SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9958 (Boxer Shorts)

44 more reviews
Viewed 451 times 
Reviewed by:blytheak
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About blytheakstar
AK USA
Member since: 11/7/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/07 4:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
Sorry these didn't work out for you. If you type the pattern number in the search box, you will see several previous reviews of this pattern that may be helpful.
3/27/07 4:14 PM
CM_Sews said...
I've made a number of these. They work for my guy, but that may have more to do with his body shape. Note that the measurement numbers on the pattern pieces are NOT waist or hip measurements, but chest measurements for that size (S, M, L, etc.). Idiotic, but true. If you were sizing by the measurements marked on the pattern, you may have ended up with the wrong size. The instructions do leave a LOT to be desired. I read the previous reviews before I started and made stiff paper templates to mark the stitching lines for the top stitching. Other than the rather vague instructions about how to stitch the fly front, I pretty much ignored the rest of instructions. Simplicity wants you to sew everything together, THEN do the top stitching on the fly front. As if! I pressed all the hems and folds first on the flat pieces. The first seam I sewed was the fly front seam and the top stitching, when I could sew with the pieces flat. Then I sewed the back seam, the "bottom" seam (up one leg and down the other), flat felling all seams. The hems and the waist band fold were already pressed and ready to sew.
3/27/07 4:37 PM
LornaJay said...
I'm really sorry these didn't work for you. I'm making several for my brother, and he has asked for the crotch length to be shortened a lot, and the leg length a little - but otherwise he likes them.
3/27/07 5:47 PM
ladybegood said...
Kwik Sew is supposed to have really good instructions, so maybe their boxers would work better. Like CM_Sews, I too made a template to mark where to stitch the fly, and I think this would be helpful whichever pattern you use.
3/27/07 6:34 PM
Melody said...
I'm sorry this didn't work for you. I've made about a million (almost literally) of the Kwik Sew version (1672, I think). Anyway, I much prefer KS to these, I've made these and been less than impressed as well. I hope you find your boxer short mojo.
3/27/07 7:33 PM
AnneM said...
So, tell us what you really think of this pattern? ;) Shame it didn't work for you. Sounds like CM-Sews has identified some of the issues. Kwik-Sew really does have better instructions than most, & you might feel more comfortable with one of their patterns.
4/7/07 9:27 AM
goneaussieheidi said...
Hmmm...., I agree. I just finished making these for my husband and though they technically fit fine, they look dorky. I think they are too high waisted with too much room in the legs. The instructions were frustrating in that they didn't describe anything!
10/28/07 1:40 AM
FarmhouseChick said...
The comment about the sizing in the comments section saved me. I thought they were discussing waist sizes. Thanks CM_Sews.
4/28/14 7:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review
Contest 0000

photo
by: nosila

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now