SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8262 (Easy Jacket, Skirt and Pants)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:Yakityak
photo

 
 
About Yakityakstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/16/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/07 3:57 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Looks like you've found a TNT pattern to use for years to come. Please be sure to post pictures of your next two skirts.
4/5/07 6:34 AM
moss said...
Congratulations! that looks SO good on you! That skirt looks like a skirt I just bought at the store! HOT! :)
4/5/07 8:35 AM
mugsisme said...
Deanna, lovely skirt. Fits you beautifully. I am so glad you found a pattern you like so much. So what is so special about this? What is different about the waist that makes you love it more than an elastic waist? Are you planning on making the next two skirts exactly the same, or with some variations?
4/6/07 0:29 AM
mugsisme said...
Oops, it posted twice. Guess I feel it is a super lovely skirt?
4/6/07 1:20 AM
LauraM62 said...
Glad you found a skirt you like so much, and fits so well. I know my preference is skirts with this waist style, not elastic, no waistband, but the faced waist style. They just ride on me better & feel so much better. Hope to see your other skirts!
4/6/07 6:45 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern - you're the first! Your skirt looks terrific - with such great fit, it must feel even better. The jacket is cute and I'll be on the look-out for your continued success with this pattern - and may follow your lead!
4/7/07 1:32 AM
Yakityak said...
Hi Leah! (Mugs) Well the waistline on this skirt is faced. As a result, there is zero extra bulk added. With a (non-elasticized) waistband, it can be unflattering unless the waistband is shaped (trapezoidal and preferably curved). The reason being that waistbands generally don't fall on a straight-up-and-down spot on my torso (come to think of it - I don't have a straight-up-and-down spot on my torso). So unless a waistband is shaped, one long edge will cinch or the other be loose, and either way the fit is not as good nor as flattering. An elastic waistband adds gathers right where I don't want it - at the waistline. I'm resigned to having a tush - I demand that I at least get my waist! LOL! Seriously, gathers at the waist add visual pounds, and also look less tidy when covered by a knit t-shirt. I also think that it is a more casual look, so that if I were to wear a skirt with my top tucked in I would prefer to have a fitted skirt rather than an elasticized waistband. Finally, waistbands in general add a second horizontal line on my already short torso. If it is covered by my top - no big deal. But if not, I don't need that extra horizontal strip to emphasize how short I am in the torso. Whew long reply!
4/8/07 0:20 AM
KerryB said...
Hi! I made the jacket out of a brown wool gabardine and love it. I made the sleeves full length and lined the jacket and it turned out beautifully. I love this pattern. I've made three skirts out of this pattern because they fit sew well and I don't have to alter them. I agree - fabulous pattern.
4/8/07 7:52 AM
Annette1 said...
Great skirt! Yes, you definitely need to make more! :o)
4/10/07 1:59 PM
AnneM said...
Nice darted, a-line no waist band skirt pattern. Great style. Your dress is very pretty - hard to believe it is corduroy.
4/16/07 11:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6503

photo
by: LBH2010

Review