Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1563 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squilts
photo
About squiltsstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/24/06
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/07 2:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Regardless of the issues you had, the finished dress looks very cute on you. Your review should be helpful to others contemplating this pattern.
3/28/07 4:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh I was so surprised to see it didn't work for you. I think it looks great on you, but if it's not you, well then what can a girl do? Thanks for posting the review!
3/28/07 4:30 PM
Nancywin said...
I think your dress looks great on you and I like the shorter length. I have made this dress and will make it again, I think shorter, like you did. I'm sorry it did not work for you. I've found on really stretchy fabric, it sometimes helps to stretch the seam when you sew it so that you don't end up with the "droop" like you show in your review. The fabric you choose looks great, but is difficult to work with. If you try this dress again in a buttermilk, or one of the microfiber knits sold on Textile Studios, you may have very different results. That being said, I think it looks great on you!
3/28/07 4:39 PM
greenmommie said...
I think the dress looks great on you! On the serged seams, I've had that problem before when serging heavy stretchy knits (slinky). Lowering your diff feed can help but if it's already sewn, I've had luck with giving the seam a few gentle stretches to loosen that drawing up effect. Hope that makes sense!?
3/28/07 4:41 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute in the shorter length!
3/28/07 4:58 PM
carolynw said...
Very surprised to read "did not work for me" as when I looked at the photo (before reading the review) I thought "how neat". However, that being said if you don't feel right in it then I guess you won't be happy wearing it. Maybe trying a lighter fabric may help?
3/28/07 5:03 PM
cindy-lou said...
Might sound like a broken record here, but... I'm with the other commentors-- I think this si a great dress on you! It has a '60's Little-Black-Dress feel. Please consider doing it again with different fabric, since you now have all the kinks worked out!
3/28/07 5:30 PM
squilts said...
Well, I picked the most flattering picture to post, and I guess it worked. The straight on photos, where you can see the wide shoulders and the full length of black were just to embarassingly bleh to post! At this point, I'm not willing to rework this when there are so many other patterns I could try for a similar look.
3/28/07 6:07 PM
MissCelie said...
Call me crazy, but methinks you look great. Seriously. Just my unsolicited 2 cents.
3/28/07 6:26 PM
Sewliz said...
Even if you don't like the dress you did make a cute dress. It seems this dress does better in a fabric with more motion, something like a slinky knit. I think if you cut in the extending shoulder area to show off the shoulder part of your arm that it might change the dress a lot, perhaps more to your liking. That would be an easy fix to try.
3/28/07 6:50 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I's just repeat everything everyone has already said about stretchier seams and narrower shoulders... But I think you're being too harsh about the side seam falling in - it seems to me that's meant that way, so that the silhouette looks slimmer while you're standing there, and you still have a lot of movement when you're trying to walk. I do agree that the neckline fold works better in heavier fabrics when you give it another 1/2-1" in width. That said, I also very much agree with your length being better.
3/29/07 3:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your dress looks terrific! I have to comment on that front seam issue. I've made this dress twice--once in an inexpensive lightweight pane velvet, the second in a nice quality, medium weight velvet from Textile Studios. I got the same issue on the front seam near the bottom on the cheapo pane velvet, but not on the better quality material. My dress is long and flowy, so it isn't that noticeable, but good fabric really made the difference on that issue.
3/29/07 6:55 AM
pamici said...
Well, it's still mighty cute ... and I *love* your shoes!!
3/29/07 10:10 PM
AnneM said...
Didn't work? It looks great. I've had that gathering happen to me; sometimes I like using a zig-zag better than the serger. The shorter length is a great alternative look on this.
4/8/07 9:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 4565 Vintage Dress
photo
Review by Sickofitci... on 11/2/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7969
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 1/24/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us