SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1566 times 
Reviewed by:squilts
photo

 
 
About squiltsstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/24/06
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/07 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Didn't work? It looks great. I've had that gathering happen to me; sometimes I like using a zig-zag better than the serger. The shorter length is a great alternative look on this.
4/8/07 9:23 AM
pamici said...
Well, it's still mighty cute ... and I *love* your shoes!!
3/29/07 10:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your dress looks terrific! I have to comment on that front seam issue. I've made this dress twice--once in an inexpensive lightweight pane velvet, the second in a nice quality, medium weight velvet from Textile Studios. I got the same issue on the front seam near the bottom on the cheapo pane velvet, but not on the better quality material. My dress is long and flowy, so it isn't that noticeable, but good fabric really made the difference on that issue.
3/29/07 6:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I's just repeat everything everyone has already said about stretchier seams and narrower shoulders... But I think you're being too harsh about the side seam falling in - it seems to me that's meant that way, so that the silhouette looks slimmer while you're standing there, and you still have a lot of movement when you're trying to walk. I do agree that the neckline fold works better in heavier fabrics when you give it another 1/2-1" in width. That said, I also very much agree with your length being better.
3/29/07 3:45 AM
Sewliz said...
Even if you don't like the dress you did make a cute dress. It seems this dress does better in a fabric with more motion, something like a slinky knit. I think if you cut in the extending shoulder area to show off the shoulder part of your arm that it might change the dress a lot, perhaps more to your liking. That would be an easy fix to try.
3/28/07 6:50 PM
MissCelie said...
Call me crazy, but methinks you look great. Seriously. Just my unsolicited 2 cents.
3/28/07 6:26 PM
squilts said...
Well, I picked the most flattering picture to post, and I guess it worked. The straight on photos, where you can see the wide shoulders and the full length of black were just to embarassingly bleh to post! At this point, I'm not willing to rework this when there are so many other patterns I could try for a similar look.
3/28/07 6:07 PM
cindy-lou said...
Might sound like a broken record here, but... I'm with the other commentors-- I think this si a great dress on you! It has a '60's Little-Black-Dress feel. Please consider doing it again with different fabric, since you now have all the kinks worked out!
3/28/07 5:30 PM
carolynw said...
Very surprised to read "did not work for me" as when I looked at the photo (before reading the review) I thought "how neat". However, that being said if you don't feel right in it then I guess you won't be happy wearing it. Maybe trying a lighter fabric may help?
3/28/07 5:03 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute in the shorter length!
3/28/07 4:58 PM
greenmommie said...
I think the dress looks great on you! On the serged seams, I've had that problem before when serging heavy stretchy knits (slinky). Lowering your diff feed can help but if it's already sewn, I've had luck with giving the seam a few gentle stretches to loosen that drawing up effect. Hope that makes sense!?
3/28/07 4:41 PM
Nancywin said...
I think your dress looks great on you and I like the shorter length. I have made this dress and will make it again, I think shorter, like you did. I'm sorry it did not work for you. I've found on really stretchy fabric, it sometimes helps to stretch the seam when you sew it so that you don't end up with the "droop" like you show in your review. The fabric you choose looks great, but is difficult to work with. If you try this dress again in a buttermilk, or one of the microfiber knits sold on Textile Studios, you may have very different results. That being said, I think it looks great on you!
3/28/07 4:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh I was so surprised to see it didn't work for you. I think it looks great on you, but if it's not you, well then what can a girl do? Thanks for posting the review!
3/28/07 4:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
Regardless of the issues you had, the finished dress looks very cute on you. Your review should be helpful to others contemplating this pattern.
3/28/07 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity S1696

photo
by: Gatorbunny

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now