilt.) I think this would be great in jersey and skip the zipper.
3/23/07 11:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love vintage and I love this blouse! You did a great job!
3/23/07 9:29 PM
LauraTS said...
Thanks for the great review, esp. the info on the facing/lining and the zipper. I have this in my "to try" pile.
3/23/07 8:16 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! Your fabric choice is perfect.
3/23/07 7:21 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/23/07 5:59 PM
mochalover said...
Sorry for the typo/homophone. Sell and sale. I shouldn't leave comments after a long day at work :0). Sorry.
3/23/07 5:37 PM
mochalover said...
Wonderful, wonderful top!! The next Simplicity pattern sell I think I'm going to have to get this pattern.
3/23/07 5:36 PM
blue mooney said...
WAY CUTE!
3/23/07 4:19 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Retro, stylish, individual, in a divine color on you. What's not to love?
3/23/07 3:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! Your comments always give me such warm fuzzies. Gracias tambien a Madre de Heather. Pero, Nicole Kidman? I wish! She's gorgeous, not to mention at least a foot taller than me. heh.
3/23/07 3:42 PM
ZoeP said...
Fabulosa!! Please keep sewing you inspire me. Thanks
3/23/07 2:59 PM
Pyrose said...
Great review! That fabric looks really awesome. And I just love how you strike a pose for the camera. You look wonderful in it!
3/23/07 2:18 PM
poplin said...
I made this top too! Except I eliminated the belt. I love this top so much that I bought two patterns, just in case. Looks great on you.
3/23/07 2:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Magnifica , Muchacha Dulce! Tu blusa es muy bella NiceGirl also glam and chic in Moulin Rouge
3/23/07 2:06 PM
SueV said...
very nice; you've sewn up a lot of things this week .... all beautiful!
3/23/07 2:00 PM
ladybegood said...
Gorgeous! The fabric really makes it... even if it gave you trouble with the facing, it was worth it.
3/23/07 1:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I LOVE it! I hadn't looked twice at that pattern but I love it on you, and it's now on my wish list... so classy, all your hard work really paid off.
3/23/07 1:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great blouse adn great review! I love the collar and sash. Thanks for working out the kinks so we won't have to! It's great, very you.
3/23/07 1:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful blouse, love the dupioni. Another winner.
3/23/07 1:09 PM
ChristineX said...
Love the top! Great fabric selection!
3/23/07 12:41 PM
frame said...
Beautiful blouse.
3/23/07 12:39 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooooooo! I'm so copying you. Your blouse is fabuloso! Thanks for the zipper and lining hints. Just fyi, no need to fully self-line--you could line (or underline) it fully with china silk or ambiance and then handstitch the facings to the lining/underlining.
3/23/07 12:29 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is gorgeous, it looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns V8151

photo
by: Austragirl

Review
No Pattern Used Appliqued Moleskin Cover

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now