SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5045 (Surplice Dress w/Circle Skirt)

Viewed 1322 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 10:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
You are just the cutest thing ever! Love the dress and what you did with it! I knew this pattern is in my stash for a reason.
4/6/07 11:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, this is a very captivating dress! You look great in anything! As always, impressed with your style and flair!
4/6/07 12:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very pretty, love all your creations. Way to go !
4/6/07 12:46 PM
carolynw said...
Now don't take this the wrong way but I think you are the cutest thing ever! This dress is adorable on you and you have as always done a wonderful job - I have marked this pattern for a possible to do but for sure with the wrap over the top - age I believe has its privileges but also its limits.
4/6/07 2:02 PM
frame said...
Very pretty. You've done a wonderful job combining fabrics. The bodice is wonderfully sparkly!
4/6/07 2:21 PM
blue mooney said...
sooooooo cute! love it that you're wearing it with a crinoline.
4/6/07 6:36 PM
Carolyndh said...
Another one of your awesome creations Nicegirl! This is very pretty and fits you great. Thanks for the detailed review as well.
4/6/07 11:34 PM
Jane S said...
Such a pretty dress on you and such a fun review to read. Thanks!
4/7/07 7:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress! Love the photos and great review!
4/7/07 7:28 AM
Tiner W said...
Adorable!
4/7/07 10:56 AM
OP Gal said...
What a darling dress. I can't believe you made it in 5 hours! Would have taken me days or weeks. Thanks for the math tips on making a circle skirt. I always have to ask my engineer husband to "refresh my memory" on those formulas. I agree with clin--you *are* the cutest thing ever!
4/7/07 11:01 AM
Nancywin said...
Great looking dress. I really like your fabric choices. You always make the cutest things. BTW, Yahoo is a pain to view if you don't have an account. I have to click past the "oops" page and then to view the photos in the album, they won't click from one to the next without hitting the "oops" page again. The links for your altered pattern pieces and final product are reversed. Great dress though NG. I always look forward to your reviews.
4/7/07 12:50 PM
KimPa said...
I always love your reviews! Good detail and how-tos. And I always look forward to whatever you make next.
4/7/07 11:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely dress. Thanks for the tutorial on the circle skirt!
4/8/07 6:12 PM
venetus said...
I love this dress! The styling and fabric go so well together. Fabulous!
4/9/07 2:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
You've done it again. This dress is almost painfully cute, and I love it.
4/9/07 11:49 PM
cindy-lou said...
Nicegirl, GREAT dress. I've been reading the latest Sew Stylish and am now just itching to make a fancy crinoline dress like this. It's beautiful! You must be stylin' wherever you go up there in DC.
4/10/07 9:15 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much for the compliments, everyone! Clin, I'm not sure how I could take such a lovely compliment the wrong way but thank you very much. That's so sweet. Nancywin, so sorry about the photos! That's very frustrating. I'm not sure how to fix it.
4/10/07 10:56 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Looks awesome! Great job!
4/13/07 10:21 AM
AnneM said...
Another great dress. You are a very productive sewist.
4/18/07 7:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

HotPatterns 1008

photo
by: ScaryMerry

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now