Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8262 (Easy Jacket, Skirt and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1040 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Yakityak
photo
About Yakityakstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/16/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/07 3:57 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Looks like you've found a TNT pattern to use for years to come. Please be sure to post pictures of your next two skirts.
4/5/07 6:34 AM
moss said...
Congratulations! that looks SO good on you! That skirt looks like a skirt I just bought at the store! HOT! :)
4/5/07 8:35 AM
mugsisme said...
Deanna, lovely skirt. Fits you beautifully. I am so glad you found a pattern you like so much. So what is so special about this? What is different about the waist that makes you love it more than an elastic waist? Are you planning on making the next two skirts exactly the same, or with some variations?
4/6/07 0:29 AM
mugsisme said...
Oops, it posted twice. Guess I feel it is a super lovely skirt?
4/6/07 1:20 AM
LauraM62 said...
Glad you found a skirt you like so much, and fits so well. I know my preference is skirts with this waist style, not elastic, no waistband, but the faced waist style. They just ride on me better & feel so much better. Hope to see your other skirts!
4/6/07 6:45 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern - you're the first! Your skirt looks terrific - with such great fit, it must feel even better. The jacket is cute and I'll be on the look-out for your continued success with this pattern - and may follow your lead!
4/7/07 1:32 AM
Yakityak said...
Hi Leah! (Mugs) Well the waistline on this skirt is faced. As a result, there is zero extra bulk added. With a (non-elasticized) waistband, it can be unflattering unless the waistband is shaped (trapezoidal and preferably curved). The reason being that waistbands generally don't fall on a straight-up-and-down spot on my torso (come to think of it - I don't have a straight-up-and-down spot on my torso). So unless a waistband is shaped, one long edge will cinch or the other be loose, and either way the fit is not as good nor as flattering. An elastic waistband adds gathers right where I don't want it - at the waistline. I'm resigned to having a tush - I demand that I at least get my waist! LOL! Seriously, gathers at the waist add visual pounds, and also look less tidy when covered by a knit t-shirt. I also think that it is a more casual look, so that if I were to wear a skirt with my top tucked in I would prefer to have a fitted skirt rather than an elasticized waistband. Finally, waistbands in general add a second horizontal line on my already short torso. If it is covered by my top - no big deal. But if not, I don't need that extra horizontal strip to emphasize how short I am in the torso. Whew long reply!
4/8/07 0:20 AM
KerryB said...
Hi! I made the jacket out of a brown wool gabardine and love it. I made the sleeves full length and lined the jacket and it turned out beautifully. I love this pattern. I've made three skirts out of this pattern because they fit sew well and I don't have to alter them. I agree - fabulous pattern.
4/8/07 7:52 AM
Annette1 said...
Great skirt! Yes, you definitely need to make more! :o)
4/10/07 1:59 PM
AnneM said...
Nice darted, a-line no waist band skirt pattern. Great style. Your dress is very pretty - hard to believe it is corduroy.
4/16/07 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us