Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2966 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 971 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/07 2:52 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
You did a lot of hard work and it came out wonderful. Great job.
3/21/07 3:05 PM
Kay Y said...
I think you achieved a really lovely-looking top, despite your trouble with it. Maybe a FBA would make a difference in the front, but I think the back looks like it fits well. Enjoy wearing it!
3/21/07 4:34 PM
JenSews2 said...
Looks pretty, despite your trouble!
3/21/07 5:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, charmeuse was probably way too slippery, drapey, everything for this top. You might have been able to improve the darts by curving them a bit, or can't you press them better? Anyway, you should definitely give up when you start doing this many alterations :-)..
3/21/07 5:35 PM
carolynw said...
Terri I have been in the process of making a silk charmeuse blouse and the dart thing was a real problem - I ended up extending the dart over my bust point to try and not look too whatever. The pattern I used is one I had made three blouses from so it was a TNT - I think this silk charmeuse must have a tendency to show off darts in a most unflattering way!! I hope you will stick with this and work it out - expensive material and you have already put a lot of effort into it - revisit after a few days.
3/21/07 6:33 PM
Karen8320 said...
Terri, I understand your frustration about having to address so many issues with this top. However, I think it looks quite lovely and I would even go so far as to say glamorous. Sometimes we are far more critical of our work than others ever are. Thanks for your review. I found it helpful.
3/21/07 7:37 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a beautiful top.
3/21/07 11:18 PM
Jane S said...
I'm sorry that this didn't work out as planned but I'm grateful for your review. I have this pattern on my to sew pile and now have to consider how much effort it may take to make it work.
3/22/07 7:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really an excellent review. I've never sewn with silk charmeuse, but now I know to avoid anything with darts! Still, in spite of your troubles, the top is very pretty.
3/22/07 8:37 AM
AnneM said...
Tuck this in the closet for a bit and you will suddenly find it very wearable. Charmeuse can be difficult to work with, and likes unstructured construction. I tend to agree w/ fuzzygalore - if a pattern requires too many alterations, you are better off using a different one as your base.
3/25/07 5:08 PM
KateS said...
Besides the dart issues I think this is a really beautiful top- I can understand why you wanted to use this fabric. Pity the fabric is not as lovely to sew as it is to look at. I will be keeping this in mind if I ever feel like coughing up the money for real silk....
12/1/08 8:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 3906
photo
Review by jessika on 6/22/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5661
photo
Review by JenYard on 1/1/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7966 Pattern
Burda 7966 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us