SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1421 times 
Reviewed by:KempCorr
photo

 
 
About KempCorrstar
Member since: 12/21/06
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/07 10:22 PM
Last Updated:4/2/07 10:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karine said...
Thanks for all of your comments on this pattern. I've been sitting on it for some time and it's so helpful to hear how it's making up for others. Would love to see your jacket - hope you get your upload.
4/2/07 8:15 AM
seeinspotz said...
Thanks for the thorough review. Your jacket looks great on you!! I think sometimes we over analyze. It is sometimes good to see it through someone elses eyes!!
4/2/07 11:31 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I agree with you about lining a jacket. The lining makes it nicer to put on and take off, and seems to improve the hang. The colour you chose is very practical and likely to get a lot of wear. Nice job.
4/2/07 11:36 PM
rivergum said...
Your suit looks really nice. Very dressy and I would not worry about the wrinkles, I think sewists are paranoid when nobody cares with RTW.
4/3/07 2:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This jacket looks very good on you, stop worrying :-). The double-breasted thing just gives it the look of princess lines, which work very well. That said, keep in mind that the original is of very lightweight drapey fabric, say rayon blends, which is partly why linings aren't necessary, they don't stick like wool. And a jacket that was neither interfaced nor lined would feel and act lighter. I totally agree with lining wool, but maybe you should give this a second chance with the fabric and Armani-like construction it was meant to have? You might be happier?
4/3/07 3:40 AM
carolynw said...
Forget the wrinkles you look absolutely smashing in this!!
4/3/07 7:44 AM
dbsewer said...
I really like this on you. It's very classy. I agree about lining, I usually line my LH projects or at least underline. Loes lives in a warm climate and her designs are meant to be very casual slip on and off with little tailoring. These are more instant gratification patterns. Still, I like to line and your outfit looks great.
4/3/07 8:27 AM
SarahWeb said...
You look great! You did a nice job on the suit. As to the concerns you have, such as wide sleeve, I agree with other comments that perhaps the drapier fabrics would behave a little more to your liking for this style. I hear that LH designs her patterns to be used with very drapey fabrics. Maybe it's worth a second try, just to find out. Anyway, in the meantime, enjoy this very classy outfit!
4/3/07 9:09 AM
Hilary said...
Your suit is gorgeous, and very pretty on you!
4/3/07 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, I didn't even notice any wrinkles, except in your description. :o) I only noticed a very classy lady standing there in a very classy suit! As for the double-breasted style, I think it's very flattering, due to the fact that you don't actually have two rows of buttons running down the front, but just have the graceful drape across the front. This is a keeper!
4/4/07 2:26 AM
cecelia said...
Very attractive "suit." The jacket really looks nice on you, and I hope you'll make it again. Congrats on your wgt. loss!
4/4/07 8:49 AM
AnneM said...
A digital camera is a great sewing tool. I really like your suit. It looks very nice while being a little different - and more feminine - than many other jackets. I think because of this, the double-breasted look works just fine for you.
4/12/07 5:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 3503

photo
by: LakesideLa...

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now
Burda Easy Fashion Magazine 10-2009-16A

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review