SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Lingerie Secrets> The Smoothie 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1368 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/07 9:20 PM
Last Updated:3/18/07 9:20 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said... (2/18/08 7:32 PM) Reply
I have the pattern but have not yet tried yet. Thank you so much for the review - its's very informative and I will be pulling it up when I make the panties. Your red panties look really nice.
AnneM said... (6/5/07 5:01 PM) Reply
Thanks for the answer! (Finally checking back; I forget once in a while.)
Rustybobn said... (3/21/07 8:27 AM) Reply
Skymom, the pattern doesn't have you doubling the front, but it would be a fun place to use some stretch lace over the fabric (or alone). I can envision using that area as a place to embellish these.
Rustybobn said... (3/21/07 8:25 AM) Reply
Anne, I used my serger on the seams and to apply the elastic. I used my regular machine to zig-zag the elastic in place. You could certainly make them entirely on your regular machine. I've made plenty of panties that way. The pattern designer suggests seaming methods in the directions.
Skymom said... (3/20/07 4:31 PM) Reply
Just remember that the back piece is wide because it's also part of the front piece! The side seams are offset toward the front. Doesn't that make it seem less disconcerting?! Do these have a double-panel front?
AnneM said... (3/20/07 3:17 PM) Reply
Ah, panties that don't ride up. Nice. You're funny ("disconcerted when I saw the width of that back piece"); I'm certain the same would apply to me. Did you use your standard sewing machine?
OP Gal said... (3/19/07 6:58 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I didn't know you could make one of these.
Liane M said... (3/19/07 8:01 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I've been thinking about this one, so it's nice to see that it is true to size and works up well.
fuzzygalore said... (3/19/07 4:59 AM) Reply
Hey, be fair, that scary width in the back is what makes them not ride up :-)..
christine A said... (3/18/07 9:48 PM) Reply
I have this pattern and have made a few pairs. I need to revisit this pattern too! i agree this makes a nice classic panty.
CarolynGM said... (3/18/07 9:48 PM) Reply
Nice. Those look like some I just bought for $8 a pair.
Elona said... (3/18/07 9:34 PM) Reply
Hey, the glamour version! It's a good-looking panty. I've got this pattern in my stash, and you have almost inspired me to venture into the feminine undie field. My foreign-born DFIL used to refer to all such garments as "flimsies."
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: Terri A

Review
McCall's 5548

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details