SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2007-121 (Knotted Front Knit Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 9:22 AM
Last Updated:4/2/07 9:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Patty, the hole is still there, but I tied the knot so tight that you can't see it. I think that is just the way it fits women with a smaller bust (I had to tie it tighter to keep it close to my chest). Larger chested women might find that the hole shows, but I don't know for sure. I hope that explaination makes sense. :-)
4/5/07 10:13 AM
ChristineX said...
Yes thank you for the review! I loved the pattern the second I saw it and it is on my list of things to make. It looks fantastic!
4/4/07 2:16 PM
PattyU said...
I love your top. It looks great. I don't see the hole that is under the knot on both of the model's tops in the magazine. Did you do anything to avoid this? The hole that shows skin BELOW the knot is the main concern I have with this pattern. Great tip about doubling the front.
4/4/07 11:19 AM
martinanne said...
Wonderful top! You look fab in black, Melissa!
4/3/07 10:45 AM
Jane S said...
This is wonderful on you. It will definitely be a winner. Thanks for the suggestion about doubling the frint. The first twist top made me subscribe to BWOF now I'm glad not to miss an issue and have this one ready to make.
4/3/07 7:15 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful!
4/2/07 6:23 PM
MeganJ said...
Thanks for the review. I love this top! It looks great on you, too!
4/2/07 4:25 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh so cute! Looks really nice.
4/2/07 1:49 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute! It is on my list and I've been hoping for someone to review it :)
4/2/07 12:56 PM
slanden99 said...
Cute top! Love the design
4/2/07 11:26 AM
breathless said...
I love your top! It's going on my list too!
4/2/07 10:49 AM
Lynngray said...
Great top. Thanks for the review.
4/2/07 10:41 AM
cindy-lou said...
Melissa, you've done it again. Fabulous top! Maybe I need to try out Burda.
4/2/07 10:34 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a great top, Melissa!
4/2/07 10:19 AM
Levone said...
Great looking top! I think I will put this on my LONG list of items to make from the magazine.
4/2/07 9:43 AM
Nancywin said...
Wat a great looking top on you! I will have to try this one. Also, thanks for the lining/facing tip. I will keep that in mind
4/2/07 9:26 AM
pterion said...
Very flattering, Melissa! I may have to go get this issue...
4/2/07 9:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks for your sweet comments ladies! And yes, it's the March issue, that is what I get for doing a review late at night, apparently I can't type! LOL All fixed so others can find it later - thanks for pointing that out!
4/2/07 9:23 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
It does look just like the appealing top in the magazine (as Debbie noted, it's 03-2007-121B from the March issue). I was hoping someone would review it. Thanks for sharing your happy sewing experience.
4/2/07 8:30 AM
quilter55 said...
Looks like you got a perfect fit with this top. Thanks for the great review.
4/2/07 7:56 AM
F and L said...
Your top looks great. I've been eyeing making that one too, and your review about the upper part of the bodice and the ties is really helpful.
4/2/07 7:31 AM
F and L said...
Your top looks great. I've been eyeing making that one too, and your review about the upper part of the bodice and the ties is really helpful.
4/2/07 7:31 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute Melissa! You look good in black. If you didn't want to face the whole upper bodice (good idea BTW), you could just face the end of the ties so the wrong side doesn't show. BTW, this top is really in the March 07 issue -- I went looking for the line drawing.
4/2/07 7:01 AM
Lunar_C said...
Fab top, yes flattering indeed. I just love a new knit top with fun features. Thanks for your review. Still waiting for my issue : (
4/2/07 4:59 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top. Looks great on you. Since I received this issue, I wanted to make it, but have not done so yet. Now I'm happy I have read your review first, so that I can make the upper front double! I also didn't think about that, but had my doubts about the hemming.
4/2/07 2:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Flattering top. I like your idea of making the upper front double.
4/2/07 2:02 AM
Annette1 said...
Love it! I also like your idea of making the front double. I would have never thought of that. :o)
4/2/07 1:36 AM
Tez said...
Great top! I think you're right - it's destined to be a classic.
4/2/07 1:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info