Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2903 (70s Nina Ricci Shirt/Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 969 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews: 302 (patterns: 302)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 2:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bella1902 said... (11/12/08 7:21 PM) Reply
loved it!
Em's Summer said... (3/21/07 10:58 AM) Reply
This is really stylin' vintage! You did a great job!
moss said... (3/21/07 7:40 AM) Reply
The picture of the hair is interesting, because the "before" shots all look so much more modern than the "after" shots.
Helen near Sydney said... (3/21/07 2:00 AM) Reply
What a fabulous silhouette this jacket has, love the high armscye in these old patterns.
Seamingly Simple said... (3/20/07 10:07 PM) Reply
I think nylon doubleknit was also common in the 1970s. I remember a male teacher's mint green and brown doubleknit leisure suit. Be on the lookout for some platform shoes!
Elemenopeo said... (3/20/07 5:33 PM) Reply
Very styling!
Markie1 said... (3/20/07 11:16 AM) Reply
I agree with everybody, this looks great on you. i love your reviews, they really take you through the whole process. One question: Where do you find the time??? You are so prolific. Another great HeathersMom contribution!
nicegirl said... (3/20/07 10:14 AM) Reply
This is neat-o. (Note my use of proper slang.) I love that you kept the original collar shape, and your button solution looks better than a zipper would have, imho.
cindy-lou said... (3/20/07 9:11 AM) Reply
Mrs. Heather, this is a GREAT jacket just as it is! You can call it a 'muslin' if you want to, but I call it a great retro jacket. We have a 70's/80's disco party every fall, complete with 20 inch disco ball and strobe lights, and everyone comes in costume. You would SO be a hit there!
fuzzygalore said... (3/20/07 4:05 AM) Reply
You're getting quite a rock star wardrobe there :-). Although you're right, a collar stiff enough to poke an eye out on and double-knit polyester would be even more vintage... Although welt pockets in knits would be interesting to say the least. And stop going on about the cookies, anyone would feel tight about using wovens in a knit pattern. Can you shave a little something out of the side seam allowances? I like your button-to-zipper creative fix..
Annette1 said... (3/20/07 4:01 AM) Reply
Another great jacket! I love your idea of trying this in a knit, too. Very classy!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1136

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review
The City Bag Paper Pattern

The City Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details