SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2966 

12 more reviews
Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/07 2:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
You did a lot of hard work and it came out wonderful. Great job.
3/21/07 3:05 PM
Kay Y said...
I think you achieved a really lovely-looking top, despite your trouble with it. Maybe a FBA would make a difference in the front, but I think the back looks like it fits well. Enjoy wearing it!
3/21/07 4:34 PM
JenSews2 said...
Looks pretty, despite your trouble!
3/21/07 5:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, charmeuse was probably way too slippery, drapey, everything for this top. You might have been able to improve the darts by curving them a bit, or can't you press them better? Anyway, you should definitely give up when you start doing this many alterations :-)..
3/21/07 5:35 PM
carolynw said...
Terri I have been in the process of making a silk charmeuse blouse and the dart thing was a real problem - I ended up extending the dart over my bust point to try and not look too whatever. The pattern I used is one I had made three blouses from so it was a TNT - I think this silk charmeuse must have a tendency to show off darts in a most unflattering way!! I hope you will stick with this and work it out - expensive material and you have already put a lot of effort into it - revisit after a few days.
3/21/07 6:33 PM
Karen8320 said...
Terri, I understand your frustration about having to address so many issues with this top. However, I think it looks quite lovely and I would even go so far as to say glamorous. Sometimes we are far more critical of our work than others ever are. Thanks for your review. I found it helpful.
3/21/07 7:37 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a beautiful top.
3/21/07 11:18 PM
Jane S said...
I'm sorry that this didn't work out as planned but I'm grateful for your review. I have this pattern on my to sew pile and now have to consider how much effort it may take to make it work.
3/22/07 7:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really an excellent review. I've never sewn with silk charmeuse, but now I know to avoid anything with darts! Still, in spite of your troubles, the top is very pretty.
3/22/07 8:37 AM
AnneM said...
Tuck this in the closet for a bit and you will suddenly find it very wearable. Charmeuse can be difficult to work with, and likes unstructured construction. I tend to agree w/ fuzzygalore - if a pattern requires too many alterations, you are better off using a different one as your base.
3/25/07 5:08 PM
KateS said...
Besides the dart issues I think this is a really beautiful top- I can understand why you wanted to use this fabric. Pity the fabric is not as lovely to sew as it is to look at. I will be keeping this in mind if I ever feel like coughing up the money for real silk....
12/1/08 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sis Boom Jamie Dress

photo
by: Jeremmy

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop eDress

photo
by: jannw

Review