SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2006-121 (Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1018 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews: 285 (patterns: 241)
Favored by: 128 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/26/07 8:43 PM
Last Updated:3/26/07 8:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Nancywin using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said... (3/28/07 12:40 PM) Reply
The pants look great--they were already on my list of things to make. Thanks for the review!
Heatherrique said... (3/28/07 0:53 AM) Reply
Sizzling pants!
Nancywin said... (3/27/07 1:43 PM) Reply
SS - thanks, I'll give it a try!
cindy-lou said... (3/27/07 1:18 PM) Reply
Love the pants and the review! Personally, I think these will be great travel-to-Hawaii pants because 1) it's hot there, and 2) all hotels have irons now. If you're camping out, you might have to re-think them; otherwise, pack 'em, baby! BEAUTIFUL WORK!
Chris Kelly said... (3/27/07 1:05 PM) Reply
Thanks for a great review..
Seamingly Simple said... (3/27/07 10:42 AM) Reply
This looks like a good basic trousers pattern. I might be able to help with the fit. According to the wrinkle chart in the Minott Method book on skirts and pants, the diagonal wrinkles at the back are caused by the inseam being positioned too far out. To address it you should cut the pattern off just above the knee, slide the lower leg inward, and redraw the inseam and outseams. They say this is common for women with wide hips because unless we stand with our legs apart, the line of the fabric must bend inward, creating the lower half of a diamond between our hips and ankles. HTH.
Nancywin said... (3/27/07 9:43 AM) Reply
I think this is going to have to be a "practice" travel wardrobe since this fabric is such a bear. It will be perfect for here anyway since it gets so hot in the summer. Our trip to Hawaii is not until December, so I have plenty of time to do it again!
JuliaS said... (3/27/07 8:19 AM) Reply
You crack me up! :) I think it's very funny that the fabric you picked for your travel wardrobe wrinkles terribly. So sorry about that! Maybe it would be better suited to staying close to home where the iron lives...
mochalover said... (3/27/07 6:00 AM) Reply
Your pants look great. You have inspired me to try this pattern for myself.
Margie T said... (3/27/07 3:51 AM) Reply
Great looking pants. Excellent review-thank you.
RuthieSews said... (3/27/07 3:34 AM) Reply
The pants look great. Not sure if you really want them in your travel wardrobe if they wrinkle terribly. I try to wash and wear everything for trips before going and anything that crinkles or creases gets left at home.
ElsaD said... (3/27/07 0:30 AM) Reply
The pants look very good. Congratulations!
Kay Romo said... (3/27/07 0:20 AM) Reply
Just wondering if back crotch part of U needs to be hollowed out?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-1996-417

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Pattern Details
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review