SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8162 

Viewed 805 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 6:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MasoumaRose said...
this was not on my list of things to sew, but I'm very glad that you posted this review. This pattern is safe from my explorations. Rose
4/2/07 6:38 PM
Judy Wentz said...
We have all been there, done that. Sorry you had such a hard time.
4/2/07 6:48 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Clin, I love all of your jackets that you have reviewed - including this one. Honestly, from the picture, it does not scream homemade by an untalented sewer. And if the fit is good, I don't know why you don't like it. Maybe after a cooling off period you will see it differently. At least in the picture, the fabric looks attractive and it looks like you did a great job. Don't burn it yet!
4/2/07 7:12 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I was excited to see you were reviewing this pattern since I have it. I will dig it out and see if I can make sense of it (probably not). Thanks
4/2/07 8:27 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, I agree with Cheryl's comments. From the photo, the jacket actually looks as though it has a bit of flair to it, especially with the way the stripes go. However, I have also made garments that I know I would never wear in a fit and I always throw them away immediately. The bottom line is that you have to be comfortable and proud wearing a garment that you've made and you are obviously not feeling this way about this particular garment. You have alerted us all to the dilemmas you faced with this pattern - and that's a good thing!
4/2/07 11:02 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love the idea of this jacket, very funky. What a shame the backup isn't there in terms of the instructions.
4/3/07 3:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh, I love what you did with the stripes! Please don't put this in the back of the closet, just package it with the scraps and give it to your local thrift store. I'm sure it'll delight someone who isn't already frustrated with it :-). And thanks, I hadn't thought anything of what Burda did with it, but I'm definitely getting ideas..
4/3/07 3:46 AM
Jane S said...
I haven't made this one but I too have been frustrated by Burda darting unexpectedly sometimes. But you're right toput it away and deal with it later. Life's too short not to love sewing and I'm learning to cut my losses sooner than later and work on a project that makes me smile again. Hope you get to do the same.
4/3/07 7:36 AM
marjenann said...
It is so discouraging to have a sewing mishap!! The wasted time is frustrating. Thanks for the head's up!! It really is a cool looking jacket. Too bad the directions are poor!
4/3/07 8:31 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry, but I'll have to respectfully disagree with you. It doesn't look "home made by a very untalented sewer." Maybe one day you'll haul it from the depths of your closet and see the beauty in it. I think your use of the stripes is interesting and the jacket is lovely.
4/3/07 11:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't imagine anything you make looking HOMEMADE in the first place -- this included. I LOVE your use of the stripes. Don't ditch it yet! Just wait a couple weeks, THEN see what you think. I hope you end up liking it, becuase we all do. :o) Lord knows, we're our own worst critics.
4/4/07 1:23 AM
xela said...
Well, it looks like the "mummy's" suit" --like you're all wrapped up. Can this garment be saved?
4/4/07 6:44 PM
carolynw said...
Xela - not sure what to make of your comment - so unlike the majority of PR members. From your profile see that you have not shown any of your projects for review. Please do so we can see your efforts. The next time you feel like commenting on anyone else's try being kinder - no body needs sarcasm!!
4/5/07 10:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Well, if you don't like it, send it on to me! I don't see anything that screams homemade or untalented! I love the way you used the stripes.
4/5/07 11:10 AM
AnneM said...
You must take excellent pictures, because yes, it looks nice in the pic. I guess, since you say in real life it looks amatuerish, I can imagine some of that in the picture - a few ripples, perhaps - but I really have to use my imagination. I wonder if a fabric with less drape might work better with this style? I don't know. But I do know that it looks good in the picture.
4/13/07 7:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-137

photo
by: allycovey

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now