SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8181 (Misses' dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:24 PM
Last Updated:3/23/07 2:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said... (3/29/07 6:01 AM) Reply
My first and only attempt at this pattern also ended up on death row. and the gussets were a PITA as you've described. However your cute dress makes me want to try again. Thank you for your review.
AnneM said... (3/27/07 6:49 AM) Reply
Very nice dress - looks great on you. I would suggest NOT drinking the wine before trying gussets! Much safer afterwards. :) I typically do them separately, although I read Marji's tip recently on doing them in one fell swoop.
patsijean said... (3/24/07 3:26 PM) Reply
Your method of inserting the gussets is correct for getting a nice looking guesset. Quilters do this all the time they just don't call the pieces "gussets".
CarolynGM said... (3/24/07 12:04 PM) Reply
Great dress. So great that you really need to make it again and again.
OP Gal said... (3/24/07 10:30 AM) Reply
The dress looks like it fits like a glove, and the pattern doesn't look crooked. It sounds like you need to upgrade yourself to Advanced Beginner. Anyone who can successfully sew gussets ain't no beginner. :-) Loved your witty review. I'm looking forward to more from you.
Danvillegirl said... (3/24/07 8:58 AM) Reply
Great looking dress, lve the fabric.
ryan's mom said... (3/24/07 8:24 AM) Reply
Great dress, beautiful fit!!! No one will ever no you don't like gussets ;) !
Nancywin said... (3/24/07 2:19 AM) Reply
You did a great job on this dress - the fit is perfect. I have never come across a pattern with underarm gussets (thank goodness!)
marjenann said... (3/23/07 7:32 PM) Reply
Congratulations on a great looking dress! All of your hard work (and gussets) paid off!
Linda G said... (3/23/07 7:07 PM) Reply
I looks beautiful...I am happy that some one else has a few unfinished garments on death row...i just made a dress out of the burda magazine that is keeping yours company...I hardly ever have bad luck with Burda but there was a first.... Great review and I love the dress.
MarilynB said... (3/23/07 6:57 PM) Reply
This dress looks great on you. With time and experience, gussets will become easier to tolerate.
Mufffet said... (3/23/07 3:45 PM) Reply
Very nice dress - fits so well! :) Interesting writing style - funny! Thanks!
Elona said... (3/23/07 3:25 PM) Reply
That is a seriously cute dress. It fits beautifully, and I would never have guessed that you had such troubles with it.
Tall Mary said... (3/23/07 2:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful and funny review. I am sure that your sense of humor gets you through many tough situations. Many patterns assume that you have more background than you may actually have while others tell you stuff you already know. Vogue patterns, especially Sandra Betzina's lead you through each step with careful directions most of the time.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Serendipity Studio Sew Serendipity Bag (book

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Pattern Details