SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Lingerie Secrets> The Smoothie 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1363 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/07 9:20 PM
Last Updated:3/18/07 9:20 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Hey, the glamour version! It's a good-looking panty. I've got this pattern in my stash, and you have almost inspired me to venture into the feminine undie field. My foreign-born DFIL used to refer to all such garments as "flimsies."
3/18/07 9:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
Nice. Those look like some I just bought for $8 a pair.
3/18/07 9:48 PM
christine A said...
I have this pattern and have made a few pairs. I need to revisit this pattern too! i agree this makes a nice classic panty.
3/18/07 9:48 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Hey, be fair, that scary width in the back is what makes them not ride up :-)..
3/19/07 4:59 AM
Liane M said...
Thanks for the review. I've been thinking about this one, so it's nice to see that it is true to size and works up well.
3/19/07 8:01 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the review. I didn't know you could make one of these.
3/19/07 6:58 PM
AnneM said...
Ah, panties that don't ride up. Nice. You're funny ("disconcerted when I saw the width of that back piece"); I'm certain the same would apply to me. Did you use your standard sewing machine?
3/20/07 3:17 PM
Skymom said...
Just remember that the back piece is wide because it's also part of the front piece! The side seams are offset toward the front. Doesn't that make it seem less disconcerting?! Do these have a double-panel front?
3/20/07 4:31 PM
Rustybobn said...
Anne, I used my serger on the seams and to apply the elastic. I used my regular machine to zig-zag the elastic in place. You could certainly make them entirely on your regular machine. I've made plenty of panties that way. The pattern designer suggests seaming methods in the directions.
3/21/07 8:25 AM
Rustybobn said...
Skymom, the pattern doesn't have you doubling the front, but it would be a fun place to use some stretch lace over the fabric (or alone). I can envision using that area as a place to embellish these.
3/21/07 8:27 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the answer! (Finally checking back; I forget once in a while.)
6/5/07 5:01 PM
Athene said...
I have the pattern but have not yet tried yet. Thank you so much for the review - its's very informative and I will be pulling it up when I make the panties. Your red panties look really nice.
2/18/08 7:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 100698-1000

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Simplicity 2358

photo
by: shalloon

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now