SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4922 (Princess Seamed Blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2333 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 9:55 AM
Last Updated:7/25/07 12:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Another fun and funky piece for your eclectic collection!
3/20/07 10:45 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great adaptations, love it !
3/20/07 1:00 PM
cindy-lou said...
Another great, thorough review and a great interpretation of this blouse! I love it-- very different look than the envelope conveys. Super!
3/20/07 1:36 PM
moss said...
hee... it does look a bit "Alice" (kiss mah grits), but that's NOT a bad thing! It's cute!! and, it is WAAAY cooler than the envelope.
3/20/07 2:33 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks for the compliments everyone! Hee Moss, now I'm going to have to go around saying that whenever I wear this top! How could I have forgotten her signature line? It's so awesome!
3/20/07 9:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Much better - and much more interesting - than what's on the envelope. I think it's the color that says 70s waitress; different fabric would get you the vintage 40s look.
3/20/07 10:03 PM
Larkin said...
Nice Girl, Nice! Thanks so much for the detail on the review and all the pics - you've done such careful work and we'll all benefit. I love your blouse on you and I hope you find lots of occasions to wear it!
3/21/07 1:11 AM
AnneM said...
You feared button holes? Glad you are getting over that. Cute modifications.
3/21/07 8:14 AM
SimsSews said...
Admirable shirt, love your sleeves the most! Thanks for the tip about lining up button holes (and with pics too)!
3/21/07 8:15 AM
Em's Summer said...
A lot of 70s looks are throwbacks to the 40s. Some aren't, but a lot of the 70s styles are. It's one of the reasons I love 70s patterns. I think your blouse definitely has a 40s/70s look to it. Good job!
3/21/07 10:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Totally rad, NiceGirl! I would not call it waitress-y at all! I would say a combination of 70's chic, 40's glamour, and Valley Girl allure. In other words, seductive, feminine, and eyecatching! The NiceGirl still beautiful as a blond with Matthew Broderick! Did she make that gown?
3/21/07 12:29 PM
dmoonangel said...
Adorable top. Actually the whole outfit is really cool.
3/22/07 12:49 PM
ChristineX said...
Great take on the shirt! I love the sleeves.
3/22/07 10:03 PM
Annika said...
Wonderful! Fantastic ensemble.
5/18/07 1:40 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress! I love the brown.
5/18/07 1:46 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Dress: 5 Stars, Review 5 stars. You are right the brown and black are fantastic together! And I love the way you incorporated the 2 patterns together. I really really like the way that dress looks on you and the fit is perfect!
5/18/07 2:48 PM
moss said...
holy cow you are so glam!!!
5/18/07 3:28 PM
Riordan said...
Your dress is lovely! I love shirtwaist dresses, and I love brown!! You look darling in it.
5/18/07 5:11 PM
Aixoise said...
One of your most becoming creations! You're so good at coming up with creative solutions.
5/18/07 5:48 PM
MissCelie said...
I am 100 percent in love with this. I love shirt dresses, I love brown, love it, love it, love it.
5/18/07 5:59 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - lovely you!
5/18/07 6:39 PM
Leora said...
I am amazed it only took you 4 hours to make this *sah-weet* dress! I could never do it that fast... You Rock!
5/18/07 7:20 PM
Lisa Merry said...
I wouldn't have thought of putting the black accesories with the brown dress - it is a such a chic look! Love it!
5/18/07 7:27 PM
Idosew said...
Looks great and I love the idea of making the buttonholes before cutting out the placket. Sometimes on narrow fabric sections, the buttonholes are nerve-wracking! -Cathy
5/18/07 7:55 PM
EastwoodFan said...
You need to be on Project Runway. Your talent, creativity and style are fabulous.
5/18/07 8:36 PM
bunz said...
Wonderful how you put brown and black together -- really nice dress.
5/18/07 8:37 PM
kim*brown said...
You look wonderful in this. Very chic!
5/18/07 10:42 PM
j222b said...
THANKS. u r sew cute!!
5/18/07 11:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress! You've made me realize that I need to put the brown eyelet dress next up on my list of things to make. I think brown and black looks great together, don't worry - and those shoes would look good no matter what.
5/19/07 4:51 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow, Nicegirl! You really raised the bar with this project. You used stash fabric, 'saved' a wadder (ruffles), drafted your own sleeve, used vintage fabric...I could go on and on, but do know it is fabulous!
7/25/07 12:36 PM
morzel said...
Beautiful blouse! Even better, the dress! Love it.
7/25/07 3:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Another great creation. Love the fabric yu chose for this one.
7/25/07 7:06 PM
OP Gal said...
I love that blouse! I think it's better looking than the Marc Jacobs inspirations piece. Great garments and great review, nicegirl. Thanks.
7/25/07 7:47 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, and a great outfit, as well! I really like your addition of the cap sleeves.
7/26/07 2:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review