SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> V023 (Cute Skirts)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2208 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/07 2:36 PM
Last Updated:3/27/07 1:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful you overthinker you! lol I like it a lot! This is the most used skirt pattern in my collection. I like how easy it is to make and since I wear my shirts untucked, the back elastic waist doesn't bother me at all. As a matter of fact, I have about 6 more already cut out that I need to sew (all from marked down Tracy Porter fabric from Joann's ~ like $2/yd).
3/23/07 3:05 PM
FloraNature said...
Very pretty and so creative - I've been thinking of doing something similar - I've got some nice cotton lawn embroidery anglaise that would look nice showing under a light summer skirt. Well done!!!
3/23/07 3:30 PM
patternJunkie said...
This is next on my list!!
3/23/07 3:49 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cute skirt!
3/23/07 3:52 PM
carolynw said...
Good thinking and thanks for a good laugh - your skirt is lovely. Traipsing through a store today and saw a top exactly like the one you reviewed yesterday for $58 - we sewers are certainly ahead aren't we?
3/23/07 3:55 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a very helpful review!
3/23/07 4:37 PM
BjP said...
What a fabulous result from your overthinking! Love, love the underskirt and your hem treatments.
3/23/07 5:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great skirt! I really like the lining showing at the bottom. As for overthinking, don't we all do that? :) Another form is "analysis paralysis". At least you finished your skirt. ;-)
3/23/07 7:10 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute...funny I had a meeting out of town and was thinking about what things that I am going to finish sewing and was thinking the very same thing making the lining longer than the skirt ...there were a couple of cute ideas for that in the Jan Burda magazine that inspired me...we'll see if I get it done...you are an inspiration!!!
3/23/07 7:12 PM
PVA said...
Great skirt -- love the idea of more panels in the back & back waist with elastic! I did that once a long time ago as a result of a class with Judy Barlup. Thanks for reminding me! (That is the extra panel in the back. The elastic only in the back I haven't done . . . yet! (grin)
3/23/07 7:42 PM
Hilary said...
Debbie, I *love* your skirt!! After all that effort, you came up with a lovely, summery & unique interpretation of this pattern! I really like the lining peeking out-it IS romantic :o) And I just knew it was yours when I saw the pic-the fabric is really cute! Well done, as always.
3/23/07 8:11 PM
Lori V said...
Cute skirt, Debbie.
3/23/07 10:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Another gorgeous piece, Debbie! I can imagine myself listening tp Jimmy Buffett croon while sipping a tall glass of ..............icy strawberry Kool aid (stopped "drinking" real stuff years ago)
3/24/07 1:14 AM
Rustybobn said...
Very nice, Debbie! Lovely garment, and as always an enjoyable (when you're reading about it) adventure to get there!
3/24/07 7:10 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern sounds intriguing! The two-layer approach looks great. The way you did the waistband turned out very smooth and professional looking.
3/24/07 7:30 AM
OP Gal said...
I love it. What a breezy summer skirt. I really enjoyed reading the process involved in making this skirt. Now I know why you've called me on "overthinking" a time or two--you're a fellow victim of overthinking yourself! It takes one to know one, eh? lol
3/24/07 10:17 AM
cecelia said...
Oh good, another "overthinker." I can identify with that. It came out very pretty though, ahhh, next time will be easy!
3/24/07 2:33 PM
LiZ said...
Great skirt, I like the idea of the lining showing at the bottom.
3/24/07 4:41 PM
AnneM said...
The double layer makes the skirt look so summery; great idea.
3/27/07 9:58 AM
Janice C. said...
Lovely skirt - great fabric too !
3/27/07 3:57 PM
Tov said...
Cute skirt, and the blouse does match perfectly! Love the sandals as well. Hope your birthday was great!
3/27/07 4:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Men! I hope you enjoyed your day and pressies. The skirt looks lovely on you.
3/27/07 7:49 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, Happy Birthday! Great skirt - you made it your own.
3/27/07 8:14 PM
Marji said...
LOL, you are too funny. Overthinking indeed! Came out beautifully. I love that underskirt showing out the bottom. my dh would say exactly the same thing too ;)
3/28/07 9:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Men! I hope you set him straight about the slip. I like the fabric, and the longer lining adds a nice girly touch.
3/28/07 11:20 AM
Schnauzer said...
A lovely skirt Debbie and a belated Happy Birthday!
3/29/07 0:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6130

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now