Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2007-121 (Knotted Front Knit Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1199 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 7:35 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Looks great, I can see it so clearly. Thanks for all the tips, will work great in sheer onionskin, too sheer for a single layer. BTW, not sure in your picture , dont you sew RIGHT sides of bodice together? Really inspired to make this one soon! Thank You!
4/2/07 8:49 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful and thanks for the great instructions...I have looked at the top but thought the same thing you did it would look funny with the backside showing...thanks for the great review.
4/2/07 9:22 PM
Karen8320 said...
Melissa, this looks really great. I love the fabric and it suits you really well. Thanks for your advice about the modifications you made. It helps to know what others have done to overcome pattern issues. This is another great top!
4/2/07 9:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Ugg, I'm such a dork - yes HawkeMorningStar, I worded that wrong, I'm going to go fix that! Duh! LOL
4/2/07 9:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
double post, oops!
4/2/07 9:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute! You must have to build a new closet for all the new tops that you have been making. They all look great.
4/2/07 10:26 PM
MeganJ said...
That looks fabulous on you! Looking at the results of your binding attachment, I might need to invest... Great review!
4/2/07 11:23 PM
Soliel said...
That's a sweet top on you!
4/2/07 11:48 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty!
4/3/07 0:45 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful top, Melissa!! Congratulations!
4/3/07 5:14 AM
Sewlikecrazy99 said...
So cute, and a great fit! This looks so much better than the twist tops everybody is making.
4/3/07 8:44 AM
F and L said...
The top is beautiful, Melissa. And you've taken so much time and trouble to explain and illustrate your brilliant modifications so clearly. Thank you!
4/3/07 10:41 AM
martinanne said...
Fantastic description, and the picture is really helpful! Great job figuring out how to modify this into an awesome top!
4/3/07 10:43 AM
beangirl said...
Very cute, I love your modifications. Your original was nice, but this is really great!
4/3/07 2:54 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Melissa.
4/3/07 6:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
Melissa, beautiful top-- way nicer than any RTW! This is a great style for you, too. Great work!
4/3/07 8:49 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo cute! It's the perfect top!
4/3/07 11:58 PM
Nancy K said...
This is a great adjustment to this pattern. I read the directions and didn't like the idea of the wrong side showing. Which binder size did you use? Thanks for the review.
4/6/07 9:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Nancy the bind I used makes about a 1/4" binding, but if you don't have a binder, you could do a self binding with no trouble. HTH's! :-)
4/7/07 10:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I couldn't figure out how you used the binding on the neck after you just lined it. Then I clicked on the pic and saw you were talking about the BACK neck. I may be the only dork confused by that, though. Anyway, I love both tops so thank you for the review. I was wondering if it would look as good in a 46 as it does in the 36. You just know I'm going to have to try it out.
4/10/07 12:33 PM
Hilary said...
Great review, Melissa! Thanks for the very easy to follow instructions on the double front-it makes perfect sense, and your top looks really good, too :o)
4/10/07 12:57 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I missed your review until the thread came up about this top.... It so cute! Thanks for the good advice!
5/18/07 12:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us