Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4922 (Princess Seamed Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2331 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 9:55 AM
Last Updated:7/25/07 12:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Another fun and funky piece for your eclectic collection!
3/20/07 10:45 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great adaptations, love it !
3/20/07 1:00 PM
cindy-lou said...
Another great, thorough review and a great interpretation of this blouse! I love it-- very different look than the envelope conveys. Super!
3/20/07 1:36 PM
moss said...
hee... it does look a bit "Alice" (kiss mah grits), but that's NOT a bad thing! It's cute!! and, it is WAAAY cooler than the envelope.
3/20/07 2:33 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks for the compliments everyone! Hee Moss, now I'm going to have to go around saying that whenever I wear this top! How could I have forgotten her signature line? It's so awesome!
3/20/07 9:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Much better - and much more interesting - than what's on the envelope. I think it's the color that says 70s waitress; different fabric would get you the vintage 40s look.
3/20/07 10:03 PM
Larkin said...
Nice Girl, Nice! Thanks so much for the detail on the review and all the pics - you've done such careful work and we'll all benefit. I love your blouse on you and I hope you find lots of occasions to wear it!
3/21/07 1:11 AM
AnneM said...
You feared button holes? Glad you are getting over that. Cute modifications.
3/21/07 8:14 AM
SimsSews said...
Admirable shirt, love your sleeves the most! Thanks for the tip about lining up button holes (and with pics too)!
3/21/07 8:15 AM
Em's Summer said...
A lot of 70s looks are throwbacks to the 40s. Some aren't, but a lot of the 70s styles are. It's one of the reasons I love 70s patterns. I think your blouse definitely has a 40s/70s look to it. Good job!
3/21/07 10:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Totally rad, NiceGirl! I would not call it waitress-y at all! I would say a combination of 70's chic, 40's glamour, and Valley Girl allure. In other words, seductive, feminine, and eyecatching! The NiceGirl still beautiful as a blond with Matthew Broderick! Did she make that gown?
3/21/07 12:29 PM
dmoonangel said...
Adorable top. Actually the whole outfit is really cool.
3/22/07 12:49 PM
ChristineX said...
Great take on the shirt! I love the sleeves.
3/22/07 10:03 PM
Annika said...
Wonderful! Fantastic ensemble.
5/18/07 1:40 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress! I love the brown.
5/18/07 1:46 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Dress: 5 Stars, Review 5 stars. You are right the brown and black are fantastic together! And I love the way you incorporated the 2 patterns together. I really really like the way that dress looks on you and the fit is perfect!
5/18/07 2:48 PM
moss said...
holy cow you are so glam!!!
5/18/07 3:28 PM
Riordan said...
Your dress is lovely! I love shirtwaist dresses, and I love brown!! You look darling in it.
5/18/07 5:11 PM
Aixoise said...
One of your most becoming creations! You're so good at coming up with creative solutions.
5/18/07 5:48 PM
MissCelie said...
I am 100 percent in love with this. I love shirt dresses, I love brown, love it, love it, love it.
5/18/07 5:59 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - lovely you!
5/18/07 6:39 PM
Leora said...
I am amazed it only took you 4 hours to make this *sah-weet* dress! I could never do it that fast... You Rock!
5/18/07 7:20 PM
Lisa Merry said...
I wouldn't have thought of putting the black accesories with the brown dress - it is a such a chic look! Love it!
5/18/07 7:27 PM
Idosew said...
Looks great and I love the idea of making the buttonholes before cutting out the placket. Sometimes on narrow fabric sections, the buttonholes are nerve-wracking! -Cathy
5/18/07 7:55 PM
EastwoodFan said...
You need to be on Project Runway. Your talent, creativity and style are fabulous.
5/18/07 8:36 PM
bunz said...
Wonderful how you put brown and black together -- really nice dress.
5/18/07 8:37 PM
kim*brown said...
You look wonderful in this. Very chic!
5/18/07 10:42 PM
j222b said...
THANKS. u r sew cute!!
5/18/07 11:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress! You've made me realize that I need to put the brown eyelet dress next up on my list of things to make. I think brown and black looks great together, don't worry - and those shoes would look good no matter what.
5/19/07 4:51 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow, Nicegirl! You really raised the bar with this project. You used stash fabric, 'saved' a wadder (ruffles), drafted your own sleeve, used vintage fabric...I could go on and on, but do know it is fabulous!
7/25/07 12:36 PM
morzel said...
Beautiful blouse! Even better, the dress! Love it.
7/25/07 3:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Another great creation. Love the fabric yu chose for this one.
7/25/07 7:06 PM
OP Gal said...
I love that blouse! I think it's better looking than the Marc Jacobs inspirations piece. Great garments and great review, nicegirl. Thanks.
7/25/07 7:47 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, and a great outfit, as well! I really like your addition of the cap sleeves.
7/26/07 2:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778
photo
Review by rachellea7... on 3/20/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us