SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2007-121 (Knotted Front Knit Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 9:22 AM
Last Updated:4/2/07 9:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tez said...
Great top! I think you're right - it's destined to be a classic.
4/2/07 1:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Love it! I also like your idea of making the front double. I would have never thought of that. :o)
4/2/07 1:36 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Flattering top. I like your idea of making the upper front double.
4/2/07 2:02 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top. Looks great on you. Since I received this issue, I wanted to make it, but have not done so yet. Now I'm happy I have read your review first, so that I can make the upper front double! I also didn't think about that, but had my doubts about the hemming.
4/2/07 2:20 AM
Lunar_C said...
Fab top, yes flattering indeed. I just love a new knit top with fun features. Thanks for your review. Still waiting for my issue : (
4/2/07 4:59 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute Melissa! You look good in black. If you didn't want to face the whole upper bodice (good idea BTW), you could just face the end of the ties so the wrong side doesn't show. BTW, this top is really in the March 07 issue -- I went looking for the line drawing.
4/2/07 7:01 AM
F and L said...
Your top looks great. I've been eyeing making that one too, and your review about the upper part of the bodice and the ties is really helpful.
4/2/07 7:31 AM
F and L said...
Your top looks great. I've been eyeing making that one too, and your review about the upper part of the bodice and the ties is really helpful.
4/2/07 7:31 AM
quilter55 said...
Looks like you got a perfect fit with this top. Thanks for the great review.
4/2/07 7:56 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
It does look just like the appealing top in the magazine (as Debbie noted, it's 03-2007-121B from the March issue). I was hoping someone would review it. Thanks for sharing your happy sewing experience.
4/2/07 8:30 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks for your sweet comments ladies! And yes, it's the March issue, that is what I get for doing a review late at night, apparently I can't type! LOL All fixed so others can find it later - thanks for pointing that out!
4/2/07 9:23 AM
pterion said...
Very flattering, Melissa! I may have to go get this issue...
4/2/07 9:24 AM
Nancywin said...
Wat a great looking top on you! I will have to try this one. Also, thanks for the lining/facing tip. I will keep that in mind
4/2/07 9:26 AM
Levone said...
Great looking top! I think I will put this on my LONG list of items to make from the magazine.
4/2/07 9:43 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a great top, Melissa!
4/2/07 10:19 AM
cindy-lou said...
Melissa, you've done it again. Fabulous top! Maybe I need to try out Burda.
4/2/07 10:34 AM
Lynngray said...
Great top. Thanks for the review.
4/2/07 10:41 AM
breathless said...
I love your top! It's going on my list too!
4/2/07 10:49 AM
slanden99 said...
Cute top! Love the design
4/2/07 11:26 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute! It is on my list and I've been hoping for someone to review it :)
4/2/07 12:56 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh so cute! Looks really nice.
4/2/07 1:49 PM
MeganJ said...
Thanks for the review. I love this top! It looks great on you, too!
4/2/07 4:25 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful!
4/2/07 6:23 PM
Jane S said...
This is wonderful on you. It will definitely be a winner. Thanks for the suggestion about doubling the frint. The first twist top made me subscribe to BWOF now I'm glad not to miss an issue and have this one ready to make.
4/3/07 7:15 AM
martinanne said...
Wonderful top! You look fab in black, Melissa!
4/3/07 10:45 AM
PattyU said...
I love your top. It looks great. I don't see the hole that is under the knot on both of the model's tops in the magazine. Did you do anything to avoid this? The hole that shows skin BELOW the knot is the main concern I have with this pattern. Great tip about doubling the front.
4/4/07 11:19 AM
ChristineX said...
Yes thank you for the review! I loved the pattern the second I saw it and it is on my list of things to make. It looks fantastic!
4/4/07 2:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Patty, the hole is still there, but I tied the knot so tight that you can't see it. I think that is just the way it fits women with a smaller bust (I had to tie it tighter to keep it close to my chest). Larger chested women might find that the hole shows, but I don't know for sure. I hope that explaination makes sense. :-)
4/5/07 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8248

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now