SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4551 (Fashion Historian)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1251 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/07 11:30 AM
Last Updated:10/23/07 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stephanie C. said...
What a wonderful dress! It looks so...historical. I appreciate your comments about looking into the window of the women of years ago. It's fascinating and your review was excellent.
4/7/07 12:19 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Your Civil War era dress is lovely! I enjoy historical sewing, and have a copy of this pattern, as well as fabric to make it up in. I really like your fabric choices - your project turned out beautiful!
4/7/07 12:33 PM
seeinspotz said...
Fabulous dress and an inspiration to those of us that have a love of the era.
4/7/07 12:37 PM
Annika said...
Ohh fantastic! I ahve this pattern and was wondering about it - thanks for the excellent review.
4/7/07 1:59 PM
blue mooney said...
Lovely dress, and it's so nice that you made the effort to use the period techniques.
4/7/07 2:28 PM
Linda G said...
Wow what a work of art!
4/7/07 2:32 PM
jewelea said...
I especially liked your words of wisdom under the "Were the instructions easy to follow?" heading. Just out of curiosity, where do you wear your dress?
4/7/07 6:05 PM
weeza said...
Thanks for the great review. That dress looks flawless.
4/7/07 10:25 PM
BeckyW said...
Wow! You look like you match you surroundings perfectly. Wonderful job.
4/7/07 10:44 PM
BeckyW said...
Wow! You look like you match you surroundings perfectly. Wonderful job.
4/7/07 10:44 PM
Donna H said...
Beautiful!!! But I want to know HOW MUCH fabric was used....??? Thanks for this review! You did a great job.
4/7/07 10:48 PM
madhatter said...
fan-tas-tic! and it really looks so authentic... with the background and all... wonderful!
4/8/07 1:14 PM
Yarndiva said...
Thank you everyone, I am really overwhelmed by the kind words. As for some questions: The house is right next door, belive it or not. In our part of Nevada the Comstock Lode in the 1860's is a big part of our local history. To make it, it took 7.5 yards of fabric. Reproduction Fabrics.com has wonderful fabrics that are authentic and a good value. A solid color with white colllar and cuffs would be most accurate but who can resist a print? As for use, I used to do a living history program and may do it again at the historic home I work at. I have made many, many dresses for a program that showed the 1930's, this was my first 1860's. Our lives have changed a lot (especailly in the undergarments department)! PS: One more thing, I would line the bodice in our modern way this time. In the original, the selvedges are visible. My guess is that way it would be easily adjusted for a change in weight or a different wearer but it's neater to have wrong sides together like a jacket.
4/9/07 6:55 PM
KiwiWendy said...
great dress .. which crinoline pattern did you use???
4/9/07 7:53 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress. It looks great. That is a lot of fabric to handle, although I thought it might be even more. Thanks for your comments on the instructions of this pattern. Any historical house where you work is getting a big bonus with this.
4/20/07 7:49 PM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks again. The crinoline was given to me but Simplicity has a pattern for one too. A cage crinoline would be best but that's for another day....
5/7/07 9:06 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I'm a fashion history student at FIT so it's really interesting for me to see this!! Great job!
5/13/07 8:58 AM
Carolmarol said...
Wow, that is a wonderful dress! I too have one of Simplicity's civil war patterns, and yards of grey taffeta...haven't been brave enough to undertake it yet though! You've inspired me!
10/23/07 11:21 AM
Hilary said...
That is truly beautiful-incredible work!!
10/23/07 6:09 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible work, the dress is beautiful.
10/23/07 11:19 PM
firsthays said...
Wonderful....you look as if you stepped out of a 1860 fashion print...great choice of fabric and color...I'm just starting mine this fall ( my house is being built..with a sewing room of course :) I can't wait! Take care!
7/17/08 2:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick B5610

photo
by: FrammaJoy

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now