SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2007-121 (Knotted Front Knit Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1199 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 7:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Looks great, I can see it so clearly. Thanks for all the tips, will work great in sheer onionskin, too sheer for a single layer. BTW, not sure in your picture , dont you sew RIGHT sides of bodice together? Really inspired to make this one soon! Thank You!
4/2/07 8:49 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful and thanks for the great instructions...I have looked at the top but thought the same thing you did it would look funny with the backside showing...thanks for the great review.
4/2/07 9:22 PM
Karen8320 said...
Melissa, this looks really great. I love the fabric and it suits you really well. Thanks for your advice about the modifications you made. It helps to know what others have done to overcome pattern issues. This is another great top!
4/2/07 9:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Ugg, I'm such a dork - yes HawkeMorningStar, I worded that wrong, I'm going to go fix that! Duh! LOL
4/2/07 9:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
double post, oops!
4/2/07 9:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute! You must have to build a new closet for all the new tops that you have been making. They all look great.
4/2/07 10:26 PM
MeganJ said...
That looks fabulous on you! Looking at the results of your binding attachment, I might need to invest... Great review!
4/2/07 11:23 PM
Soliel said...
That's a sweet top on you!
4/2/07 11:48 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty!
4/3/07 0:45 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful top, Melissa!! Congratulations!
4/3/07 5:14 AM
Sewlikecrazy99 said...
So cute, and a great fit! This looks so much better than the twist tops everybody is making.
4/3/07 8:44 AM
F and L said...
The top is beautiful, Melissa. And you've taken so much time and trouble to explain and illustrate your brilliant modifications so clearly. Thank you!
4/3/07 10:41 AM
martinanne said...
Fantastic description, and the picture is really helpful! Great job figuring out how to modify this into an awesome top!
4/3/07 10:43 AM
beangirl said...
Very cute, I love your modifications. Your original was nice, but this is really great!
4/3/07 2:54 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Melissa.
4/3/07 6:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
Melissa, beautiful top-- way nicer than any RTW! This is a great style for you, too. Great work!
4/3/07 8:49 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo cute! It's the perfect top!
4/3/07 11:58 PM
Nancy K said...
This is a great adjustment to this pattern. I read the directions and didn't like the idea of the wrong side showing. Which binder size did you use? Thanks for the review.
4/6/07 9:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Nancy the bind I used makes about a 1/4" binding, but if you don't have a binder, you could do a self binding with no trouble. HTH's! :-)
4/7/07 10:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I couldn't figure out how you used the binding on the neck after you just lined it. Then I clicked on the pic and saw you were talking about the BACK neck. I may be the only dork confused by that, though. Anyway, I love both tops so thank you for the review. I was wondering if it would look as good in a 46 as it does in the 36. You just know I'm going to have to try it out.
4/10/07 12:33 PM
Hilary said...
Great review, Melissa! Thanks for the very easy to follow instructions on the double front-it makes perfect sense, and your top looks really good, too :o)
4/10/07 12:57 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I missed your review until the thread came up about this top.... It so cute! Thanks for the good advice!
5/18/07 12:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 09/2012#123A

photo
by: DianaSewLe...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now