SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8181 (Misses' dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:24 PM
Last Updated:3/23/07 2:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tall Mary said...
Thanks for the helpful and funny review. I am sure that your sense of humor gets you through many tough situations. Many patterns assume that you have more background than you may actually have while others tell you stuff you already know. Vogue patterns, especially Sandra Betzina's lead you through each step with careful directions most of the time.
3/23/07 2:44 PM
Elona said...
That is a seriously cute dress. It fits beautifully, and I would never have guessed that you had such troubles with it.
3/23/07 3:25 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress - fits so well! :) Interesting writing style - funny! Thanks!
3/23/07 3:45 PM
MarilynB said...
This dress looks great on you. With time and experience, gussets will become easier to tolerate.
3/23/07 6:57 PM
Linda G said...
I looks beautiful...I am happy that some one else has a few unfinished garments on death row...i just made a dress out of the burda magazine that is keeping yours company...I hardly ever have bad luck with Burda but there was a first.... Great review and I love the dress.
3/23/07 7:07 PM
marjenann said...
Congratulations on a great looking dress! All of your hard work (and gussets) paid off!
3/23/07 7:32 PM
Nancywin said...
You did a great job on this dress - the fit is perfect. I have never come across a pattern with underarm gussets (thank goodness!)
3/24/07 2:19 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress, beautiful fit!!! No one will ever no you don't like gussets ;) !
3/24/07 8:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress, lve the fabric.
3/24/07 8:58 AM
OP Gal said...
The dress looks like it fits like a glove, and the pattern doesn't look crooked. It sounds like you need to upgrade yourself to Advanced Beginner. Anyone who can successfully sew gussets ain't no beginner. :-) Loved your witty review. I'm looking forward to more from you.
3/24/07 10:30 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress. So great that you really need to make it again and again.
3/24/07 12:04 PM
patsijean said...
Your method of inserting the gussets is correct for getting a nice looking guesset. Quilters do this all the time they just don't call the pieces "gussets".
3/24/07 3:26 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress - looks great on you. I would suggest NOT drinking the wine before trying gussets! Much safer afterwards. :) I typically do them separately, although I read Marji's tip recently on doing them in one fell swoop.
3/27/07 6:49 AM
valerie sews said...
My first and only attempt at this pattern also ended up on death row. and the gussets were a PITA as you've described. However your cute dress makes me want to try again. Thank you for your review.
3/29/07 6:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6436

photo
by: Jamye

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6808

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review

Pattern