Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8162 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 804 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 6:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MasoumaRose said...
this was not on my list of things to sew, but I'm very glad that you posted this review. This pattern is safe from my explorations. Rose
4/2/07 6:38 PM
Judy Wentz said...
We have all been there, done that. Sorry you had such a hard time.
4/2/07 6:48 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Clin, I love all of your jackets that you have reviewed - including this one. Honestly, from the picture, it does not scream homemade by an untalented sewer. And if the fit is good, I don't know why you don't like it. Maybe after a cooling off period you will see it differently. At least in the picture, the fabric looks attractive and it looks like you did a great job. Don't burn it yet!
4/2/07 7:12 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I was excited to see you were reviewing this pattern since I have it. I will dig it out and see if I can make sense of it (probably not). Thanks
4/2/07 8:27 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, I agree with Cheryl's comments. From the photo, the jacket actually looks as though it has a bit of flair to it, especially with the way the stripes go. However, I have also made garments that I know I would never wear in a fit and I always throw them away immediately. The bottom line is that you have to be comfortable and proud wearing a garment that you've made and you are obviously not feeling this way about this particular garment. You have alerted us all to the dilemmas you faced with this pattern - and that's a good thing!
4/2/07 11:02 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love the idea of this jacket, very funky. What a shame the backup isn't there in terms of the instructions.
4/3/07 3:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh, I love what you did with the stripes! Please don't put this in the back of the closet, just package it with the scraps and give it to your local thrift store. I'm sure it'll delight someone who isn't already frustrated with it :-). And thanks, I hadn't thought anything of what Burda did with it, but I'm definitely getting ideas..
4/3/07 3:46 AM
Jane S said...
I haven't made this one but I too have been frustrated by Burda darting unexpectedly sometimes. But you're right toput it away and deal with it later. Life's too short not to love sewing and I'm learning to cut my losses sooner than later and work on a project that makes me smile again. Hope you get to do the same.
4/3/07 7:36 AM
marjenann said...
It is so discouraging to have a sewing mishap!! The wasted time is frustrating. Thanks for the head's up!! It really is a cool looking jacket. Too bad the directions are poor!
4/3/07 8:31 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry, but I'll have to respectfully disagree with you. It doesn't look "home made by a very untalented sewer." Maybe one day you'll haul it from the depths of your closet and see the beauty in it. I think your use of the stripes is interesting and the jacket is lovely.
4/3/07 11:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't imagine anything you make looking HOMEMADE in the first place -- this included. I LOVE your use of the stripes. Don't ditch it yet! Just wait a couple weeks, THEN see what you think. I hope you end up liking it, becuase we all do. :o) Lord knows, we're our own worst critics.
4/4/07 1:23 AM
xela said...
Well, it looks like the "mummy's" suit" --like you're all wrapped up. Can this garment be saved?
4/4/07 6:44 PM
carolynw said...
Xela - not sure what to make of your comment - so unlike the majority of PR members. From your profile see that you have not shown any of your projects for review. Please do so we can see your efforts. The next time you feel like commenting on anyone else's try being kinder - no body needs sarcasm!!
4/5/07 10:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Well, if you don't like it, send it on to me! I don't see anything that screams homemade or untalented! I love the way you used the stripes.
4/5/07 11:10 AM
AnneM said...
You must take excellent pictures, because yes, it looks nice in the pic. I guess, since you say in real life it looks amatuerish, I can imagine some of that in the picture - a few ripples, perhaps - but I really have to use my imagination. I wonder if a fabric with less drape might work better with this style? I don't know. But I do know that it looks good in the picture.
4/13/07 7:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by MissParayi... on 2/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by Sewlful on 8/20/12
Read Review

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us