Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5045 (Surplice Dress w/Circle Skirt) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1320 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 10:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
You are just the cutest thing ever! Love the dress and what you did with it! I knew this pattern is in my stash for a reason.
4/6/07 11:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, this is a very captivating dress! You look great in anything! As always, impressed with your style and flair!
4/6/07 12:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very pretty, love all your creations. Way to go !
4/6/07 12:46 PM
carolynw said...
Now don't take this the wrong way but I think you are the cutest thing ever! This dress is adorable on you and you have as always done a wonderful job - I have marked this pattern for a possible to do but for sure with the wrap over the top - age I believe has its privileges but also its limits.
4/6/07 2:02 PM
frame said...
Very pretty. You've done a wonderful job combining fabrics. The bodice is wonderfully sparkly!
4/6/07 2:21 PM
blue mooney said...
sooooooo cute! love it that you're wearing it with a crinoline.
4/6/07 6:36 PM
Carolyndh said...
Another one of your awesome creations Nicegirl! This is very pretty and fits you great. Thanks for the detailed review as well.
4/6/07 11:34 PM
Jane S said...
Such a pretty dress on you and such a fun review to read. Thanks!
4/7/07 7:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress! Love the photos and great review!
4/7/07 7:28 AM
Tiner W said...
Adorable!
4/7/07 10:56 AM
OP Gal said...
What a darling dress. I can't believe you made it in 5 hours! Would have taken me days or weeks. Thanks for the math tips on making a circle skirt. I always have to ask my engineer husband to "refresh my memory" on those formulas. I agree with clin--you *are* the cutest thing ever!
4/7/07 11:01 AM
Nancywin said...
Great looking dress. I really like your fabric choices. You always make the cutest things. BTW, Yahoo is a pain to view if you don't have an account. I have to click past the "oops" page and then to view the photos in the album, they won't click from one to the next without hitting the "oops" page again. The links for your altered pattern pieces and final product are reversed. Great dress though NG. I always look forward to your reviews.
4/7/07 12:50 PM
KimPa said...
I always love your reviews! Good detail and how-tos. And I always look forward to whatever you make next.
4/7/07 11:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely dress. Thanks for the tutorial on the circle skirt!
4/8/07 6:12 PM
venetus said...
I love this dress! The styling and fabric go so well together. Fabulous!
4/9/07 2:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
You've done it again. This dress is almost painfully cute, and I love it.
4/9/07 11:49 PM
cindy-lou said...
Nicegirl, GREAT dress. I've been reading the latest Sew Stylish and am now just itching to make a fancy crinoline dress like this. It's beautiful! You must be stylin' wherever you go up there in DC.
4/10/07 9:15 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much for the compliments, everyone! Clin, I'm not sure how I could take such a lovely compliment the wrong way but thank you very much. That's so sweet. Nancywin, so sorry about the photos! That's very frustrating. I'm not sure how to fix it.
4/10/07 10:56 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Looks awesome! Great job!
4/13/07 10:21 AM
AnneM said...
Another great dress. You are a very productive sewist.
4/18/07 7:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's M5989
photo
Review by Chococat on 3/12/14
Read Review

Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2914 Pattern
Jalie 2914 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8550
photo
Review by regine on 4/3/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us