SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8181 (Misses' dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:24 PM
Last Updated:3/23/07 2:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
My first and only attempt at this pattern also ended up on death row. and the gussets were a PITA as you've described. However your cute dress makes me want to try again. Thank you for your review.
3/29/07 6:01 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress - looks great on you. I would suggest NOT drinking the wine before trying gussets! Much safer afterwards. :) I typically do them separately, although I read Marji's tip recently on doing them in one fell swoop.
3/27/07 6:49 AM
patsijean said...
Your method of inserting the gussets is correct for getting a nice looking guesset. Quilters do this all the time they just don't call the pieces "gussets".
3/24/07 3:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress. So great that you really need to make it again and again.
3/24/07 12:04 PM
OP Gal said...
The dress looks like it fits like a glove, and the pattern doesn't look crooked. It sounds like you need to upgrade yourself to Advanced Beginner. Anyone who can successfully sew gussets ain't no beginner. :-) Loved your witty review. I'm looking forward to more from you.
3/24/07 10:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress, lve the fabric.
3/24/07 8:58 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress, beautiful fit!!! No one will ever no you don't like gussets ;) !
3/24/07 8:24 AM
Nancywin said...
You did a great job on this dress - the fit is perfect. I have never come across a pattern with underarm gussets (thank goodness!)
3/24/07 2:19 AM
marjenann said...
Congratulations on a great looking dress! All of your hard work (and gussets) paid off!
3/23/07 7:32 PM
Linda G said...
I looks beautiful...I am happy that some one else has a few unfinished garments on death row...i just made a dress out of the burda magazine that is keeping yours company...I hardly ever have bad luck with Burda but there was a first.... Great review and I love the dress.
3/23/07 7:07 PM
MarilynB said...
This dress looks great on you. With time and experience, gussets will become easier to tolerate.
3/23/07 6:57 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress - fits so well! :) Interesting writing style - funny! Thanks!
3/23/07 3:45 PM
Elona said...
That is a seriously cute dress. It fits beautifully, and I would never have guessed that you had such troubles with it.
3/23/07 3:25 PM
Tall Mary said...
Thanks for the helpful and funny review. I am sure that your sense of humor gets you through many tough situations. Many patterns assume that you have more background than you may actually have while others tell you stuff you already know. Vogue patterns, especially Sandra Betzina's lead you through each step with careful directions most of the time.
3/23/07 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: atymonw

Review
Simplicity 3789 / 3990

photo
by: Sew Shy

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now