Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9958 (Boxer Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 449 times 44 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:blytheak
photo
Friend of PR
About blytheakstar
AK USA
Member since: 11/7/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/07 4:00 PM
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
Sorry these didn't work out for you. If you type the pattern number in the search box, you will see several previous reviews of this pattern that may be helpful.
3/27/07 4:14 PM
CM_Sews said...
I've made a number of these. They work for my guy, but that may have more to do with his body shape. Note that the measurement numbers on the pattern pieces are NOT waist or hip measurements, but chest measurements for that size (S, M, L, etc.). Idiotic, but true. If you were sizing by the measurements marked on the pattern, you may have ended up with the wrong size. The instructions do leave a LOT to be desired. I read the previous reviews before I started and made stiff paper templates to mark the stitching lines for the top stitching. Other than the rather vague instructions about how to stitch the fly front, I pretty much ignored the rest of instructions. Simplicity wants you to sew everything together, THEN do the top stitching on the fly front. As if! I pressed all the hems and folds first on the flat pieces. The first seam I sewed was the fly front seam and the top stitching, when I could sew with the pieces flat. Then I sewed the back seam, the "bottom" seam (up one leg and down the other), flat felling all seams. The hems and the waist band fold were already pressed and ready to sew.
3/27/07 4:37 PM
LornaJay said...
I'm really sorry these didn't work for you. I'm making several for my brother, and he has asked for the crotch length to be shortened a lot, and the leg length a little - but otherwise he likes them.
3/27/07 5:47 PM
ladybegood said...
Kwik Sew is supposed to have really good instructions, so maybe their boxers would work better. Like CM_Sews, I too made a template to mark where to stitch the fly, and I think this would be helpful whichever pattern you use.
3/27/07 6:34 PM
Melody said...
I'm sorry this didn't work for you. I've made about a million (almost literally) of the Kwik Sew version (1672, I think). Anyway, I much prefer KS to these, I've made these and been less than impressed as well. I hope you find your boxer short mojo.
3/27/07 7:33 PM
AnneM said...
So, tell us what you really think of this pattern? ;) Shame it didn't work for you. Sounds like CM-Sews has identified some of the issues. Kwik-Sew really does have better instructions than most, & you might feel more comfortable with one of their patterns.
4/7/07 9:27 AM
goneaussieheidi said...
Hmmm...., I agree. I just finished making these for my husband and though they technically fit fine, they look dorky. I think they are too high waisted with too much room in the legs. The instructions were frustrating in that they didn't describe anything!
10/28/07 1:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Wild Ginger Curves - Swimsuit
photo
Review by avancleve on 7/21/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9547 Girls' Jacket
photo
Review by piakdy on 8/17/13
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us