SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> V023 (Cute Skirts)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2210 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:36 PM
Last Updated:3/27/07 1:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
A lovely skirt Debbie and a belated Happy Birthday!
3/29/07 0:37 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Men! I hope you set him straight about the slip. I like the fabric, and the longer lining adds a nice girly touch.
3/28/07 11:20 AM
Marji said...
LOL, you are too funny. Overthinking indeed! Came out beautifully. I love that underskirt showing out the bottom. my dh would say exactly the same thing too ;)
3/28/07 9:48 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, Happy Birthday! Great skirt - you made it your own.
3/27/07 8:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Men! I hope you enjoyed your day and pressies. The skirt looks lovely on you.
3/27/07 7:49 PM
Tov said...
Cute skirt, and the blouse does match perfectly! Love the sandals as well. Hope your birthday was great!
3/27/07 4:45 PM
Janice C. said...
Lovely skirt - great fabric too !
3/27/07 3:57 PM
AnneM said...
The double layer makes the skirt look so summery; great idea.
3/27/07 9:58 AM
LiZ said...
Great skirt, I like the idea of the lining showing at the bottom.
3/24/07 4:41 PM
cecelia said...
Oh good, another "overthinker." I can identify with that. It came out very pretty though, ahhh, next time will be easy!
3/24/07 2:33 PM
OP Gal said...
I love it. What a breezy summer skirt. I really enjoyed reading the process involved in making this skirt. Now I know why you've called me on "overthinking" a time or two--you're a fellow victim of overthinking yourself! It takes one to know one, eh? lol
3/24/07 10:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern sounds intriguing! The two-layer approach looks great. The way you did the waistband turned out very smooth and professional looking.
3/24/07 7:30 AM
Rustybobn said...
Very nice, Debbie! Lovely garment, and as always an enjoyable (when you're reading about it) adventure to get there!
3/24/07 7:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Another gorgeous piece, Debbie! I can imagine myself listening tp Jimmy Buffett croon while sipping a tall glass of ..............icy strawberry Kool aid (stopped "drinking" real stuff years ago)
3/24/07 1:14 AM
Lori V said...
Cute skirt, Debbie.
3/23/07 10:00 PM
Hilary said...
Debbie, I *love* your skirt!! After all that effort, you came up with a lovely, summery & unique interpretation of this pattern! I really like the lining peeking out-it IS romantic :o) And I just knew it was yours when I saw the pic-the fabric is really cute! Well done, as always.
3/23/07 8:11 PM
PVA said...
Great skirt -- love the idea of more panels in the back & back waist with elastic! I did that once a long time ago as a result of a class with Judy Barlup. Thanks for reminding me! (That is the extra panel in the back. The elastic only in the back I haven't done . . . yet! (grin)
3/23/07 7:42 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute...funny I had a meeting out of town and was thinking about what things that I am going to finish sewing and was thinking the very same thing making the lining longer than the skirt ...there were a couple of cute ideas for that in the Jan Burda magazine that inspired me...we'll see if I get it done...you are an inspiration!!!
3/23/07 7:12 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great skirt! I really like the lining showing at the bottom. As for overthinking, don't we all do that? :) Another form is "analysis paralysis". At least you finished your skirt. ;-)
3/23/07 7:10 PM
BjP said...
What a fabulous result from your overthinking! Love, love the underskirt and your hem treatments.
3/23/07 5:52 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a very helpful review!
3/23/07 4:37 PM
carolynw said...
Good thinking and thanks for a good laugh - your skirt is lovely. Traipsing through a store today and saw a top exactly like the one you reviewed yesterday for $58 - we sewers are certainly ahead aren't we?
3/23/07 3:55 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cute skirt!
3/23/07 3:52 PM
patternJunkie said...
This is next on my list!!
3/23/07 3:49 PM
FloraNature said...
Very pretty and so creative - I've been thinking of doing something similar - I've got some nice cotton lawn embroidery anglaise that would look nice showing under a light summer skirt. Well done!!!
3/23/07 3:30 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful you overthinker you! lol I like it a lot! This is the most used skirt pattern in my collection. I like how easy it is to make and since I wear my shirts untucked, the back elastic waist doesn't bother me at all. As a matter of fact, I have about 6 more already cut out that I need to sew (all from marked down Tracy Porter fabric from Joann's ~ like $2/yd).
3/23/07 3:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

StyleArc Debra Zebra Top

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now