SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2882 (Tom & Linda Platt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 869 times 
Reviewed by:jocelynaus
photo

 
 
About jocelynausstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/07 10:13 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sherain said...
Good job! Nice outfit!
3/31/07 10:36 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. This will be very helpful to anyone wanting to make that top. I can't believe it has a zip! :)
3/31/07 11:56 PM
Huldra said...
I'm planning on making this top soon, so your review is really helpful. I have a question though. Does your fabric have more stretch than the fabrics the top is designed for? I would be really nervous omitting the zipper if I didn't know I could get it on afterwards. Maybe I will try the version with a zipper first, just in case... :) I think your version sounds like it would be less dressy, which is a positive thing!
4/1/07 4:21 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Charming. Beautiful marriage of fabric and design.
4/1/07 8:11 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for sharing ways of improving the pattern. I can't see why this top would need a zipper. Eliminating facings saves time and fabric: well done!
4/1/07 8:30 AM
jocelynaus said...
Thanks everyone, I am really pleased with it too! Huldra, the pattern calls for jersey, or specifically I think it should strech from 13cm to 17cm. The first time I made it I did install the zip, but only used it to get it on/off the dress form, not me. That fabric's stretch was a little shy of the recommended. I wore that one to the Opera house. The version pictured was for a picnic in the park and had the right stretch though. Why not have a go, but only tack the center back seam?
4/1/07 8:51 AM
Linda G said...
Looks very nice and a pattern that will get losts of use the way it sounds.
4/1/07 9:39 AM
Ciclista said...
What a great outfit! Loved your choice of stripe for the top.
4/1/07 2:43 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the very detailed review. I love your outfit -- better than the pictures on the pattern itself. :o)
4/2/07 3:44 AM
cindy-lou said...
Great top! I will seek this pattern out-- I have stashed fabric in mind for it. Thanks for the great review!
4/2/07 10:51 AM
AnneM said...
Sometimes I wonder why they suggest zippers with knit garments. Great looking outfit (love that striped top). What a great skirt design as well.
4/11/07 4:50 AM
Nancy K said...
I just reviewed the other top in this pattern and I couldn't figure out why they would put a zipper in these knit tops so I left it off. I agree with you about the over engineering of these tops. Yours looks quite lovely and I want to sew the skirt too as yours looks terrific. Flattering drape.
11/24/07 2:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6607

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now