SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4118 (dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1469 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/07 8:42 PM
Last Updated:3/27/07 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful job. I think a matching plaid jacket would look great!!!
5/13/07 8:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
How could I have missed this very cute dress! Beautifully done, Linda! I always look forward to your reviews and outfits!
4/21/07 3:16 PM
Nancywin said...
Great job on this dress. It fits you wonderfully. I have a plaid similar to this and like Seamingl said, it will act like a solid. I think the same fabric jacket would look elegant. You could add a touch of trim or contrast collar like KK suggested if you want to change it up a bit.
4/21/07 12:33 PM
AnneM said...
Nice dress, and what a bargin. A 'custom suit' is always appropriate, so you could certain make a matching jacket. Perhaps as a shorter crop jacket?
4/7/07 9:21 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
The plaid is very subtle and reads as a solid colour from a distance. Because of this, and the elegant colour, I think a matching jacket would look classy. Also, you could wear that jacket with black trousers.
4/4/07 3:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great dress! I think this dress is so simplistically pretty, you can wear it with pretty much anything you want. Beautiful!
3/29/07 9:37 AM
Annette1 said...
Ooooo, I really like your idea of running the darts all the way down for a princess seam look. I may steal that one from you sometime. :o) Great job on matching up your plaids, too. As for the matching jacket, I say go for it! Like you say, if it ends up that you don't like it with the dress, you can always mix and match it with other things in your wardrobe.
3/29/07 0:11 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great fit! I am a matchy matchy girl and I would do a jacket to match. But I do like the idea of a binding or trim somewhere in a darker grey or black to give it a bit more interest. Or if you left it plain then you could add interest in necklace and shoes - either texture or another fun colour.
3/28/07 8:25 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your dress is beautiful! Well done. :)
3/28/07 8:22 PM
Tany said...
Lovely dress! I know how hard it can be to perffectly match the plaids like you did, very well done!
3/28/07 6:09 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's a beautiful dress! I love the monochromatic look for simple sophisticated styles, and if you had made this out of a solid, I would have voted for a matching jacket. But the fabric you used is a beautiful plaid, and a plaid jacket over a plaid dress might be a little too much (it would also be difficult lining up the plaid of the jacket to match the dress), so my vote is for a contrasting jacket.
3/28/07 11:22 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful fit and it looks lovely on you - if you do make a matching jacket could you do lapels - sleeve cuffs in a contrast to break up too much plaid look? Personally I would wear it with a solid color contrast jacket for the best effect.
3/28/07 10:43 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, thank you so much for this review. Your dress loks terrific and I'm inpsired because we have the same size changes in Simplicity. Those bust cup fronts make it so much easier! I like the idea of a matching jacket with sharp trim or soft contrast fabric that uses this fabric as trim.
3/28/07 9:33 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress- I agree that a jacket from the same fabric may be a bit matchy matchy, but adding some solid contrast would look good
3/28/07 8:45 AM
Karine said...
What a great fit on the dress - good work! I'd do a plaid jacket, with black trim to avoid it looking too monochromatic.
3/28/07 8:29 AM
jbrewer said...
I think a matching jacket could work if you use trim wisely. For example, I can see a binding that encloses the neckline, bottom, sleeve cuffs, and center front facing. Binding could be any color. Big buttons to match the binding would add color throughout the jacket.
3/28/07 7:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great dress! It looks terrific on you and very versatile as you mentioned.
3/28/07 6:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Fantastic dress. Perfect fit, matching, style ... everything!
3/27/07 11:14 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I don't think a matching jacket would be bad - but a contrasting jacket would probably be what you'd reach for, just to provide more interest. The fit of your dress is perfect, and will look wonderful no matter what you wear with it. *Edit* Oh happy day, I checked the Simplicity site and realized that I just bought this one for my daughter. I hope the results will be as nice as yours.
3/27/07 11:07 PM
rivergum said...
Nice job on the dress! I think a black jacket would be better than a matching one, but that's just my preference.
3/27/07 10:51 PM
Terri Smith said...
This dress looks great. Good job on matching the plaid. In MHO, I think a contrasting jacket would be best.
3/27/07 9:39 PM
Pinkytoo said...
BEAUTIFUL job matching the plaids! Great dress. As to your question, I think a matching jacket might be a bit much - there are so many solid colors that would go with this (red, teal, bright yellow, etc. etc. ) I'd go with the solid for now; you can always come back to the plaid. I LOVE this dress!
3/27/07 8:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

StyleArc Linda Stretch Pant

photo
by: KatC83

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

More Info
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info