SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5198 (Fashion Accessories)

2 more reviews
Viewed 685 times 
Reviewed by:MareeAlison
photo

 
 
About MareeAlisonstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/6/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/07 4:05 AM
Last Updated:3/19/07 5:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kit said...
You did a fantastic job! I have been sewing for 40+ years and I made this pattern. Although I liked the finished bag, it was NOT easy and the construction not well designed. YES! Please try to sew some clothing - you'll find it so easy after this project!
3/20/07 1:34 AM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks everyone for your very nice comments. I thought I'd start my review writing with a bag to get me into the swing of things. Let's see if I can move on to garments reviews now. I tend to sew and wear and not get to the review.
3/20/07 0:49 AM
said...
Maree - I love your bag and the price!!
3/19/07 9:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely bag Maree! The fabric and style go well together!
3/19/07 8:43 PM
Skye said...
love the bag , great fabric thanks for the review
3/19/07 5:20 PM
LiZ said...
Your bag looks great and very stylish.
3/19/07 2:59 PM
Deepika said...
Love your bag Maree! Can't beat the price too. I don't know why pattern companies make things more complicated than they have too.
3/19/07 1:00 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Congratulations on your first review! Pretty darn cute bag!
3/19/07 12:23 PM
brrmm said...
Love it to pieces!! I'm a bag lady and have made a few in my time (try over 30!!) and this is fabulous. Definately looks like a high end designer $200 job to me. Great work.
3/19/07 7:19 AM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks Lilibet - I'm very pleased with how it turned out. I took a lot of care with it. I'd like to be able to buy some more of the fabric it's so gorgeous. I need to buy some shoes now so I can wear just a plain black outfit with the bag and shoes. The leopard print shoes are all the fashion this winter so it shouldn't be too hard.
3/19/07 6:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice bag. Congrats on your first pattern review. :)
3/19/07 6:35 AM
Lilibet said...
What a great looking bag. Love the leopard print.
3/19/07 5:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

More Info