Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8181 (Misses' dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1427 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:24 PM
Last Updated:3/23/07 2:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tall Mary said...
Thanks for the helpful and funny review. I am sure that your sense of humor gets you through many tough situations. Many patterns assume that you have more background than you may actually have while others tell you stuff you already know. Vogue patterns, especially Sandra Betzina's lead you through each step with careful directions most of the time.
3/23/07 2:44 PM
Elona said...
That is a seriously cute dress. It fits beautifully, and I would never have guessed that you had such troubles with it.
3/23/07 3:25 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress - fits so well! :) Interesting writing style - funny! Thanks!
3/23/07 3:45 PM
MarilynB said...
This dress looks great on you. With time and experience, gussets will become easier to tolerate.
3/23/07 6:57 PM
Linda G said...
I looks beautiful...I am happy that some one else has a few unfinished garments on death row...i just made a dress out of the burda magazine that is keeping yours company...I hardly ever have bad luck with Burda but there was a first.... Great review and I love the dress.
3/23/07 7:07 PM
marjenann said...
Congratulations on a great looking dress! All of your hard work (and gussets) paid off!
3/23/07 7:32 PM
Nancywin said...
You did a great job on this dress - the fit is perfect. I have never come across a pattern with underarm gussets (thank goodness!)
3/24/07 2:19 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress, beautiful fit!!! No one will ever no you don't like gussets ;) !
3/24/07 8:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress, lve the fabric.
3/24/07 8:58 AM
OP Gal said...
The dress looks like it fits like a glove, and the pattern doesn't look crooked. It sounds like you need to upgrade yourself to Advanced Beginner. Anyone who can successfully sew gussets ain't no beginner. :-) Loved your witty review. I'm looking forward to more from you.
3/24/07 10:30 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress. So great that you really need to make it again and again.
3/24/07 12:04 PM
patsijean said...
Your method of inserting the gussets is correct for getting a nice looking guesset. Quilters do this all the time they just don't call the pieces "gussets".
3/24/07 3:26 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress - looks great on you. I would suggest NOT drinking the wine before trying gussets! Much safer afterwards. :) I typically do them separately, although I read Marji's tip recently on doing them in one fell swoop.
3/27/07 6:49 AM
valerie sews said...
My first and only attempt at this pattern also ended up on death row. and the gussets were a PITA as you've described. However your cute dress makes me want to try again. Thank you for your review.
3/29/07 6:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used No pattern number
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1801 Misses Dress
photo
Review by ThreadsofF... on 1/21/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us