SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2882 (Tom & Linda Platt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 870 times 
Reviewed by:jocelynaus
photo

 
 
About jocelynausstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/07 10:13 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
I just reviewed the other top in this pattern and I couldn't figure out why they would put a zipper in these knit tops so I left it off. I agree with you about the over engineering of these tops. Yours looks quite lovely and I want to sew the skirt too as yours looks terrific. Flattering drape.
11/24/07 2:35 PM
AnneM said...
Sometimes I wonder why they suggest zippers with knit garments. Great looking outfit (love that striped top). What a great skirt design as well.
4/11/07 4:50 AM
cindy-lou said...
Great top! I will seek this pattern out-- I have stashed fabric in mind for it. Thanks for the great review!
4/2/07 10:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the very detailed review. I love your outfit -- better than the pictures on the pattern itself. :o)
4/2/07 3:44 AM
Ciclista said...
What a great outfit! Loved your choice of stripe for the top.
4/1/07 2:43 PM
Linda G said...
Looks very nice and a pattern that will get losts of use the way it sounds.
4/1/07 9:39 AM
jocelynaus said...
Thanks everyone, I am really pleased with it too! Huldra, the pattern calls for jersey, or specifically I think it should strech from 13cm to 17cm. The first time I made it I did install the zip, but only used it to get it on/off the dress form, not me. That fabric's stretch was a little shy of the recommended. I wore that one to the Opera house. The version pictured was for a picnic in the park and had the right stretch though. Why not have a go, but only tack the center back seam?
4/1/07 8:51 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for sharing ways of improving the pattern. I can't see why this top would need a zipper. Eliminating facings saves time and fabric: well done!
4/1/07 8:30 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Charming. Beautiful marriage of fabric and design.
4/1/07 8:11 AM
Huldra said...
I'm planning on making this top soon, so your review is really helpful. I have a question though. Does your fabric have more stretch than the fabrics the top is designed for? I would be really nervous omitting the zipper if I didn't know I could get it on afterwards. Maybe I will try the version with a zipper first, just in case... :) I think your version sounds like it would be less dressy, which is a positive thing!
4/1/07 4:21 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. This will be very helpful to anyone wanting to make that top. I can't believe it has a zip! :)
3/31/07 11:56 PM
sherain said...
Good job! Nice outfit!
3/31/07 10:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-128

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now