SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2942 (Donna Karan Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2231 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 414 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/07 10:30 PM
Last Updated:3/22/07 10:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful! You know, I would love to see your photo sessions ... I have visions of you running back and forth into the house for a change of clothes, shoes piled up ready for the next outfit, and your DH waiting patiently at the end of the driveway. LOL! Your photos are always fantastic!
3/22/07 10:35 PM
RobynB said...
That is a fabulous dress. It looks perfect on you. And I love your ribbon sash. Actually I just love everything about it. :)
3/22/07 10:40 PM
jnamcd said...
I agree with Debbie --awesome photos! This dress looks great on you!!
3/22/07 10:50 PM
Lori V said...
I commented on your blog, but this dress deserves seveal comments. Awesome, you do incredible work. I would love to be at a photo shoot, too. Fun to watch plus get to see all you creations first hand!
3/22/07 10:56 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Absolutely stunning. I never would have guessed that this was a knit.
3/22/07 11:02 PM
carolynw said...
Oh my gosh Erica - this is absolutely gorgeous. How you keep doing this is amazing - you truly are gifted!!
3/22/07 11:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Stunning!!! The sash is the perfect finishing touch to pull in the waist and give the dress shape. Maybe we should organise to have a PR photo shoot at Erica's house. LOL!
3/22/07 11:09 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress as always. You do nice work and wear your outfits with panache.
3/22/07 11:35 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love this dress on you!!!! It looks fantastic.
3/22/07 11:39 PM
moushka said...
Erica, I always feel like I'm on a fashion shoot for Vogue when I see your fabulous garments and photos. You always look beautiful! Thank you for a great review. Are you going to make the jacket? The dress is stunning :-) Sue
3/22/07 11:49 PM
BeckyC said...
Your dress is absolutely stunning on you! Another wonderful garment that you've shared with us. Thank you!
3/23/07 0:10 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Thanks for the review. You look amazing in this dress! Nice fabric, too.
3/23/07 0:56 AM
Karen8320 said...
Erica, you truly are a very inspirational sewer. You make everything so individualized and special, with your own designer touch. I love seeing everything you sew. This is another gorgeous creation and, of course, you look stunning too!
3/23/07 1:23 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love the dress, style, photo ! Heck, everything is fabulous Erica :)))
3/23/07 1:31 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOWZAAAA!!! Love it, you look to good to be true, congrats, love the surroundings of the shoot too. Marita
3/23/07 2:02 AM
Tany said...
LOVE IT!! Five stars out of five!!!
3/23/07 5:44 AM
MissCelie said...
At first I just wanted to sew like you, now, I want to be 5'9 also! The dress is fabulous.
3/23/07 7:48 AM
lindrix said...
Erica this is a stunner! Very chic look and beautiful work. I too always enjoy your pictures.
3/23/07 8:06 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress! It looks great on you.
3/23/07 8:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow - what a winner! Fabulous execution, looks great on you.
3/23/07 9:01 AM
CarolynGM said...
I think this dress was designed especially for you.
3/23/07 9:08 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Oh my gosh - Erica - that is THE most fabulous dress! I definitely love everything that you review - and I enjoy reading your blog too. Simply gorgeous.
3/23/07 10:34 AM
greenmommie said...
amazing! The things you tackle amaze me. It's just beatufiul!
3/23/07 10:39 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Awesome dress, I always love the things you sew!
3/23/07 10:40 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, your result is so much nicer than the pattern picture. What a great sense of style and design in all your garments. Thanks for sharing them with us.
3/23/07 10:56 AM
Soliel said...
Looks very designer and suits you well. Wow, how elegant!
3/23/07 11:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
Woo Hoo EricaB! Terrific dress!!!
3/23/07 11:45 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Very couture!
3/23/07 11:52 AM
KarenP said...
Fabulous! It looks like a very expensive designer dress.
3/23/07 1:01 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Lovely. Absolutely beautiful.
3/23/07 1:07 PM
Janice C. said...
You will enjoy wearing such a fabulous dress.
3/23/07 1:24 PM
xela said...
Beautiful--you and the dress. Great review.
3/23/07 4:29 PM
TERRI said...
when I grow up want to be just like you...you go girl awsome i get excited as soon as i see your name ...i know it is a winner
3/23/07 6:24 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love Donna Karan designs and I love your dress! You did a really great job!
3/23/07 9:36 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful!!!!
3/23/07 11:16 PM
Charlene McGill said...
As always, excellent work. I agree with everything Karen8320 said previously. Looking forward to your next project. Happy Sewing!
3/24/07 1:05 AM
Heatherrique said...
Alluring, feminine, trendy all in one! Beautiful job, Erica!
3/24/07 1:08 AM
Marji said...
looks great! This one is on my cutting table right now, love your notes, they will come in helpful. I too want to be at your photo-shoots ;)
3/24/07 5:31 PM
Boo97 said...
Erica, I ALWAYS look forward to your reviews.
3/24/07 8:31 PM
Penny0903 said...
Are the pleat edges finished? I have the pattern and can't tell if top edges of pleats are finished, doesn't appear that way. My email Pennymortgages@aol.com Thank you
3/25/07 10:42 AM
madhatter said...
awesome! the dress is great, and you really can wear that in style!
3/26/07 6:24 AM
AnneM said...
Your ribbon addition really adds to this dress (and I'm someone who usually isn't a ribbon fan). You did a great job on this dress. And you must have a great wardrobe!
3/27/07 5:29 AM
kim*brown said...
Erica your dress turned out extremely sophisticated. I love it. I'm envisioning a sheer ribbon as well, the name of the fabric I'd use is on the tip of my tongue....I love how well it fits you! This would be a perfect dress for a summer wedding.
3/27/07 6:39 PM
cnp71203 said...
Wow, that looks fantastic on you!
4/8/07 1:32 AM
Squeezylemon said...
I agree with everyone above Erica - you are like a model for Vogue, and I just love every single outfit you make! Would you consider giving classes in how to be so stylish??!!
8/31/07 6:34 PM
Nancy K said...
Just beautiful and your photos are always great and informative.
9/15/07 9:08 AM
Mahler said...
Erica, This is simply magnificient ! You look so great and your dress is to dream for ! congratulations !
10/25/07 10:30 PM
AuntieShel said...
Erica, I thought I remembered that someone had reviewed this dress and went searching for the review--there was your beautiful dress. Your review was so helpful, the dress looks difficult to me, but you have convinced me that I could do it. Fabulous as always!! Thank you!
3/18/08 8:20 AM
thegreatzaza said...
Beautiful job on this dress, and thanks so much for the comment on the length. I would have been very unhappy if I'd have sewn this with the length as is. Your photos are high quality and very helpful. Thanks!
10/29/09 10:32 AM
Tishlishl said...
You absolutely do great work! I have this pattern also and have hesitated thinking it would make me look like I was wearing maternity--you added the ribbon for definition!!! Great idea. Wonderful construction, again!
2/3/10 2:48 PM
storres56 said...
Beautiful dress. I love your modifications.
5/1/10 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Simplicity 2145

photo
by: AnnikainSw...

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now