SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2903 (70s Nina Ricci Shirt/Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 963 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/07 2:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Another great jacket! I love your idea of trying this in a knit, too. Very classy!
3/20/07 4:01 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're getting quite a rock star wardrobe there :-). Although you're right, a collar stiff enough to poke an eye out on and double-knit polyester would be even more vintage... Although welt pockets in knits would be interesting to say the least. And stop going on about the cookies, anyone would feel tight about using wovens in a knit pattern. Can you shave a little something out of the side seam allowances? I like your button-to-zipper creative fix..
3/20/07 4:05 AM
cindy-lou said...
Mrs. Heather, this is a GREAT jacket just as it is! You can call it a 'muslin' if you want to, but I call it a great retro jacket. We have a 70's/80's disco party every fall, complete with 20 inch disco ball and strobe lights, and everyone comes in costume. You would SO be a hit there!
3/20/07 9:11 AM
nicegirl said...
This is neat-o. (Note my use of proper slang.) I love that you kept the original collar shape, and your button solution looks better than a zipper would have, imho.
3/20/07 10:14 AM
Markie1 said...
I agree with everybody, this looks great on you. i love your reviews, they really take you through the whole process. One question: Where do you find the time??? You are so prolific. Another great HeathersMom contribution!
3/20/07 11:16 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very styling!
3/20/07 5:33 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I think nylon doubleknit was also common in the 1970s. I remember a male teacher's mint green and brown doubleknit leisure suit. Be on the lookout for some platform shoes!
3/20/07 10:07 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
What a fabulous silhouette this jacket has, love the high armscye in these old patterns.
3/21/07 2:00 AM
moss said...
The picture of the hair is interesting, because the "before" shots all look so much more modern than the "after" shots.
3/21/07 7:40 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is really stylin' vintage! You did a great job!
3/21/07 10:58 AM
bella1902 said...
loved it!
11/12/08 7:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1087

photo
by: Kim12469

Review